We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (909)
Filter reviews
909 results
Traveler rating
351
354
131
47
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
351
354
131
47
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pantone room mono room little india space room design hotel unique design coffee machine complimentary minibar shower and toilet third floor mobile phone mini bar rooms are small late checkout mrt station jacuzzi typewriter
Filter
Updating list...
594 - 599 of 909 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Nice base to explore Singapore if you want something out of the ordinary and are bored by cookie cutter hotels! his place has lots of character, they have done a great job of fitting a functional hotel room in a small space with some innovative touches - like the freestanding glass boxes around the shower and toilet. . The nespresso machine, iPod dock clock radio and the free mini bar are nice touches. Breakfast was good but I would like more fresh fruit!.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Guest Relations Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Dear Keith J,

Warm hellos from the team at Wanderlust!
Thank you for your kind compliements,

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at the hotel as well as the amenities provided.

Each level of the hotel is done up by a different local design agency in Singapore, and we are proud to have their works showcased within the hotel. Do request for a different themed room the next time you visit, so that you may experience more of Wanderlust!

With regards to your feedback regarding more fresh fruit, it has been looked into and addressed with the relevant departments.

We look forward to your return so that we may be of service to you once again.
Best Regards,
Yan Yi, Lai
Guest Experience Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Travelled from 1st June to 6th June 2012. I chose Wanderlust, after finding here on TripAdvisor and do not regret staying here at all! It is without a doubt one of the most unique and hospitable hotels we have every stayed in. We arrived late on the 1st June, about 11pm. We were personally escorted to our room and shown the facilities. Free Wi-fi in room was great. Complimentary soft drinks and bottled water each day. Loved having the Nespresso machine at the foot of the bed, we woke up each morning and had a coffee in bed while watching the local soapies! As mentioned in many reviews here, each level has been designed by local architects, we stayed in the Pink room on level 2. Very funky and chic. Loved that it was unique. Beds are SOOO comfortable, not the typical hard beds you normally find throughout Asia. Like many others, lamented over the lack of space to place luggage, but the rest of the features of the room and hotel made up for this small oversight. Breakfast was included in the deal and was excellent. Did not eat at Cocotte restaurant, but it was very busy and I believe its the 'IN' place to be for many locals at the moment. There is a very funky Jacuzzi area on level 2. Every night we had a vodka and spa to wind down after a big day walking. Cannot understand why we were the only ones using it!!!

Hotel is located in Little India. Area is a little grungy, compared to the rest of Singapore, but it was vibrant and humming at all hours. Area has many backpacker hostels so there are plenty of drinking holes and cheap cafes in the immediate area. 10min walk to 2 MRT Stations, made it very convenient for getting around. 15min walk to the amazing Mustafa 24hr Shopping Centre and 10min walk to the trendy and chic Arab Quarter.

I have seen some reviews about the cafe in the alley along side the hotel and how noisy it is. I am a light sleeper but found that was not an issue for me at all. Hotel provides ear plugs, but I had my own anyway. With the use of these I was able to sleep through with no problems.

What impressed me most about the hotel was the staff and their standard of service. It was excellent. On our last day we had 10pm flight. Hotel offers an extended check out to 6pm at a cost of half the normal going rate. We debated about taking this offer, but figured that we could spend the day wandering around Singapore before coming back to hotel to get a shuttle bus to airport. We checked out at 10am and stored our luggage. But after wandering around for a few hours, I was done in and we headed back to hotel at about 2pm, to hang out in the foyer until bus arrived. We had not long sat down, when we were approached by one of the staff, and offered free use of one of their empty rooms, until the bus picked up at 7pm. I was floored! Never had I had such wonderful service as this. We were able to shower and have a snooze before flying back to Australia. This level of service was the best we have ever experienced ANYWHERE. Even some of the 5 star hotel chains we have stayed in over the years have not given us any where near the kind of treatment as Wanderlust have for us. This alone would have been great, but their overall service and friendliness has me still talking to anyone who will listen. I cannot recommend Wanderlust highly enough for your stay in Singapore. If we ever go back, will definitely be staying here again

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Frenchghost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Guest Relations Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Dear Nicole G,

Warm hellos from the team at Wanderlust!
Thank you for your kind compliments.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at the hotel, as well as what the surroundings have to offer. The vibrant and culturally rich area in which the hotel is located, adds to the charm and uniqueness of Wanderlust.

I am extremely pleased that you enjoyed the facilities and amenities, which the hotel had to offer, as well as finding our staff and service excellent. Guests’ comfort and satisfaction are of our utmost priority and I am glad that we were able to meet your expectations.

Each level of the hotel is done up by a different local design agency in Singapore, and we are proud to have their works showcased within the hotel. Do request for a different themed room the next time you visit, so that you may experience more of Wanderlust!

We look forward to your return so that we may be of service to you once again.

Best Regards,
Yan Yi, Lai
Guest Experience Ambassador
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

The hotel is in an interesting area, quirky and fun with helpful staff. We had one of the colour themed rooms, and it was very attractive, but very small. There was nowhere to put suitcases out of the way, the bed (up a few steps) was most easily entered by walking on the bed (essential for the person on the far side), the coffee machine quite literally had to be operated from in the bed, and the toilet was separated from the bed only by a pane of frosted glass. It was great for a one night stay, but I think for longer, it would have become very annoying. TIP: Try to avoid the brown taxis at the airport. We got ripped off by one of the brown ones. I knew I was being ripped off, but when getting out in a one way, single lane street with a quene of cars behind, there is little time to argue. The blue taxis seem reliable. Others may be as well.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kpossum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 21, 2012

Dear kpossum1,
Warm hellos from the team at Wanderlust!

I am pleased that you found our hotel quirky and fun and enjoyed your night’s stay with us.

Housed in a conservation building, we do admit that the rooms at Wanderlust are a tad on the smaller side. However, we had to the best of our abilities, fit it with the conveniences and needs of a modern traveler. We do have a sister hotel, New Majestic Hotel, that might be more viable for your future stays.

We look forward to your return so that we may be of service to you once again.

Best Regards,
Yan Yi, Lai
Guest Experience Ambassador
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We loved the Wanderlust, so much so that we booked to stay an additional night at the end of our break in Singapore. Front desk staff were excellent, really helpful and informative, always willing to help out, give transport tips etc. We had some fairly complicated logistics for onward travel, luggage storage, late check-out etc, and all requests were met with a friendly 'yes, of course.' - Service as it should be - above and beyond.

We also loved our room - a black & white ‘Princess’ one on the 3rd floor. Also we were fortunate enough to stay one night in another black and white room, but with an Origami theme. Colour changing LED lighting was great! Beds were VERY comfortable. So much so it was hard to wrench ourselves out of them in the morning. Housekeeping staff were all without excpetion kind and hepful.

Amenities-wise, we appreciated free wireless internet access (For one device per room, a bit limiting at some points), daily stocked fridge with free soft drinks, quality Kiehls toiletries and Nespresso machine. The 'Itinerary' notebook we were given on arrival with tips and local info, as well as blank note pages, was well-used and much-loved as our travel journal. A nice touch - thank you Wanderlust for this cool souvenir!

Breakfast was great - again friendly and efficient staff, a good buffet, and a well executed selection of hot breakfast dishes. Pancakes were delicious and coffee was great. It is served in 'Cocotte', the Hotel's French restaurant. We didn't dine there in the evening but wished we had as the menu looked good, and it always seemed busy.

We really liked the outdoor Jacuzzi pool and sun lounger area on the second floor, and spent a few hours here one evening chilling out with a G&T or two! Great after a busy and hot day sight-seeing. It didn’t seem to be used by other guests – we felt like it was our private roof garden.

Some reviewers have commented about the location - Dickson road in Little India is lively and colourful; the hotel is a chilled out haven on the fringes of it all. Taxis are cheap and readily available unless there is a sudden downpour! The Metro station is a short walk away and fairly easy to find. Curry at one of the local restaurants was a holiday highlight.

If we had any minor criticisms at all, perhaps funky design was higher on the agenda than practicalities such as bedroom storage space when this hotel was conceptualised. We pretty much lived out of our bags for the week, but this was not a real issue for us. There was a small wardrobe with hanging space, but not much for two adults. The fun and unique design of the room made up for it though, so no major worries there. Also the frosted glass WC and shower cubicles instead of a ‘proper’ hotel bathroom may not be appreciated by everyone. A good idea to make use of space though. Always great to see innovative design in hotels, rather than the bog-standard (Pardon the pun) configuration with bland design. So again, well done to Wanderlust for breaking the mould and daring to be different.

We would go back definitely, and try out another theme of room. We would love it if The Unlisted Collection opened one of their great hotels in Edinburgh – it would be a sure-fire hit!

Wanderlust is well worth a visit if you are staying in Singapore – great value, great team, intereseting bedrooms and delicious food. Thumbs up all round...

Room tip: Black & White rooms are great, aware some are more compact than others depending on their location.
Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AGM78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 21, 2012

Dear AGM78,
Warm hellos from the team at Wanderlust!

Thank you for your generous compliments.
We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as what the surrounding area had to offer. Guests’ comfort and satisfaction are of our utmost priority and I am glad that we were able to meet your expectations.

Each level of the hotel is done up by a different local design agency in Singapore, and we are proud to have their works showcased within the hotel. Do request for a different themed room the next time you visit, so that you may experience more of Wanderlust!

We will definitely take up your tip on opening a hotel in Edinburgh if the opportunity arises.
We look forward to your return so that we may be of service to you once again.

Best Regards,
Yan Yi, Lai
Guest Experience Ambassador
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Stay for one night just for the experience. Was fascinated by the retro deco and individually themed rooms. Stayed on the fourth floor where my room was jungle themed with loft bed like a treehouse and fake decorative leaves on the ceiling. There was a coffee maker with nespresso coffee provided and even an iPhone dock. 2 tvs were provided - one at the bedside and seating area so you could watch in bed or at the sofa. Best part I like is all the beverages were complimentary! There is a small jacuzzi at level 2 for guests but the water strangely wasn't warm enough. We skipped it.

There is a complimentary breakfast the next morning at the French restaurant at level 1. Luckily if not it would cost $25++. A semi buffet breakfast with cereal and beverages free flow and one main course. Food was not bad actually.

Overall quite a nice exp

Date of stay: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chewkoksheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Guest Relations Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2012

Dear chewkoksheng,
Warm hellos from the team at Wanderlust!

Thank you for your kind compliments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Each level is done by a different local design agency in Singapore, and we are proud to have their works showcased within the hotel. Do request for a different themed room the next time you visit, so that you may experience more of Wanderlust!

We look forward to your return so that we may be of service to you once again.

Best regards,
Yan Yi, Lai
Guest Experience Ambassador
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews