We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have stayed in much better”
Review of Marina Bay Sands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marina Bay Sands
Ranked #38 of 315 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Western Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Have stayed in much better”
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We spent four nights at this hotel from 13-17 June, more out of curiousity than anything, in a Horizon Grand room in Tower 1 on the 42nd floor. We had spectacular views of the city and bay. The room was huge, lovely big marble bathroom with a full bath. The room was spotless. Be careful of electronic bar fridge because even if you lift something from its position it automatically gets charged to your room after so many seconds even if you put it back down. There is no room to put in anything of your own but you do have the option of asking for another fridge or they will empty the bar fridge for you on request at no charge. Tea & coffee facilities available. Air conditioning in the room was a little noisey, not good if you are a light sleeper.

Worst check in system I have every experienced, long queue but staff stood by offering juices which was a nice touch. No seating though if you are elderly so could be uncomfortable for some. Huge noisey foyer with many people around all hours of the day and night, not very personal and lacks the WOW factor, very clinical with no warm and cosy atmosphere.

Restaurants are very expensive as are the drinks, could only afford to have one each night. We ate at the food court, quite a long walk to get there but very cheap with a large choice of local food if that's what you like. Has a skating ring alongside, good if you have children.

Went into the casino to take a look (we don't gamble). Nearly every second person smoked, couldn't get out of there quicky enough. I thought smoking was banned in these places! Floors above were smoke free, funny when you think that smoke rises although I think they have a huge extractor system to remove it, however, you still inhale it as you walk past the smokers.

Free shuttle bus from airport which was good. Just need to show your reservation. We found the staff in the hotel to be excellent, very helpful, nothing was too much effort despite some of the complaints from others on this site. We were lucky I suppose.

This hotel lacks some of the personal touches of other cheaper hotels such as chocolates on your pillow at night, daily delivery of a newspaper and turning down your bed at night. Quite a walk to the MRT (train station) but taxis I found to reasonable for getting around and there were plenty of them available. We used the business centre for the internet, you get 3 hrs free/day which was more than adequate for us.

We wouldn't stay there again as we just wanted the experience of trying it at least once. It was quite pleasant but the money spent wasn't justified. As far as recommending it to others, everyone needs to make that choice themselves. I did read comments from Trip Advisor before we chose this hotel. This site is fantastic and I use it all the time.

The funny thing is, is that Marina Bay Sands encourages its guests to post comments on this site, can't be doing its reputation too good looking at the latest comments. I hope they are taking note and will implement changes to ensure a more pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank dbmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pek_ChinSiong, Senior Hotel Manager at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to submit your balanced review. We regret to learn that your recent stay was not a complete success. We do indeed encourage our guests to share their experiences with us as it is through this feedback that we can continue to improve on our products and services.

We assure you that we are constantly reviewing and monitoring our check in experience to ensure that our guests are accommodated within an acceptable amount of time. We have shared your feedback regarding the room air-conditioning unit with the respective department head for review.

The Bayfront MRT is scheduled to open in 2013, which we hope will make the commute to and from Marina Bay Sands a quicker and convenient one.

We are glad to hear that our service standards matched your expectations. Thank you once again for your valuable feedback. We value your patronage and hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you and your partner back to Marina Bay Sands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11,769
    6,186
    2,507
    892
    743
See reviews for
5,834
8,120
990
2,395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,337)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

This hotel is definitely one of a kind! Starting from the moment we arrived, the service was exceptional and the staff did all they could to make our trip an enjoyable experience! I understand that the hotel is VERY busy and no matter what, the guest was always the top priority to staff members. The front desk employee made sure we knew the logistics of our hotel package that we booked online, gave us great information and also recommended restaurants and "things to do" seeing we had two kids. The room was ready on time, had a GREAT view of the ocean and the bed was very comfortable! When we needed something in the room housekeeping and the butler service was ontop of it. The Skypark is a MUST SEE for anyone coming to Marina Bay Sands! Exceptional views of the city, great staff, but a bit overcrowded at times. The restaurants at Marina Bay Sands were top notch! We ate at Cut in the Mall, Rise, Sky on 57 as well as the restaurant over the observation area. All were great and we had great service! Overall, I would strongly tell you to stay here, GREAT EXPERIENCE!

Room Tip: Book in Advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank drumDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pek_ChinSiong, Senior Hotel Manager at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experiences! We are happy to learn that our service standards exceeded your expectations and that you had an enjoyable time with us.

We are also delighted that you and your family had the opportunity to dine at two of our Celebrity Chef restaurants.

We truly appreciate your support and we look forward to welcoming you back at Marina Bay Sands in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Horrible experience. Messed up reservation. Incompetent manager. Snarky receptionist. Thin walls. Noisy. Smelly bathrooms. No free Wi-Fi. No doormen. Expensive stay, expensive food. Mistakes in service all around. Stick to the western luxury hotels who undertand service.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank taboo111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pek_ChinSiong, Senior Hotel Manager at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. We regret to learn of the service challenges you encountered during your recent stay with us. The experiences you have described are not reflective of the service standards we have at Marina Bay Sands. The relevant Department Heads have been made aware of the issues articulated in your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We had a really romantic honeymoon with a really luxurious treat!
I highly recommend the club rooms, not only for the rooms and the fantastic view on the bay and city from the higher floors but all the club offers, included in the price! Food and drinks are just TOP!
Lovely that at least one part of the pool area is not open to public but exclusive to guests.
I've been to many 5 star hotels all over the world but the overall experience at the Marina Bay Sands with the club room package tops them all.
Staff was also extremely friendly, especially in the club area.

Room Tip: Club rooms facing the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Benza04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pek_ChinSiong, Senior Hotel Manager at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Congratulations on your wedding! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and sharing your perfect honeymoon experience. We are very happy to learn that you and your partner had a wonderful time! The infinity pool at the SkyPark is indeed exclusive to our hotel guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to Marina Bay Sands in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in one of the rooms on the 4th floor at Tower 3. The room was not ready until about 3.30 pm on the day of check-in. The bathroom was very smelly and we complained about it. However, after saying that they had rectified it, the smell was still there. We insisted for another suitable room, but we were informed that none was available. The receptionist promised to come back to us on the availability of another room, but they never did. We had to endure the smell for 4 days and 3 nights! The room's view was not pleasing as well as it was facing a construction site and we could not sleep well as the room was by the road side. Water clogged when we showered. It took the housekeeping nearly an hour to send towels to the room and the cleaners had difficulty in understanding English. Newspapers and shavers were not provided. Internet was always down. I would not recommend the hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank BalqisBolano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pek_ChinSiong, Senior Hotel Manager at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The condition of the bathroom that you described are not acceptable. We have informed our Housekeeping and Facilities department heads for their immediate attention.

We are continuously reviewing our processes based on our guests’ feedback to ensure that we improve our service levels. Thank you again for sharing your feedback and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

My first ever travel review...thanks to my lousy experience with Marina Bay Sands Hotel Singapore!!!

Paid almost S$500 for a one-night crappy stay:
1. Check in time was at 3pm, which i believe was already a bit late.
2. Very weak cel signal in the room considering we were just on the 12th floor.
3. Wi-fi was chargeable
4. Breakfast was chargeable
5. Room door was open when we got there. Housekeeping forgot to take out their service card key
6. No space in the fridge as it was full
7. The hotel lobby was so crowded, which I believe were mostly non-hotel guests
8. The room was not cozy rather stoic and stiff
9. Room layout was just like your average 3 or 4 star hotel
10. design was not consistent
11. THE PILLOWS!!! Were sooo flat! SUB-standard I dare say. I woke up with a stiff neck
12. lavatory fixtures have started to loosen (I guess those were the low-end type)
13. Used marble tiles for the bathroom and there wasn't any anti-slip mat in the shower.
14. no litter bin and bidet spray next to the watercloset
15. Skypark was overrated!! Privacy is compromised as non-hotel guests could access it for a fee
16. Earliest check-out time I've encountered at 11am??!!!
17. Pathetic cable tv
18. Receptionists were not even apologetic or didn't even emphatize with us. They just stupidly smiled back!!
19. No Suggestion Box
20. By the way, one guest was checked-in at a room that there were already guests in it.

Ok at this point, please hold on to your seat for the WORST part!!!

21. DOUBLE CHARGING!!!



To Mr. Agustin Cortes (Sr. VP for Operations) please do not just reply here at TripAdvisor. Please do attend to emails as well.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Mustlovetravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pek_ChinSiong, Senior Hotel Manager at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We regret to learn about the challenges you faced and we are sorry for the service shortfalls that you have experienced. We have sent you a private message to be in direct contact with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

stayed here first weekend of june 2011 on corporate rate...  still expensive, and the experience was awful...  check-in area was messy and queue to get to the person at the counter was half an hour...  told that room not ready, which was fair enough since it was 12+...  but also told request for king-size bed could not be acceded to, despite this being requested when booking the room a good 3-4 weeks beforehand... 
 
the absolute worst thing, and this is the 1st time i've EVER heard of this, is there is NO complimentary parking...  not just that, u had to WALK to the valet parking section and PURCHASE your own coupon...  absolutely ridiculous way to treat a guest in a costly establishment...
 
room was nice, and the only saving grace...  but what was the point if all other aspects of the experience was so awful?
 
by the time we checked out the next day, we couldn't wait to get out of that place...  but MBS chose to prolong our ordeal...  they charged us the full rate, and did not believe us when we said we booked the room at corporate rate...  first, do they even have a RECORD of these things?  when i showed the person at the counter the email showing the corporate rate on my blackberry, i was told it was not good enough!  she then said i should WALK to the business centre, USE the computer there and PAY for printing a copy, then WALK ALL THE WAY BACK to the counter to pass her the printed email...  i couldn't believe my ears by now, and of course refused to comply...  she then asked me to forward the email to her again, which i did...  notwithstanding that, she insisted we sign on the form showing the full and WRONG rate, if not she would not let us leave...  we signed very reluctantly and on protest, and on the assurance we would be charged the CORRECT, CORPORATE RATE...
 
guess what?  when the credit card bill came, WE WERE AGAIN CHARGED THE FULL RATE...
 
words cannot begin to describe the service here...  i am NEVER coming back and i regret ever thinking a costly establishment would be one with good service... absolutely NOT in this case...

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank yobeinnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Roe, Hotel Manager at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Thank you for your review. We have sent you a private message and we look forward to hearing back from you so we can investigate the situation immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 315 in Singapore
7,406 reviews
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
Raffles Hotel Singapore
Raffles Hotel Singapore
#3 of 315 in Singapore
4,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Bay Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Bay Sands

Property: Marina Bay Sands
Address: 10 Bayfront Avenue, Singapore 018956, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#23 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#29 Family Hotel in Singapore
#30 Business Hotel in Singapore
#38 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marina Bay Sands 5*
Number of rooms: 2560
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along Marina Bay waterfront with 3 cascading hotel towers, 2,560 rooms, extraordinary Sands Sky Park, floating crystal pavilions, lotus-inspired ArtScience Museum, The Shoppes, Celebrity Chef Restaurants, Theatres and hottest nightclubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marina Bay Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Bay Sands Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay Sands Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing