We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room to improve”

Gattopardo Ristorante Di Mare
Ranked #106 of 10,675 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $100
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Description: Chef Lino Sauro's contemporary Italian and Mediterranean cuisine Gattopardo Ristorante di Mare, is located at the heart of Tanjong Pagar with its historic charm and atmosphere. Seafood has always been the soul and life of South Italy. It is in our hands to preserve this way of life by using only sustainable seafood at Gattopardo. At the end of the day even the smallest things we do make a big difference.
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Room to improve”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I'm a regular and I love the pastas, bread and pizzas. And wine.

But here's something I really hope management can improve on : The starters are way too expensive!! $30+ for most of them. More expensive than the pizza or the pasta or even the mains!! This is RIDICULOUS!! And this is so, even for the salads. There's only 1 salad at $18 and the rest of them are >$30.

Most of the time, I end up going straight to the pasta or pizza. I don't feel like I'm getting value for money by ordering a starter thats more expensive than the main course. I feel ripped off. I've tried some of the starters previously, but I don't find them special enough to warrant that kind of price.

Why can't management come up with half orders? I've asked the waiter but they told me the portions are already small to begin with (what??? for that kind of price??) so there's no half portions.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dickson G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    74
    16
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Italian super”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Very good Italian Restaurant, fish preparation as typical Italian way very fresh Mediterranean and Adriatic fish availability also very large Italian wine selection simply very good

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Igor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Awesome Italian”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We have dined here many times as it's our favorite Italian restaurant in Singapore. It ticks all the boxes from ambience, service (from the moment the you call to book the table), food selection (their flexibility is great for us as we are vegetarian) & knowledgable, friendly staff.

We love their pizzas!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmRuti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“culinay heaven”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

gattopardo in fort canning hotel is the place to be.fresh Sicilian food and i really want to highlight fresh ,since many products are imported from chef lino's home.
a great variety of different dishes from pizza till a sea bass in salt crust.lino sauro the chef and owner knows what his guests want..also unique is their Sicilian wine selection which is part of there extensive wine list which is well taken care of sommelier Fabian.challenge him and ask for a wine pairing.we were spoiled by the team.really lovely restaurant.will be back soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank leugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
151 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Lovely set up, good but not enough food, too expensive”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Fort Canning is an oasis within Singapore. Close to the Orchard area, on the top of a green hill in colonial surroundings. A cool evening and a nice table on the terrace are the ingredients for a perfect start. Fabien rescued his colleage (whom had no menu knowledge) and guided us professionally through the menu and made a few suggestions.
We decided to go for 1 appetizer, 1 pasta and two main courses and split everything into two portions. The squid was nice and sufficient, the pasta and the two main courses were excellent in taste but very dissappointing in quantity which I would describe as "microscopic". The micro pasta portion with chanterelles Mushrooms was charged at 40SGD. Each of the fish portions were charged between 40 and 50SGD.
The chocolate mouse tasted very well and was sufficient. The coffee was good.
The check amounted to 210SGD (inclusive a bottle of water - no wine - no other drinks) and was discounted to 125SGD under the Amex Palate Program. We were happy to have discovered Fort Canning and Gattopardo and enjoyed the al fresco seating on a cool evening but after sharing 1 appetizer and finsishing 1 pasta and two main courses plus a dessert we left hungry and that should not be the case for 210SGD charge without wine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Rybremnazoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lin0saur0, Owner at Gattopardo Ristorante Di Mare, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Sir
thx so much for searching the time to share your experience at Gattopardo
i would like to share a couple of points with you as well if you don't mind
1) as you might know we are a Italian cuisine restaurant and in order to be authentic as our guest expecting, we want and we have to import the best quality seasonal ingredients ( i.e seafood and chantarelle this one around 70$ per kg) from Italy, europe etc. this effect a lot our mark up of the menu price especially are served as daily specials)
I want to highlight this point very strongly with you Sir , since 90% of the so called Italian restaurants in Singapore are using local ingredients and seafood but charging them as imported ones!
i really appreciate your feedback about the quality though !
but i don't understand the point since you benefits of almost 50% discount!

lino Sauro
lino@gattopardo.com.sg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gattopardo Ristorante Di Mare also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Gattopardo Ristorante Di Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing