We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Recovery”
Review of Studio M Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Studio M Hotel
Ranked #122 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Cape Town
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Recovery”
Reviewed June 18, 2010

I have experienced some of the issues mentioned in the other reviews on this Hotel until...

I spoke to Management and my issues were resolved. Service at that level was outstanding! It's amazing what the hotel have done with the use of space in rooms. The public areas: pool, bar, restaurant all very good

Second time round--left very happy

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    791
    531
    185
    160
See reviews for
364
680
197
464
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Valletta, Malta
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2010

Not a bad location but the concept is weird - tiny rooms where you really have to be on good terms with your partner. DON'T bring a big suitcase - in fact for 2 of you, only bring one small one. The upstairs loft space is pretty much wasted. The washing facilities are tiny. Service is OK, but they are understaffed for what is going on.

If kids walk down the corridor, you can hear everything they say. I could even hear someone in an adjoining room (upstairs, next door, who knows?), coughing all night.

Put this well down on your list of choices.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianValletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2010

I stayed her with my husband, infant and inlaws for 4 nights. My in-laws thought the concept of the rooms was great and was perfect for their needs. We both had the premium lofts so a small lounge on the ground floor and bed upstairs.

Our main issue was that when we contacted the hotel about a cot we were told we would only find out if one was available when we arrived at the hotel which is no good. Where would the baby sleep if one is not available?

Lots of people have complained about the size of the toilet and shower room. The toilet was the perfect size for what we had to do in there and it was nice to have a wet room rather than a shower. There is a bench in the shower which is good as I could sit the baby on my knee to wash her and not worry about her slipping.

There are definately a few teething issues for the hote which I am sure will be sorted out in the coming months, mainly to do with house keeping, not the cleaning which we could not fault but things like leaving us with no toilet roll and forgetting to replace tea and coffee. However on our floor the store room was left open every day so we could help ourselves.

We did get a fantastic deal as we booked before the hotel was opened so we got great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCollies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StudioMGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Studio M Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2010
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you've enjoyed your experience at Studio M.

We have noted your concerns with baby cots and these requests are based on availability during check-in due to limited units available.

As a safety advice, we recommend children aged 12 years and above. Sofa beds, available in most rooms, may be set up whenever a request is made.

Thank you for your understanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Singapore is a small city, so once you hop on the train; it only takes some minutes for the main places for tourists. If you are a business and just staying around Clarke Quay then this might be good. But if you are new in town, just stay at City Hall area. 20minutes to the station and the staff can’t point out the destination. Rooms are tiny like Hamster cages, new hotel good in design. No windows to open, so the smell of the paint is staying with you together. It will take months for the smell to run.
The pool, Gym, Café, Restaurant, and garden are in the same open area so you will have no privacy. You will see that when having breakfast.
Breakfast is nothing special, with small amount to choose, its in the open area, so by the time of 7:00am the butter and cheese are melting, along with brown salad leafs.
The rooms are very small for every one, the internet doesn’t work. I saw a photo of a 3 person group staying together…..HOW DO THEY GO INSIDE?
The midnight staffs are really good. I think the qualified staff who can handle anything by their own is shifted to midnight. The daytime staffs have no skills.
If you have travelled frequently and slept in great places, then Studio M is not for you.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MZTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Booked the Studio Loft. Room is very small, once you walk in you will see the bed. Not more than 10 steps to the bed. Toilet and shower stall is also restrictive and tiny, not for European or US travellers. For a new hotel, the door to the shower stall was damaged. The space saving room reminds me of the budget hotels in Tokyo where amenities are minimal. Only 3 pathetic bottles of shower gel, shampoo and conditioner, nothing in the minibar fridge & washing sink is outside from the toilet and shower stall, nowhere to hang the towel in the shower stall. There were dust on the round lamp. The study area can double up as an extra sleeping area when you pull the sofa out to form a rather awkward bed. This would make an ideal bedroom for a single, but not so ideal for a hotel room for more than 2 persons. More suitable for the typical single business traveller who does not need much space.

Pool area is nice, but pool is very small and easily overcrowded. plenty of deck chairs for people to sun bath and people watching. 1.2m in depth and 25m in length. There were more people talking about how nice the Gallery Hotel's pool than actually using the hotel's pool because it is so small. Breakfast was also a letdown

Service was extremely disappointing. Check-in took longer than it should, most of the time spent on waiting. Housekeeping took more than half an hour to deliver towels. Staff were very unhelpful when asked whether there was a iPhone charger or iPhone docking for charging the phone. They seems to be biased against Singaporeans staying over the weekend for staycation.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eelayel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2010

the hardware is super nice and impressive except the soft part of the hotel; the staff was not responsive to our needs and it took forever for them to bring me an extra pair of slippers. after our check-out, the hotel staff just ignored us and we had to carry our on luggage.....

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macauaznchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2010

here i am at studio m right now, awaiting the late check-out at 1pm.

we are staying here for a night only, trying out this new property for the long weekend.

we booked a premier loft room - queen bed upstairs of duplex.

we booked it on thursday 27 may late afternoon and i read some reviews the following late night, just hours before checking in.

on 29 may afternoon, we hopped onto taxis to get to nanson road. just tell the driver it's opposite gallery hotel if he doesn't know where studio m or nanson road is. heard from a driver that quite a number of ppl are coming to this property though.

since i heard studio m is facing 101% occupancy on 28 may night, then i expected the crowd at the front desk. it remained busy throughout the times we saw it - going out on 29 may afternoon, coming back a little while later, going out at evening, coming back at night, going out late night at 11plus (some ppl were checking in), coming back and just earlier when we were just done with breakfast and a little tour.

the ROOM - premier loft - really ain't as bad as what i was expecting. space is not where you're gonna find your money's worth - efficiency of space / soho chic is the concept here. "think tokyo hotel" says another review - agree.

everything is planned for max usage and just nice. NOT recommended for family of more than 3. well, there is a sofa bed for the child if you are willing. might be too dangerous for another kid to share bed at the top. queen bed a just a nice fit for 1 or 2 at most.

this room is perfect for a solo traveller or couples. will upload pictures when i get on the laptop for room illustration.

the bed is nice for rest and sleep - loft, clean and comfortable. waking up on it made me feel refreshed and LAZY to go for breakfast. still, had the energy to go check out the breakfast.

BREAKFAST is a small spread. it's open air and hence, will definitely be warm for guests in long sleeves! pity. if it's windy, it's good. however, not all the time with Singapore's hot / hot and wet kind of weather. what if it rains and wind blows strongly?

food kept running out but refill comes rather quickly. there were salad, egg station, confectionary, coffee / tea station (self-service!), juices, cereal, sausages, bacon, breakfast ham, baked beans, hashbrown, teriyaki chicken, miso soup and japanese rice. really nothing extraordinary yeah? there was a tall friendly and enthusiastic
young server though. indian egg station master was nice and friendly too. the omelette wasn't fantastic.

basically, breakfast (@ take), cabana, open-air gym, pools and chill area were all at level 2. nice.

our room 330 was nightly perched atop such a view. nice.

location is also good for some tranquility - away from busy orchard but nearby the quays where some fab bars, restaurants and nightlife are. if u happen to go to LIANG COURT, do check out the tampopo deli at the basement. AWESOME CREAM PUFFS! also nice to stock up some snacks from meidiya - japanese supermarket. love it! it's an expat area here in singapore.

we also tried other hotels in singapore and find that this is worth a try - different concept for 20s-40s provided price is quite right. try a travel agency for good rates with bf ;)

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank immerz28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
M Social Singapore
M Social Singapore
#133 of 312 in Singapore
198 reviews
M Hotel Singapore
#77 of 312 in Singapore
1,510 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#49 of 312 in Singapore
3,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel G Singapore
#68 of 312 in Singapore
565 reviews
Hotel Boss
#150 of 312 in Singapore
1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studio M Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studio M Hotel

Property: Studio M Hotel
Address: No. 3 Nanson Road, Singapore 238910, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#97 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Studio M Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studio M Hotel Singapore exudes avant-garde style and class in its offer of a great business stay or leisure getaway in the iconic entertainment precinct of Robertson Quay. Designed by Italian style maestro and architect, Piero Lissoni, it is the first fully loft-inspired Singapore hotel that also occupies a prime location in the city, within easy reach of both the Central Business District and the world famous Orchard Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Studio M Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studio M Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing