We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“special treat”
Review of Marina Bay Sands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marina Bay Sands
Ranked #40 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2011

lobby amazing - busy but a real atmosphere
we arrived at 8am and our room was ready for us
quick check-in - were given lots of info about hotel and area etc
room really spacious - massive walk in shower and large living room area
the pool area on 57th floor is brill - contray to other reviewers we did not feel like non-residents were watching us when relaxing etc as all non-guests not allowed access to pool.

Connected to lovely shopping centre and restaurants - taxis are cheap etc when you want to get around the city and views are amazing!!!
This was a special treat for us for two nights and was worth the money although if you are looking for a romantic quiet hotel this is not the place for you

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skpharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Roe, Hotel Manager at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2011

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your support and we look forward to welcoming you back at Marina Bay Sands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (23,166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14,126 - 14,132 of 23,166 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2011

Convienietly located in the CBD of Singapore, the hotel is strategically located close to mose tourist honeyspots. It's 20 minutes taxi from Sentosa and other tourist attractions such as boat quay or clarke quay.

The hotel design itself is stunning in its own right and surely has become one of singapore's top tourist spot. One of the most touching moments is when we were allocated to the 14th floor which was supposed to be a king size bed. We checked in and found out it was two double beds, so i went down to the lobby to inform them. Upon understanding the situation, they automatically upgraded us to the higher floors (41) as a result of the inconvenience.

The facilities in the hotel are to die for. Most notably, the skypark and the pool on top allows you a birds view of singapore while zipping on a cocktail. The cleanliness and staff friendliness are unparallelled. Staff are always more than friendly to give you to the most friendly responses.

Having said that, the breakfast choices are not as varied as I would have expected from a 5 star hotel. Nonetheless, the atmosphere and vibe makes it up for all that.
I would most definitely return to Marinabay sands on my next trip to singapore!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aacortes, Senior Vice President - Operations at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2011

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad that you enjoyed your room upgrade.

The infinity pool and the view from the SkyPark are indeed special. We have shared your feedback regarding the breakfast selection with our Food & Beverage team.

We thank you for your support and we look forward to having you back with us again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

We were so excited and just awaiting the moment we get into this hotel . Since we knew that early check in wouldnt be possible, we spent almost half of the day touring Singapore.. As we arrived, the first thing we came across is the chaos at the check-in desk which gave us a bad first experience and made us think if the hotel is really going to meet our expectations. After running around from one desk to the other, finally after 35-40 mins we got the room key in our hand.

The room was pretty decent and had a great view of the road minus the noise as we were too high. One weird thing in the room was that the bathroom door did not have a lock, how could they do this, I really dont understand.

We decided to go up to the sky park asap as that is the most attractive thing of the hotel. As we went up there we were amazed by the awesome view of the swimming pool. We jumped into it and spent some good time.

The breakfast was great and had a good variety. The casino down there is a good attraction. Overall the hotel is a wonderful place to stay in Singapore but the price I must say is too high.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ktravelfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

Unfortunatelly we just spent 3 days in Singapore but decided to spend the nights at the Marina Bay Sands; best decicion we could have made!
First we were a little overwehelmed since the check in for all 3 towes reminded a little like a gigantic airport since there were so many people wanting to check in etc but everything thing went surprisingly smooth and we go out room right away, eventhough we were actually told that we were too early for check in.

The rooms were amazing, really clean, big bathroom and nice view( City view is way better than port view since there are constantly constructions going on!) and the location is very central so dont hesitate to walk around to all the famous attractions (Merlin etc) or shopping malls.
The most gorgeous feature is doubtless the Infinity pool on the 53th floor which will take your breath away. A lot of people complained in earlier reviews that its not relaxing having all the tourists walking around there as well taking pictures at the pool while you are trying to tan or just relax but since you need to have a Hotel Card to go up there anyways it really isnt that bad!

Another insider tip: quite often you have to wait in line to get seated at one of the breakfast areas on the ground floor level in the morning so first morning we got in line as well but not even a minute later a staff member came up to us and asked if we would like to have breakfast at the restaurant right next to the pool (53rd floor!). Apparently , at least so we were told, they sometimes pick out randomly people from the line and send them up there so it wont get too crowded and actually the least people even knoe that you can also enjoy breakfast up there. Next morning we went traight to one of the staff member ladies and asked her right away and she sent us up again! Its so much nicer enjoing your breakfast over the rooftops of Singapore to start off your day and als the food is way better than downstairs ( last day we had to have our breakfast downstairs since we had to check out early) and its definitely not crowded at all compared to the breakfast area downstairs, so dont hesitate to ask!!!
Also the rooftop bar is amazing to pay a last visit befor heading to the room and take one last drink. Sipping on a cold Cocktail and looking over the beautiful city at night is just priceless!!!
To sum it all up we had an amazing stay at the MBS and I cant wait ti come back one day so if you ever get the chance to go to Singapore consider stopping by at Marina Bay Sands, its so worth it!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ines_Munich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights at the start of May 2011.

Starting with positives, we had no problem or queues checking in The room was on the 37th floor and ocean facing, much of the foreground is construction but as we weren't spending much time in the room, it was a non-issue. The room itself was good and the bathroom was spacious.

The pool is clearly a highlight, we spent some time here each day and it was never overcrowded. Compared to the last two hotels we stayed at with heated pools, I preferred the temperature of those, but they didn't have the great view this pool does.

The concierge was very helpful in making some restaurant reservations for us as well as assisting with purchasing tickets for the theater when I was getting an error when trying to book myself.

The close proximity to the theater, some very good restaurants and a decent food court is another positive. We had a look at the casino but it wasn't of much interest to us.

Late check out was granted, but this could only be done after 8pm on the night before checking out.

We had breakfast one morning in the hotel, and it was busy but the wait for a table was only 5 minutes. There was a decent selection of food but quality was variable. Would not recommend for the price unless it is included in your room rate.

The current lack of a MRT in the immediate vicinity was not a major problem, taxis are cheap to most destinations and it is possible to walk to a MRT station without too much difficulty.

The reports of the lobby being a mass of people are right and this probably isn't the place to come if you want a serene environment in public areas of a hotel. There were also a few issues with some housekeeping requests not being fulfilled and needing multiple calls to have the request completed.

Overall, not everything is perfect, but things were certainly a lot better for me than some other reviewers here. I'd consider staying here again the next time I am in Singapore, although there are lots of other very good options at this price point.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CamW_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pek_ChinSiong, Senior Hotel Manager at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2011

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us despite the inconsistencies you experienced. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

We have taken note of your comments regarding the quality of food during breakfast and your challenges with Housekeeping, and have shared them with the relevant departments for review and improvement.

We are dedicated to making Marina Bay Sands the world’s most magnificent destination for entertainment, leisure, and business. Thank you for your support and we look forward to welcoming you back at Marina Bay Sands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

It was very nice experience we had in marina bay sands hotel, we enjoyed to the max in the lovely infinity pool on the 57th floor amazing view, prefect jacuzzi and very nice drinks..

Although we had to wait more than 3 hours to get our room ready but they apologized to us by a free upgrade to a lovely suite.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aula_Shawki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pek_ChinSiong, Senior Hotel Manager at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2011

Thank you for your positive comments. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your room upgrade and that you had a great experience at our lovely infinity pool on the SkyPark. We look forward to welcoming you back at Marina Bay Sands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

When one thinks of visiting Singapore for a visit, almost everyone will know Marina Bay Sands, if not as a hotel to stay in, one to visit while touring around. MBS is best known for the "boat" on top of the hotel with it's public viewing deck (20 SGD) and private infinity pool (for guests only).

I used my company discount, so the price wasn't so bad, otherwise MBS is really expensive. There were no more basic rooms (Atrium Deluxe) left but instead for a 30 SGD extra we had the option of choosing Atrium Premiere (bigger than Deluxe) or Horizon Deluxe (same size, higher floor). We chose the latter.

The room was nice, gorgeous and just the right size (not too small but just the right amount of coziness). The bed was big and soft with two great feather pillows each. The bathroom was nice although there was barely any privacy between the toilet and shower and no lock on the bathroom door.

Check in starts at 3pm although we were a little early. At Tower 3, they allowed us to register early and then come back at 3pm and get our room keys at Tower 1. We got the chance to go around the mall (which has a grocery and a food court in case you weren't so sure it was there among all the high end stores and restaurants) before getting the keys. Other guests were not allowed to register early, so there was a long line for registration at Tower 1 at 3pm while I breezed through to get my keys. Unfortunately, only one of our two keys worked at our room door, but it didn't bother us too much as we always went in together.

The staff was always very friendly and always willing to help out. At the breakfast buffet, we were told about two options (Intercontinental and American Breakfast) although when we got to the closest restaurant, they told us the buffets were the same. On our first morning we got a table for two. On our second morning they gave us a table for 6 and then half way through our meal, brought over another pair to share our table. I guess it's the Chinese way?

On the second night I woke up past midnight with a splitting headache. The phone beside my bed wasn't working so I walked over to the desk to call Priority Services and asked for a pain killer. I guess they don't usually get requests like that because the girl had to put me on hold for a few minutes before telling me it was 9 SGD and it would be delivered within 15 mins. 30 mins later, we called to follow up as it hadn't arrived. Another 10 mins after, it finally arrived, the bellboy apologizing as they were out of stock of the 9 SGD kind and only charged me 6 SGD for a 10 piece pack of paracetamol (9 SGD for 20 pieces maybe? I would have been happy with 2 pieces at that time if only they had told me it was going to take awhile, haha).

Lastly, the pool was beautiful. There are quite a number of guests around, although staying in the adult pool helps avoid most of the rowdier kids (can't avoid the rowdier adults I'm afraid). There are also a lot of lounge chairs for those who just want to hang out by the pool and catch some rays. We decided to go around the Sky Park (which was for the public view) and while it was nice and had some really great views, I can't imagine why outsiders would want to pay 20 SGD just to see that view. The pool was more worth it.

Good hotel to visit at least just once!

Room Tip: Book early and try to get a corporate rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Discursus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Roe, Hotel Manager at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay despite the inconsistencies you experienced. The recognition you have given to our Team Members is encouraging.

We apologize for the challenges you experienced with the room keys, Housekeeping and at breakfast. We have shared your comments with the respective departments to improve our procedures and service levels so that our guests have a smooth and pleasant stay with us.

We hope to be able to welcome you back at Marina Bay Sands in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 317 in Singapore
7,880 reviews
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Orchard Road
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
#11 of 317 in Singapore
5,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Bay Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Bay Sands

Address: 10 Bayfront Avenue, Singapore 018956, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#23 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#29 Family Hotel in Singapore
#30 Business Hotel in Singapore
#40 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $352 - $798 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Marina Bay Sands 5*
Number of rooms: 2560
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along Marina Bay waterfront with 3 cascading hotel towers, 2,560 rooms, extraordinary Sands Sky Park, floating crystal pavilions, lotus-inspired ArtScience Museum, The Shoppes, Celebrity Chef Restaurants, Theatres and hottest nightclubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Expedia, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marina Bay Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Bay Sands Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay Sands Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing