We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap but not nasty” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 81 Lucky

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel 81 Lucky
Ranked #28 of 77 Singapore B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cheap but not nasty”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

Recently stayed at this property during a 12 hour layover in Singapore. I knew what to expect, as I had stayed at similar hotels previously.
Good choice for overnight stopover, as clean and for $50, you can't go wrong.
Plenty of ladies of the night in the street where its located, but they don't bother you unless you make contact. Also plenty of great places to eat in Geylang Road.
Would stay again if necessary to stopover in Singapore. Don't bring the kids though, suitable for single or couple only.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gringo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    23
    53
    20
    15
See reviews for
15
38
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

I booked this hotel as a 1 night stopover based on the price and reviews. Wasn't quite sure what to expect as many reviews made note of the red light district, however was pleasantly suprised.
After arriving late due to a delayed flight, our taxi driver took us straight there, no issue in regards to locating the hotel. The gentleman on reception was quite pleasant and offered us a free late check out due to our late arrival. The room was clean, however there was a strong cigarette smell, which was fixed somewhat by the air con. The bed was comfortable although the sheets seemed slightly too short, revealing a plastic covered mattress. The lack of shower curtain in the bathroom led to a very wet floor after showering but this dried quickish.
The next morning we had a walk around the area, and there were many places to eat and drink, with lots of local character. The MRT station is also quite close which made it a good base. For a cheap hotel I was pleasantly suprised.

Room Tip: Try for a non-smoking (if these exist)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jobiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

I did not know that the area (Geylang) was Prostitution Capital of Singapore when I booked the hotel. There were loads of women on the street, accosting me as a single male traveller, and I did not enjoy the experience. This hotel lets hookers in, so it's not a suitable hotel for tourists to use. The staff is not particularly nice, never saw anyone smile at the guests, and when I checked out there was suddenly an additional charge on my bill! They took it off, but it was never explained how it got there in the first place, so watch their charges carefully. I chose this hotel as it was near an MRT station, but now that I know Singapore better, I will never stay in Geylang again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank t a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

This place is about as cheap as we could find in Singapore (which is alot more than other parts of SE Asia).
We had heard that the area it is in is the red light district of Singapore but that it was safe enough and we didnt have much choice as most budget places are here.
When we arrived at the hotel it was pretty much what we expected, clean, small, simple, a bit dingy but what you would imagine for the price etc. The wifi is free and works well and you get a kettle to make tea and coffee which was nice.
The sheets are clean, if a little worn (some little holes but nothing to lose sleep over) and the bed was comfy enough.
We arrived in the morning and were allowed to check in early which we were very relieved about, the staff were friendly and helpful.
Going back to the location, we werent sure what to expect having heard about the red light district etc, but we were very pleasently surprised by Gaylang, it is a real mix of people, shops, restaurants, culture... the place has a buzz to it, in a really good way in my opinion.
In the day, you can see that the area is likely to be not the most upmarket, but you wouldnt know it was a RL district, and at night although this may become more apparent, it never seems to be a problem, people just do there thing and neither me nor my girlfriend felt uncomfortable or unsafe at any point. We walked around, shopped, ate and had a few drinks around the area at all different times of the day, from lunches in one of the many many 'hawlker stand' style eating areas (We tried many different dishes, were helped by locals when we didnt understand menus and never had a bad meal!) to beers at 11pm in these same places that become social hang outs in the evening!
Overall our stay in was a good one, we would stay in this hotel again, it is plenty good enough to rest your head, which is all you need while exploring Singapore, and we loved the location not just for Gaylang itself, but as it is near to the MRT and so easy to get around from.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeavinBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

Two twin HARD beds, breakfast was Okay, but get there early, the food is warmer. A good place to stay if you want just a bed, location was good.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minestering8x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

The hotel is located in Gaylang (they say it is the red light district of Singapore). But I guess the area is not that bad, still safe. You can find many affordable hotels in the area. Hotel 81 is just the right choice. The receptionist was accomodating. The room is clean, comfort room with complete toiletries. TV and free wifi. No good view from the windows though. The hotel is just a few blocks from the train station so going to and from the hotel is easy. For a budget hotel (esp in SG where everything is expensive), I think this one was actually worth it.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatriKarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasay, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

Real simple, budget hotel for travelers out there.

Recommendable for solo traveler who does not spend much on hotel and just need a near-decent place to rest.

I doubt to recommend for couple travelers, it might be not fun for two.

Bathroom is 2 out of 5 with traces of hard-to-clean dirt.

Wi-fi is available for a cost.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GBert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Palace
Hotel 81 - Palace
#237 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Star
Hotel 81 - Star
#146 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Princess
Hotel 81 - Princess
#241 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Gold
Hotel 81 - Gold
#257 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Geylang
Hotel 81 - Geylang
#190 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Orchid
Hotel 81 - Orchid
#258 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 81 Lucky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81 Lucky

Property: Hotel 81 Lucky
Address: 23 Lorong 20 Geylang, Singapore 398741, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Geylang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 Lucky 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 81 Lucky is located along Lorong 20 Geylang, served by Aljunied MRT station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel 81 Lucky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81 Lucky Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing