We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad sleep, not worth the money”
Review of Hotel 81 - Osaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel 81 - Osaka
Ranked #212 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in June 2013. Great location, but the rooms really weren't soundproof so I had trouble sleeping and am pretty sure I heard several late night liasons in great detail, the air conditioning didn't work properly on the second night, the rooms are tiny but that would be okay if there was a bedside table with a power point for charing your phone etc.

Basically, it's not worth the money.

If you do stay, try the Tiong Bahru Bakery down the road, fantastic coffee and pastries, and Strangers' Reunion around past the hospital is also fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 56 of 100 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2013

room was small..as space restricted..good to sleep fer a nite or two..great eateries arn..n cheap..a walk away to Chinatown..one tink fer sure...its QUIET...away fm noise...MRT juz minutes away...n u can go to the hospital canteen to eat too...make sure its not during peak hrs...

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sagi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile


Room is small... There is just a tv, bed and a small table... Toilet is so small and no shower curtain... Whenever you have a shower everything gets wet.. but the good thing is everything is clean from the lobby to the elevator to the room and toilet...

Thank Fritzgerald A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I booked for a Superior room at this hotel as it was one among few hotels around the Chinatown area that still had available rooms on the days my wife and I were to be in Singapore (March 29-April 1.) I was aware of the negative reviews about the hotel so I didn't expect too much. So when my wife checked in early (11 AM) we were lucky there was a room available! The room was clean,towels were new and our room (Rm. 419) had a window! There was only 1 complimentary bottle of drinking water and packets of coffee and tea for us. For the price I paid I wished they had given us two of each. The housekeeping was a bit sloppy as one of the cups still had coffee stains (from the previous occupant?) Front desk staff are not that chatty (except for Wesley?) There's a CHEERS convenience store next to the hotel where I bought water and snacks. Big plus is that Outram Park MRT Station is about 9-10 minutes away (depending on your pace.) When we were out late at Chinatown and there was no longer any MRT available we just walked to the hotel (about 15 minutes!) If you just need a place to rest at night,this one's OK.

Room Tip: There's a corner bakery just along Eng Hoon that serves freshly baked pastries and coffee. A bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank budjski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

For those looking for a clean, secure and cheap place to sleep in Singapore, this hotel is ideal. But if you want your hotel to add to your overall holiday experience, you should go somewhere else.

The rooms and bathrooms are very small, though scrupulously clean. There is a TV, a kettle and optional Internet access, and no other facilities whatsoever. Security is extremely good.

The location is unfashionable, but close to public transport.

I would recommend it to anyone who is not fussy about frills and luxuries, and plans to use the hotel as a place to sleep and no more.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CairnsDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

It's just ok for stint. The rooms and bathrooms are very compact. MRT is located at a walk able distance of 5 minutes. I could not find any good places to eat out over there.

Complimentary cabled internet is provided (but not wifi).

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bharath_Jaladi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The rooms here are tiny but functional. The beds have plastic coated mattresses which make you very hot and the A/C cannot be turned off which makes you very cold, so sleeping here is not an option! The management said "oh sorry about that" and looked away.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank PhilipNewport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
Park 22 Hotel
Park 22 Hotel
#284 of 319 in Singapore
209 reviews
Hotel 81 Selegie
#247 of 319 in Singapore
195 reviews
Fragrance Hotel - Royal
#214 of 319 in Singapore
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little India
Hotel 81 Rochor
Hotel 81 Rochor
#202 of 319 in Singapore
200 reviews
Little India
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
#148 of 319 in Singapore
296 reviews
Hotel 81-Bugis
#239 of 319 in Singapore
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 81 - Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81 - Osaka

Address: 1 Eng Hoon Street Hotel 81 - Osaka, Singapore 169753, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #212 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: $70 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 - Osaka 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 81 - Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81 - Osaka Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing