We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique”
Review of Wanderlust

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wanderlust
Ranked #94 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed October 18, 2012

First off I must say that the bed was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I have slept in. The hotel itself is a designers wonder with plenty of quirky design features throughout the lobby and rooms. Staff were good and the breakfast was top notch. Overall a good base for a stay in Singapore.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Eamonn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Eamonn M,

Warm hellos from Wanderlust!
Thank you for your generous compliments.

We are pleased that you had an excellent stay with us, and that the hotel's unique designs were to your liking. We hope to have you back with us again soon.

In the meantime, safe travels!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (839)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

514 - 520 of 839 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

One of the most enjoyable things about going away is finding the 'different' and 'unique' and this hotel certainly lives up to that.

The lobby/reception/dining room/breakfast room/chill out space is a feast for the eyes with many different antiques and furniture from across the world - it is that reclaimed 'I found this in a junk shop' cool look that you find in various parts of the world - it is done very well and the place looks warm and inviting.

We didn't have the best experience with the check-in where we found the receptionist quite cold. For example the hotel requested a $50 charge for damages upon check-in. When we questioned this she was quite off-hand and dismissive in her explanation. We didn't necessarily mind the charge but her response certainly made us raise an eyebrow. You need to take your own luggage to your room which isn't a problem but something to be aware of if you have lots of luggage or children.

We stayed for 2 days in the ASCII Suite which is the room with the metal work and alphabet letters all over the walls. The room is well appointed but very cosy. It would be too small to stay in for longer than 3 days as storage is very tight. Again it had cool design features which made it an interesting place to stay. The 'bedroom' is on a mezzanine. The bed is very comfortable but do watch going up and down that stairs in the darkness! The large bath was situated in the middle of the room which was a strange but nice feature considering it was right next to the sofa. We noticed the toiletries were half full before we used them which is unusual in a hotel of this standing. We didn't use the other facilities the hotel offered so cannot comment on these spaces. The breakfast was nice and had a good choice of options.

The hotel is situated in lively Little India which we really enjoyed. It's worth exploring the local area to soak up the atmosphere. Hadji Lane 9about 20mins walk away) is a really interesting little street with many independents shops selling local designers clothing/shoes and nice eateries. It is also close to a Metro station for easy access to the rest of the city. The Thai restaurant next door may not be the most glamorous of eateries but serves very tasty food for next to nothing.

Overall I would recommend this hotel for guests that like points of interest and uniqueness in their hotel accommodation. It is good value for money considering the cost of staying in other hotels in Singapore.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDLCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear MDLCLondon,

Greetings from the team at Wanderlust!
Thank you for your kind words and valuable feedback.

We are disappointed that the service provided to you was not satisfactory at all, and we do hope that you accept our sincerest apologies. Your feedback is important to us, and we are definitely looking into the matter.

On a brighter note, we are pleased that you found Wanderlust to be a refreshing change from your typical hotel. The hotel is definitely somewhat of a left-wing hotel and may not be for every traveller. Each floor is designed by a different local design agency, and carries a different theme. Perhaps when you return to stay with us, you could try a different theme.

Alternatively, you can consider staying at our sister properties, Hotel 1929 or New Majestic Hotel, both located in Chinatown.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to impress you as we strive for continual improvement.

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Located in a conservation building, this property was perfect for my two-day stay in the Little India district. I loved the fact the hotel maintained their heritage by using a different local design agency for each level, thus allowing you to have an individually-themed room. The character and decor was different and a breath of fresh air from chain hotels. I stayed in a pantone-colored room "Purple Haze Jimmy Hendrix" on the second floor. My bed was so comfortable I felt like I was sleeping on a cloud. I liked how they fitted a functional hotel room in a petite space with innovative touches - like the freestanding glass boxes around the shower and toilet.

As Singapore was a pricey city, it was nice to have complimentary soft drinks, bottled water and free wi-fi in my room. Service level exceeded my expectations and the staff was happy to help me all the time. Their friendliness and commitment in wanting my stay to be enjoyable is to be commended. For me, Wanderlust was located in the right place in Little India where it is culturally rich with so much to explore. The area felt safe and I am glad to have had the opportunity to stay here.

Room Tip: The second floor had an array of Pantone-colored inspired rooms and are quite adequate for traveling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adventure Diva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear Adventure Diva,

Warm greetings from the team at Wanderlust!
Thank you for your generous compliments.

We are so very pleased that you had a fantastic stay with us. Wanderlust is definitely not your typical hotel, and each uniquely designed room offers an uncommon experience. We are also happy that the level of service provided was impeccable.

We strive for continual improvement, and hope to impress you again the next time you are back with us!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This small hotel is well-situated in Little India, if you enjoy wandering around lively, characterful, colourful districts. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The breakfasts are very good, with excellent choice. We enjoyed almost everything, but if we're honest, the capsule rooms, although well-equipped, could have been slightly bigger to accommodate a suitcase or two in an alcove perhaps. The bed (and pillows) were exceptionally comfortable, but you have to be a little careful not to bark your shins on the way in and out as it was sited on a tiled dais with a couple of steps up. Ear plugs, which are provided, are a good idea as there is a very lively restaurant next door! The bedrooms have secondary glazing but that's not quite enough. However, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would go back. We didn't eat in the restaurant, which serves French cuisine, as we preferred to eat local food, so can't comment on that.

Room Tip: If you can, pay a little more to get a bigger room further away from the restaurant next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear Sue F,

Warm hellos from Wanderlust!
Thank you for your kind compliments.

Situated along a bustling street, we do admit that it does buzz with activities. We would be glad to assist with a room change, should there be availability.

We are pleased that you had an enjoyable experience, and that the level of service provided was excellent. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel, and do try out our other rooms the next time!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

First impression on arrival to the lobby is "WHAT???" that soon turns into a big smile. The decoration of the place really is different, but in a stylish way. That smile continued when we entered our room, which was... different! Nothing like we had ever seen, and we loved it! Very good bed offered good sleep. Good service and very friendly staff. Breakfast was stylish and excellent. Will certainly return!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purjelentaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear Purjelentaja,

Greetings from the team at Wanderlust!
Thank you for your kind compliments.

We are glad that you had a great time staying with us. Wanderlust is definitely not your typical hotel and we are proud to showcase the works of the different local design agencies which did up each floor.

We do recommend that you try out another room when you are back with us.

We hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

What a great hotel! Definately not your standard hotel, Wanderlust has quirks and perks galore. Set slap bang in the middle of Little India the hotel offers a change from standard hotel fare. Reception is basic, but the staff are helpful and eager to please. Whislt at the Wanderlust we stayed in two types of the theme rooms. The typewriter room which has a loft, but be careful the stairs to the loft are Everest steep. The other room was, well I'm a little unsure what the theme was but it was great. The rooms are well appointed and have all the amentities you would expect from a superior hotel. The bathroom is part of the main room, rather than a seperate entity. Well appointed and with good pressure. I was amazed to find a small refridgerator in the room and the contents were all complimentary. Soft drinks, juices and water. The bed was very comfortable and wide. The complimentary breakfast was fantastic one of the best I have had in any of my travels. Mid-priced and close to the MRT the Wanderlust is hard to beat on so many levels.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akmacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear akmacca,

Warm greetings from the team at Wanderlust!
Thank you for your generous compliments.

We are pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. As every floor is designed by a different local design agency, we would recommend that you try out our other rooms the next time you are back in Singapore.

We hope to welcome you back with us, and until then, safe travels!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is a strange review, in that I am writing about a hotel i never actually got to stay in, but given the experience was not great i thought it worth sharing. We booked and paid for a room in this establishment a few months ago, for the saturday night of the grand prix weekend. We were due into Singapore in the late evening and had told the hotel this - we also followed up the day before we arrived with an email to confirm our late check-in (around 2200). We heard nothing back. We arrived at the hotel on time, and were told by the guy on the desk that our room was not available and we therefore could not stay in the hotel. The reason he gave initially was that the air con had broken on the Friday in that room, and they were unable to get a repairman to come on a weekend - a bit of a strange excuse that, in a country dependent on air con, you cannot get a man out to fix a system out of business hours. My impression, rightly or wrongly, was that he was being less than truthful; he seemed surprised we were there and he asked if our flight in had been delayed - my suspicion was that perhaps they had just sold our (prepaid) room on and hoped we wouldnt come. Anyway, we were hastily put in a cab to their sister hotel elsewhere in town - after a bit of a shambles with who was to have paid for the cab we checked in at the other place (will review separately but was ok). I was cheesed off that they they (a) had not told us in advance if they knew the room was available - a reply to our emails could have done that, and they certainly did not call us; and (b) there was no offer of compensation for the hassle, and no real apology (in his attitude, the guy we dealt with was not that impressive) - i also don't know if the room we got in the other hotel was the same price as the one we paid for in advance.I feel sure the hotel would claim it was, but i would only have their word for it. Fair to say I will not be back...

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
5  Thank CCHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear CCHLondon,

Thank you for your feedback. We deeply regret your less than satisfactory experience with us during your trip to Singapore. Due to a last minute unforeseen incident in the room originally accorded to you at Wanderlust, we find ourselves short of time to inform you. We understand this is no excuse for the way our staff managed the situation and we extend our sincerest apologies. Rest assured, we will speak to the staff concerned.

The Attic Suite accorded to you at New Majestic Hotel is indeed the highest category in all our group of hotels in Singapore as it is our flagship property.

Once again, kindly accept our sincere apologies for this unfortunate incident and we hope you would allow us the opportunity to welcome you back and impress you with our commitment to improve.

Best regards,
Mae Noor
Marketing Communications Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
The Daulat Hotel
The Daulat Hotel
#120 of 317 in Singapore
232 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#55 of 317 in Singapore
1,578 reviews
Lloyd's Inn
#57 of 317 in Singapore
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#10 of 317 in Singapore
1,261 reviews
Hotel YAN
#53 of 317 in Singapore
432 reviews
Hotel G Singapore
#68 of 317 in Singapore
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanderlust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanderlust

Address: 2 Dickson Road Wanderlust Hotel, Singapore 209494, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#82 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#86 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $107 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wanderlust 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wanderlust in Little India draws madcap, curious voyagers to the old ethnic enclave. Made for guests with a sense of adventure, we invite you to walk the unconventional path where a radical hotel experience awaits.Its history began in the 1920s as the Hong Wen School, where the building at No 2 Dickson Road still retains its old-world charm with an unchanged façade. Situated 10 minutes from the cosmopolitan stretches of Orchard Road and the Central Business District; Wanderlust also offers door step access to a bustling, colourful street life. The four storey boutique hotel has 29 rooms. Just as no 2 rooms are identical, the same can be said for each floor in the hotel. It features the groundbreaking works of award-winning Singapore design agencies. Each agency was given full creative freedom to design an entire level in the hotel, resulting in four, different ‘in-your-face’ themes – ‘Industrial Glam’, ‘Eccentricity’, ‘Is It Just Black and White?‘ and ’Creature Comforts.’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wanderlust reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanderlust Hotel Singapore
Wanderlust Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing