We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wanderlust

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wanderlust
Ranked #95 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Incredible service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

This hotel has some of the best service I've seen. My boyfriend and I stayed on two separate occasions, storing our luggage for a total of 3 weeks and our bags were already in the rooms each time we checked in. We stayed in the spaceship whimsical room as well as one of the pantone rooms. The Pantone room is definitely capsule style, quite cramped. The whimsical room is more spacious with the bathtub a nice touch. Also, there is a restaurant in the alley by the hotel that is open until 4 am which I think could be a noise problem on weekends if you're on that side of the building. Overall, highly recommended if you're in for a unique hotel experience with great service.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TnnsBrvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Dear TnnsBrvs, Hello from the team at Wanderlust!

We appreciate your kind compliments and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback on the noise issue has been addressed with the relevant department and we are now working on double-glazing the windows to minimise the noise issue you experienced.

Thank you for the feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,
Mae Noor
Marketing Communications Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    321
    96
    38
    18
See reviews for
53
433
96
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

Check-in at 2am...Service with a smile. Felt very welcome. Thanks. Loved the funny scrap book with the area info. Hotel is in the heart of Little India. Many veg' restaurants, great Indian atmosphere especially on Sunday. 7 mins walk to MRT Little India. The hotel is near Sim Lim electronics. Rooms are spacious enough, all necessary bathroom amenities. '(N)Espresso' Machine in the room is wonderful. Free minibar (non-alcohol) was a nice surprise. Would like some more lights in toilet and near the mirror...as you have to keep the curtains closed if you want some privacy...
And a 'writing pad' to put on the tiled table(t) as this hotel is very inspiring for the traveler! and a 'luggage table or rack' would be nice. Loved the overal design. Would definitely recommend the hotel to women travelers (very serviceable staff) and even gay people will love this hotel as it is different and has some great design items.

Room Tip: Stayed at a Mono room. If you are keen on privacy, ask for a room that is not on the inner 'gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pascal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Dear Pascal H,

Greetings from Wanderlust! Thank you for your generous compliments. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comfort is of utmost priority and we will do whatever we can to ensure you of that. We appreciate the recommendation and look forward to having you back with us so we may be of service to you once again.

Best regards,
Mae Noor
Marketing Communications Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aichi Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

i absolutely adored wanderlust
the information on the agoda website was misleading (nothing surprising there)
but despite that i didn't find exactly what i was promised
i still thoroughly loved my stay in the blue room (for which i'd asked)
the service really was impeccable
and they were quick to address the little problems in the room (the nespresso machine wasn't working, the lightbulb needed replacing)

if i were to complain about anything, it's that the central air-conditioning was way too cold for me but turning it off meant that it didn't muffle the sound of the going and coming of the cleaning crew just across the hall from me (i had asked for a quiet room /-:), the voices of other guests inside (!) their rooms and the doors that closed rather noisily

the aesthetic of the whole place was like a visual feast, including the Jacuzzi on the roof (despite the cold water) and the bathroom and toilet that made me feel like i was in a sci fi film
honestly, i could have happily stayed there a few more nights
it's true that the rooms are a bit overpriced but i'd still go back
for the reasons above
the perfect eggs at breakfast (i'm very picky about my eggs)
and the most comfortable bed i'd ever slept in (and that is saying a lot)

Room Tip: ask for their quietest room far from the cleaning staff room if you are picky about noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tabimin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Warm hellos from the team at Wanderlust!

Thank you for your kind feedback. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the amenities provided. We have addressed the noise issue with the relevant department and are taking steps to ensure that such occurrences would not happen again.

In the meantime, we'd be pleased to have you back with us once again, and look forward to be of service to you.

Best regards,
Mae Noor
Marketing Communications Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

We traveled to Singapore in the month of June for 5 nights. We had booked in advance through Xpedia.com. When we reached the hotel, they front desk staff asked for a deposit for SD100 for per night! we were shocked since we were not told anything about the deposit, if we were told we would never have booked in that hotel! Hell, not even 5 star hotels ask for deposit and this was a tiny place in a very runaway lane. We refused to pay the deposit explaining that we only had enough monies to do sightseeings!

The room was as small as we expected. It was neat, however, the green colour was hurting the eyes.

Our major disappointment was the breakfast. No variety at all for vegetarians. We had forgotten to ask whether they serve vegeterian breakfast. Even the cereals were non-veg. So the only thing we could have every day was bread and jam and bread and butter. No courtesy whatsoever in preparing atleast something vegetarian for their guests since we were there for 4 days!

And on our last day when we entered the breakfast room at around 9.45, the breakfast was over for the day!!! what kind of hotel stops serving breakfast at 9.45!!! and there was no board anywhere stating the timings!!

In all, we were totally disappointed with the service of the front desk staff and breakfast room staff.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vin_cheulkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Dear vin_cheulkar,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us here. We are disappointed that we didn't meet your expectations during your stay with us. It is a pretty standard procedure for hotels to request for a room deposit which will be returned upon check-out, depending on the number of nights of your stay.

With regards to breakfast, we have since included breakfast options for vegetarians. Do let us know should you have special breakfast requests and we'd be more than pleased to accommodate you as we've also previously had request for pre-packed breakfast for an early flight and such.

Please accept my sincere apologies for your less than satisfactory stay with us, and hope that you would allow us the opportunity to welcome you back and impress you with our commitment to improve.

Best regards,
Mae Noor
Marketing Communications Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

This was my second stay at the hotel. The first was a well pro-portioned room on the 3rd floor.
This stay was in a Patone room on the 2nd floor: To say the room is tiny in an understatement. It's a narrow corridor with a huge toilet and shower jutting into the space, no room to put suitcases on a raised surface and a bed on a raised platform at the end next to the windows. The colour was a garish turquoise.
I checked in with some work to catch up on and as soon as I looked around the room, I realised there was no desk. I called reception and asked for a new room. I was put on hold as the receptionist contacted Sales staff, but was subsequently informed that none were available. The front desk staff were helpful and did locate a room at another hotel, but as this room was purchased through Agoda there was no option for refund without a lot of hassle and I opted to stay as I had to get on with the urgent work.
I therefore had no option but to sit propped up on the bed with the laptop on a pillow. The noise of talking and laughter from the coffee shop next to the hotel went late into the night (the management acknowledge this and provide ear protectors). At 3 in the morning, and having slept badly, I went to 7-11 to get a snack and saw that one of the overnight hotel staff sitting in the coffee shop talking animatedly with another person. This can only encourage other people to hang around later into the night and should be discouraged.
I have stayed at other hotels in the Unlisted Collection group such as New Majestic and 1929 and always found them to be very superior. But this stay was disappointing.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ciaran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Dear Ciaran M,

Thank you for your feedback. We're disappointed to hear that you had an otherwise experience with us. As the hotel is housed in an old conservations building, the Pantone rooms are indeed on the smaller scale. However it was designed to the best of our ability from the existing space, to accommodate the basic needs and conveniences of a modern traveller. Should we have an availability on the mono rooms, we would definitely have moved you to the bigger room as per your last stay.

As for the noise issue, we are working in stages to install double glazed windows in all 29 rooms so as to eradicate this problem. We do hope that you would allow us the opportunity to welcome you back and impress you with our commitment to improve.

Best regards,
Mae Noor
Marketing Communications Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

We arrived at the Wanderlust around midnight. It was dark and dreary and the very kind staff put us in the one remaining room, where we had to climb up a steep ladder to a tiny loft with the bed and strands of fake ivy hanging from the ceiling.We were ready to move out the next day! But we woke up, went downstairs and the place was, in fact, very lively and cheerful. We changed to a more traditional room and ended up loving our 4 night stay there. Being in Little India was like being in Southern India, and we were right next to the Arab section. The food at the Wanderlust, by the way, is fantastic.

Room Tip: If you are whimsical and a little eccentric, there are many quirky choices. If you aren't, just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Dear davitt, greetings from Wanderlust!

We appreciate your compliments and glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. The team strives to ensure that every guest is comfortable and well taken care of. With that, we look forward to your return so we may be of service to you once again.

Best regards,
Mae Noor
Marketing Communications Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

On business for my first visit to Singapore but since I am self-employed and hate impersonal 'business' hotels, Wanderlust was recommended to me as being within my price range, clean and comfortable.

It was spot on. Having looked at a couple of reviews here beforehand, I requested in advance a quiet room, and got one (211) on the small internal courtyard. Not a drum was heard.

The room was not enormous but quite enough for me on my own. If my wife had been with me we might have struggled a bit. (I was in one of the smaller rooms - I gather they have bigger ones.) The bed is in a sort of platform inside a couple of steps. To get into it you need to manoeuvre carefully but, once in, very comfortable. The (free) espresso machine and soft drinks in the mini bar were a great advantage as was (for me) the TV channel devoted to English footie.

Breakfast was excellent - it is very rare to get a couple of freshly fried eggs on request. The tea came in a stewed pot keeping warm on the side, but you can't have everything. The best plan was to nip up to the room and bring down another espresso. I had one dinner in the restaurant: excellent but far from cheap.

The position is good - given the price of the room. Bugis MRT station is as close as Little India station and more convenient for the airport and central business district.

The staff were unfailingly polite, smiling and helpful. I am always impressed when they remember my name and use it.

I hope to be back in Singapore soon and will certainly return to the hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid possible noise in a room on the internal courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter_miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Dear peter_miles, warm hellos from the team at Wanderlust!

Thank you for the generous compliments. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and can't wait for your return. If you would prefer the same room again for your next stay, do put in a request during reservations and we'd be pleased to accord you the same should it be available. Till then, safe travels!

Best regards,
Mae Noor
Marketing Communications Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
New Majestic Hotel
#89 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#51 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
Lloyd's Inn
#58 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel YAN
#57 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#10 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanderlust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanderlust

Property: Wanderlust
Address: 2 Dickson Road Wanderlust Hotel, Singapore 209494, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#83 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#86 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wanderlust 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wanderlust in Little India draws madcap, curious voyagers to the old ethnic enclave. Made for guests with a sense of adventure, we invite you to walk the unconventional path where a radical hotel experience awaits.Its history began in the 1920s as the Hong Wen School, where the building at No 2 Dickson Road still retains its old-world charm with an unchanged façade. Situated 10 minutes from the cosmopolitan stretches of Orchard Road and the Central Business District; Wanderlust also offers door step access to a bustling, colourful street life. The four storey boutique hotel has 29 rooms. Just as no 2 rooms are identical, the same can be said for each floor in the hotel. It features the groundbreaking works of award-winning Singapore design agencies. Each agency was given full creative freedom to design an entire level in the hotel, resulting in four, different ‘in-your-face’ themes – ‘Industrial Glam’, ‘Eccentricity’, ‘Is It Just Black and White?‘ and ’Creature Comforts.’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wanderlust reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanderlust Hotel Singapore
Wanderlust Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing