We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Irritating receptionists don't have manners” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Wanderlust

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wanderlust
Ranked #75 of 305 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Irritating receptionists don't have manners”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

When i come, i need to wait until 3pm to get the room. The spa is broken and nothing is offered to compensate it. But the main disturbance is they still callling room at 2.30 until 4 am repeatedly only to check if i had extra guest who stays over. 2.30 am can you imagine? Terrible. Might be intending to charge another 100. I can book much better hotel at 350 and without all the hassle receptionist is stalking everything i do. The design is nice, but with the ill manner reception i recommend to stay out. This is my second time here and sure will be the last.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Irsandy,

Greetings from Wanderlust!
Thank you for your feedback.

We are disappointed that your stay fell short of expectations.

Our check-in time is 3pm, and any early check-in requests are subject to room availability upon arrival at the hotel.

In order to better serve our guests, we are currently undergoing refurbishment for our Jacuzzi.

We understand your frustration, however, it is the hotel's policy that only 2 registered guests are allowed to stay overnight in the rooms. It is stipulated in the hotel’s confirmation letter that unregistered guests have to leave the hotel’s premises by 2300hrs, and failure to comply will result in extra adult charges.

We seek your kind understanding on this matter, and we do regret any inconvenience caused during your stay. We hope that you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    290
    77
    32
    11
See reviews for
44
380
86
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in a Pantone room, only issue was access to bed but once in very comfortable.Excellent service from very friendly staff, great breakfasts and we were given late check out as Spa closed for renovations.Quirky,different but overall we would highly recommend this hotel Only complaint was noise from open air restaurant next door ..Next time we would upgrade to a normal room on next level

Room Tip: Pantone rooms better for younger guests as bed access difficult
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgcolin53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear mgcolin53,

Hellos from Wanderlust!
Thank you for your great feedback.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Housed in a conservation building, we recognize that some of the rooms are quite compact. Perhaps you may like to request for a quiet room in the Mono room category the next time you are staying at Wanderlust.

We hope to have the opportunity to impress you again!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed 4 nights at the Wanderlust in Singapore. We were booked into a Mono room on the 3rd floor. After checking in, we discovered a small problem with the room. A call to reception, and we were visited by a couple of the reception team. Shortly after, we were moved to another room for the duration of our stay. The team were most apologetic, but very eager to make everything from this point onwards, right.
The new room was great. Decor was rather clever, and had illuminated silhouettes on the walls. The frosted glass toilet looks unusual, but there is more privacy than expected. The shower is similarly frosted. The toiletries were Shanghai Tang, and smelt sensational. The complimentary minibar, and Nespresso are handy.
You have to think a little about how you store your luggage, but it doesn't become a huge problem.
The bar and lobby downstairs were neat, and the collection of unusual chairs gave it quite a cool ambience. The restaurant, Cocotte looked great with its coloured metal chairs. The breakfast buffet wasn't huge by classic buffet standards, but the freshly cooked options make up for that. There are fresh pastries served, and there's cereals, and muesli too.
The hotel is situated in little India, near Jalan Besar. Currently there is capital works as the new downtown rail line is built, and the congestion will disappear as the works are completed. The new station will literally be on the hotel's doorstep. Outside this, it is around a 10 minute walk to the Little India MRT station, give or take.
There's quite a lot of dining options in the area including food centres across the road, and a number of indian restaurants down towards Serangoon Road.
Got to say I was really happy with my stay at the Wanderlust, and would be pleased to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QldTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear QldTiger,

Warm hellos from the team at Wanderlust!
Thank you for your wonderful compliments.

We are so happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us, and that you will be coming back again. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Until then, safe travels!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

we stayed here for 2 nights after a cruise we were plesently supprised to be upgraded on our arrival. as we arrived approx 11am we were delighted to be given a room straight away us connect we had expected to drop our luggage and head off to explore singapore so it was lovely to have a little rest and unpack a little the check in staff were excellent and even came up to our room and help us connect to the wy fi we stayed in the ,flower room whitch was mainly white and a little black the free mini bar with soft drinks and juice and water was a nice touch and well appricated after a long day in the singapore sun, as we were only there for 2 nights we did not have time to sample the jacuznd ,it closed at 9pm the breakfast was simple but nice and tasty and the lady in the resturant was very plesant and helpful . we did get a chance to see some other rooms all in their own funky design some were a little bit small and the grey and black ones were a bit dark for my liking i loved this hotel but i am not so sure about the area , i think if i am lucky enough to visit singapore again, i think i would stay in a more central hotel if we could pick this hotel and deposit it in central singapore i would be very happy, oh i forgot the bed was soooooo soft it was like sleeping on a fluffy cloud

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosierossie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear rosierossie,

Warm hellos from the team at Wanderlust!
Thank you for your wonderful compliments.

We are glad that the team was helpful and hospitable, and that that made your stay a little more comfortable and all the more enjoyable. Each floor is designed by a different local design agency, so be sure to request for a different room category the next time you are staying with us.

Whilst Wanderlust is not situated in a major shopping belt, it is a short walk to 2 different train stations, making it still convenient to get around Singapore. Perhaps next time, you could request for a free Inside Access consultation to discover the best ways to get around.

We hope to have you back with us soon, and in the meantime, safe travels!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Very unusual and design hotel! We stayed here only 3 days but we liked it very much!
Advantages:
- modern, unusual and artistic rooms (e.g., the doors of bathroom and toilet are made of glass). The hotel is included in the group of design hotels around the world;
- perfect and delicious breakfast served on the ground floor at the restaurant (very good pastry, artistic dishes);
- clean rooms;
- friendly and professional staff;
- small compliments (nespresso cafe is free-of-charge in the rooms);
- nice atmosphere of the hotel (a bit romantic and at the same time modern).
Disadvantages:
- noisy and dirty area (the hotel is located in the Little India district) but you cannot hear the noise inside the room;
- not perfect location as you have to get to the center by tube or by bus (tube is also located 7-10 minutes by walk). At the same time you can walk and see a lot of interesting places and the spirit of Singapore on your way to the tube.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Maria S,

Hellos from Wanderlust!
Thank you for taking time out to write this review.

We are pleased that you had an excellent stay at the hotel. We acknowledge that whilst Little India is not your typical shopping belt, it is truly steep in local culture and heritage.

Perhaps the next time you are in Singapore, you may like to try out our sister properties, Hotel 1929 and New Majestic Hotel, which are both at Chinatown, to explore a different side of Singapore.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asansol, West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

vry gud hospitality, gud service and vry gud Staffs. i njoyd the trip a lot.. ofcourse this Designer Hotel too. Have once experience in this Designer Hotel. The most important thing as u enter the room of this hotel u ll feel somethng vry Romantic. Its ambience is vry gud.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bibek_Burnwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Bibek_Burnwal,

Greetings from the team at Wanderlust!
Thank you for your generous feedback.

We are pleased to know that you had a fantastic experience at the hotel, and that you were well-attended to by the team.

We hope to have you back with us the next time you are in Singapore!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

A very unique boutique hotel - each room has its own design. Seemed a bit more fitting for a romantic getaway than a business trip, but a wonderful property, lovely staff, and a fantastic breakfast. Fun location too on the edge of Little India.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dquinby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear dquinby,

Warm hellos from Wanderlust!
Thank you for your kind review.

We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful time with us. Wanderlust is, indeed, rather unique, with each level designed by a different local design agency. We recommend that you try out another category next time, so as to experience a different aspect of the hotel.

We look forward to having you with us again!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
New Majestic Hotel
#79 of 305 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 637 reviews
Little India
The Daulat Hotel
The Daulat Hotel
#108 of 305 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
Lloyd's Inn
#51 of 305 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#48 of 305 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 1,351 reviews
Hotel YAN
#74 of 305 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanderlust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanderlust

Property: Wanderlust
Address: 2 Dickson Road Wanderlust Hotel, Singapore 209494, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#88 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wanderlust 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wanderlust in Little India draws madcap, curious voyagers to the old ethnic enclave. Made for guests with a sense of adventure, we invite you to walk the unconventional path where a radical hotel experience awaits.Its history began in the 1920s as the Hong Wen School, where the building at No 2 Dickson Road still retains its old-world charm with an unchanged façade. Situated 10 minutes from the cosmopolitan stretches of Orchard Road and the Central Business District; Wanderlust also offers door step access to a bustling, colourful street life. The four storey boutique hotel has 29 rooms. Just as no 2 rooms are identical, the same can be said for each floor in the hotel. It features the groundbreaking works of award-winning Singapore design agencies. Each agency was given full creative freedom to design an entire level in the hotel, resulting in four, different ‘in-your-face’ themes – ‘Industrial Glam’, ‘Eccentricity’, ‘Is It Just Black and White?‘ and ’Creature Comforts.’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Wanderlust reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanderlust Hotel Singapore
Wanderlust Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing