We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay”
Review of Wanderlust

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wanderlust
Ranked #91 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Staff were friendly and our Whimsical room was superb. Steps to the mezzanine sleeping area are quite steep but not unmanageable. Breakfast was really good and staff are friendly. Free soft drinks and Nespresso in a room with an mp3 player dock tops off a top class offering. Jacuzzi is a little bit overlooked but nice way tor relax after a long day, will return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ianclark78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Guest Relations Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear ianclark78,

Warm hellos from the team at Wanderlust Hotel!
Thank you for your generous compliments.

I am extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at the hotel as well as the amenities provided.
Do request for a different themed room for your next stay so you may experience more of Wanderlust!
Housed in a conservation building, most of our rooms are rather compact and not very big at all. Each level is done by a different local design agency in Singapore, and we are proud to have their works showcased within the hotel.

I am pleased you found the staff to be friendly.
We look forward to your return so we may be of service to you once again.

Best regards,
Yan Yi, Lai
Guest Experience Ambassador
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    332
    100
    40
    18
See reviews for
56
449
97
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lingfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This was definitely one of the best hotels i have stayed in so far! We stayed in a whimsical room (space room) and it was fantastic! On arrival the staff were very friendly and helpful, we were even shown too our room and were given a quick rundown on how things worked etc.

Our room was space themed with tiny led lights all over the walls, an extremely comfy "egg chair" and a very comfortable bed in a loft! Drinks such as Juice, Coca cola and water were provided free of charge and were replenished daily. The espresso machine with 3 different kinds of gourmet coffee to choose from was just fabulous! Breakfast was included and I can honestly say we have eaten in hundreds of different hotels and this breakfast was by far the best! It was a buffet style for cereals, toast and fruit but you ordered your main from the menu, the apple stack pancakes were to die for and the bacon and eggs were perfect, overall could not fault the food :)

We enjoyed a few hours in the Jacuzzi which was just the right size and was in a funky little outdoor area. The only thing i would say was the location was a little trying. Little India is quite something but wasnt to my taste, though it made for an interesting stay. As experienced travellers we highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Space room 408 was extremley quiet :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nothingbutthetruth71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Guest Relations Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear nothingbutthetruth71

Warm hellos from the team at Wanderlust Hotel!
Thank you for your generous compliments.

I am extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at the hotel as well as the amenities provided.
Do request for a different themed room for your next stay so you may experience more of Wanderlust!
Housed in a conservation building, most of our rooms are rather compact and not very big at all. Each level is done by a different local design agency in Singapore, and we are proud to have their works showcased within the hotel.

I am pleased you found the staff to be helpful and friendly.
We look forward to your return so we may be of service to you once again.

Best regards,
Yan Yi, Lai
Guest Experience Ambassador
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This hotel was a pretty awful experience. The claustrophobic, purple painted, capsule like room instantly made me want to have a seizure upon entering it. Our room wasn't just small, but next level mini . . .it is so small that you can't even fit two suit cases in the hallway. Even worse than feeling that you are in a coffin is the relentless noise that comes pouring in from the outside. Clearly the managment knows this is an issue and provides a package of ear plugs with the room. I could hear loud voices at 12 am, 3 am and even 6 am . . .it was non stop. The location was bad . . .Little India is pretty far from everything and for Singapore being one of the cleanest countries I have ever visited, this location was probably one of the grubbiest areas I have ever stayed in.

The reason I gave this hotel 2 stars and not 1 star is because there are some positives. The front desk staff, house cleaning and waitress in the restaurant were all very kind. . . the bed was actually comfortable, the lobby is cute and the breakfast was very good.

Even with some of the positives this hotel was a bad experience. . . .I would caution anyone wanting to stay here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank RubyRavioli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Guest Relations Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear RubyRavioli,

Thank you for taking time to offer us your valuable feedback.
I am sorry that your stay with us was less than satisfactory and that we did not meet up to your expectations.

Being in a conservations shophouse, space is indeed very much a constraint. However, we had to the best of our abilities, fit it with the conveniences and needs of a modern traveler. Perhaps the next time you are in town, we could have you try, New Majestic Hotel, our sister property located in Chinatown. With bigger rooms and a gym and outdoor pool as its facilities, we think you might enjoy it more.

The streets can be a little bustling at night, and we would be glad to offer and assist with a room change if we do have availabilities facing the back lane.

We hope that you would allow us the opportunity to welcome you back and impress you with our commitment to improve.

Best Regards,
Yan Yi, Lai
Guest Experience Ambassador
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

We checked in today and I told my wife how much I looked forward to the design of the whimsical room. However, I forgot to factor in the service.
As mentioned by another reviewer, there was this chap called Patrick she met who was pretty rude. We met him too and true enough, he was rather cold and indifferent when he said: You have to wait till 3pm for the room. Luckily we were served by a nice girl called Putri who told us to wait at the sofa while she checked us in. Unfortunately Patrick's attitude already put us off and we had no mood to admire the interior of the lobby.

Around 10 mins later, Putri came to us and brought us to our ASCII room. The room was nice and full of symbols (in true nature of ASCII). The interior was fun more than functional. Bathtub was located at the bottom of the sleeping corner. Wardrobe was merely a wall to hang clothes. Drinks were complimentary. Stairs were steep; not recommended for elderly folks.

After admiring the room, we went out to explore the surroundings. Nice with plenty of food and accessible to Bugis by foot.

When we got back, we were informed of a pipe rupture and water supply would be cut off till 7pm.

Leaving with no choice, we went to City Square Mall. Quiet mall.

When we returned, we were greeted by the girls who were in the post-Patrick shift. It was refreshing and if only we had met them instead of that chap.

At this moment (11pm), the room was still quite quiet. Minimal noise and so far so good.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wlng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Guest Relations Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear wIng,

Thank you for taking time to offer us your valuable feedback.
I am sorry that your stay with us was less than satisfactory and that we did not meet up to your expectations.

The standard check-in time for the hotel is at 3pm and early check-ins is subjected to the availability of the rooms.
Please accept my sincere apologies with regards to our team member, Patrick. We take our guests’ feedback very seriously and your feedback has been looked into and addressed with the relevant departments. However, I am glad that you thought of Putri to be nice and enjoyed the hotel’s surroundings.

We also do apologize for the inconvenience caused by the faulty pipes.

We hope that you would allow us the opportunity to welcome you back and impress you with our commitment to improve.

Best Regards,
Yan Yi, Lai
Guest Experience Ambassador
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagoya, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

It's 10 min walk from Bugis station if you come by MRT from Airport.
Room was 'Mono Delux', white room with LED designed on the wall.
Bathroom was in semi-transparent case with a bathtub, it was quite nice I felt if I were in my home.
Amenities were sophisticated such as Kiehls, an espresso machine was furnished, lovely dewdrop shaped 'Dont' disturb' plate, a brochure hotel-guide which can be bring back home that was like a passport image, 'True Travel lover' should have built the hotel.
And what this hotel make it perfect is location. If this hotel is located in Marina-bay or Orchard, I would thought the hotel is very commercial oriented, but, this hotel Wanderlust is located in Little India, that is a true perfection.
I would definitely back to Wanderlust, may try another room, that is very exciting.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maki_1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Guest Relations Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Maki_1973

Warm hellos from the team at Wanderlust
Thank you for your generous compliments.

I am extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and the service rendered.
I am also glad that you found a home away from home.

Each level of the hotel is designed by a different local design agency, adding on to the whimsical and unique factor of the hotel. Do request for a different themed room the next time you visit, so that you may experience more of Wanderlust!

We do have 2 other sister properties, New Majestic Hotel and Hotel 1929 located at Chinatown that might interest you for your future travel plans to Singapore.

We look forward to your return so that we may be of service to you once again.

Best Regards,
Yan Yi, Lai
Guest Experience Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Very edgy and original design hotel. Great breakfast and service. They had a lot of complimentary juices in the mini-bar, and also has a cool jacuzzi at the roof top (no pool).

However, the room we stayed in, Pantone, is relatively small and suitable for a single traveller,, and feels more like a extended bathroom with a bed. Overall a great design experience, and good for a short stay.

Room Tip: Pantone's good if you're a single traveller, choose one of the other rooms if you're goi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MimiDxbTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Guest Relations Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear MiMiDxbTravels,

Warm hellos from the team at Wanderlust!
Thank you taking time to drop us a line.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Being in a conservations shophouse, space is indeed very much a constraint. However, we had to the best of our abilities, fit it with the conveniences and needs of a modern traveler. Perhaps the next time you are in town, we could have you try, New Majestic Hotel, our sister property located at Chinatown. With bigger rooms and a gym and outdoor pool as its facilities, we think you might enjoy it more.

However, each level of the hotel is designed by a different local design agency, adding on to the whimsical and unique factor of the hotel. Do request for a different themed room the next time you visit, so that you may experience more of Wanderlust!

We look forward to your return so that we may be of service to you once again.

Best Regards,
Yan Yi, Lai
Guest Experience Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2012

front desk staff named Patrick was rude and impolite. When we had enquiries, he would reply us seated whilst shaking his leg incessantly. In my culture, this is disrespectful. comparatively, his colleague Carol was smiley and welcoming. The room cleaning staff were also concerned and polite. room wise, I stayed in another room before this. room 406 ( bling room ). comparatively, this is much bigger. The decoration is nicer too. however if you are a couple, the bed is actually two smaller beds pushed together. So sleeping together might be an issue as the two smaller beds separate easily. Also, if your traveling with a friend of the opposite sex, using the bath as well as the toilet might be an issue, as there are no locks and the doors are transparent. Oh, and one of the towels was stained yellow. I stayed consecutive nights at wanderlust in two different rooms simply because it was too late to cancel the 2nd day. Restaurant wise..the food is pricey. If you want french at an affordable price I recommend " Poulet" at " Bugis PLus ". breakfast is quite nice though. Its semi buffet style. you get to order one main and pick repeatedly from a small buffet range. The freshly made crossaints are a nice touch too. all in, performance of staff would be good but the rating is ruined because of Patrick and as such, there is nothing fantastic about our stay. The toiletries and free mini bar and coffee are great. but any smart person will know that you have already paid for them and hence they are not really free. I only recommend this place if you have the spare cash and don't feel like spending it on something better.
Hotel Feature Tip: wall are thin. doors slamming shut can be jarring and annoying

Room Tip: Bling loft is terribly small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Guest Relations Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Sarahh A,

Thank you for taking time to offer us your valuable feedback.
I am sorry that your stay with us was less than satisfactory and that we did not meet up to your expectations.

Please accept my sincere apologies with regards to our team member, Patrick. We take our guests’ feedback very seriously and your feedback has been looked into and addressed with the relevant departments. However, I am glad that you thought of Caroli to be smiley and welcoming, and also enjoyed breakfast.

We hope that you would allow us the opportunity to welcome you back and impress you with our commitment to improve.

Best Regards,
Yan Yi, Lai
Guest Experience Ambassador
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Lloyd's Inn
#56 of 312 in Singapore
795 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#52 of 312 in Singapore
1,528 reviews
Little India
The Daulat Hotel
The Daulat Hotel
#134 of 312 in Singapore
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel YAN
#61 of 312 in Singapore
360 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#10 of 312 in Singapore
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanderlust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanderlust

Property: Wanderlust
Address: 2 Dickson Road Wanderlust Hotel, Singapore 209494, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#81 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#86 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wanderlust 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wanderlust in Little India draws madcap, curious voyagers to the old ethnic enclave. Made for guests with a sense of adventure, we invite you to walk the unconventional path where a radical hotel experience awaits.Its history began in the 1920s as the Hong Wen School, where the building at No 2 Dickson Road still retains its old-world charm with an unchanged façade. Situated 10 minutes from the cosmopolitan stretches of Orchard Road and the Central Business District; Wanderlust also offers door step access to a bustling, colourful street life. The four storey boutique hotel has 29 rooms. Just as no 2 rooms are identical, the same can be said for each floor in the hotel. It features the groundbreaking works of award-winning Singapore design agencies. Each agency was given full creative freedom to design an entire level in the hotel, resulting in four, different ‘in-your-face’ themes – ‘Industrial Glam’, ‘Eccentricity’, ‘Is It Just Black and White?‘ and ’Creature Comforts.’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wanderlust reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanderlust Hotel Singapore
Wanderlust Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing