We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“compact room with high ceilings”
Review of Studio M Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Studio M Hotel
Ranked #122 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Toronto, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“compact room with high ceilings”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The room itself was rather small but the high ceilings and loft portion make it better. Toilet was in a tiny room and shower another small room with sink outside. We only stayed one night and left extra early typo catch our flight but the pool area looked nice... Bed was comfy, but was only a double? And sheets weren't even tucked in only on top of bed.
Overall for what we needed it was good, would stay again. Located in Robertson Quay area; a bit far from metro

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TdotGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StudioMHotel, Hotel Management at Studio M Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear TdotGal

Thank you for your feedback and it’s great to know that you have an excellent stay experience at the Studio M Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    789
    531
    183
    160
See reviews for
363
678
196
463
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
essex, england
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Having read so many reviews, I still wasn't prepared for how small the rooms were on arrival - HOWEVER! Our room had the bed on the lower floor which allowed us to use the loft area for cases, clothes and stuff, leaving the living area clear.

The bed was really comfortable and we stayed 4 nights which allowed us to use the hotel as a great base for exploring the city, then a nice pool area to relax around in the afternoon.

The room facilities are fine, with everything you would expect. The toilet and shower area can be sealed off by pulling a dividing door across therefore allowing full privacy. We didn't discover this until day 2 and after reading previous reviews, possibly those had not realised this. The toilet was a little on the small size, however I didnt find it an issue and the shower was hot with good pressure.

If you are room only as we were, there are many options for meals at any time of the day nearby as you are only a moments walk from Clarke Quay. There is also a perfectly adequate coffee shop in the hotel which serves decent coffee and croissants.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay at Studio M and would recommend it as somewhere different to stay. Enjoy it for what it is!

Room Tip: We had requested the bed in the loft area, however, on arrival we had rooms with the bed downstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyboylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StudioMHotel, Hotel Management at Studio M Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear flyboylee,

Thank you for sharing with us your good review. It is nice to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and would recommend the Studio M Hotel as a unique accommodation option. We hope to be your preferred hotel in Singapore and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumee, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stayed at Studio M for 12 weeks and I loved it there in terms of price, ambiance, experience and food. My room was priced at SGD 200 (Inclusive of SGD 25). It is at least SGD 25-40 cheaper than the hotels nearby. The employees are very friendly and polite. The best part about Studio M is the loft-type rooms. The room design is different (2 floor room) from a normal hotel room. The room is small, but just perfect for 1 person. The decor is also very good. The windows are huge. The pool and cabana area is good, but not very big (unlike the one at Park Hotel, Clarke Quay). There are countless restaurants nearby and the hotel is a 15 minute walk to Clarke Quay MRT. The breakfast at 'Take' faces the pool area and starts at 6.30 a.m (which is a drawback, since many hotels start breakfast at 6.00 a.m for office-goers). But, the food quality and quantity is pretty good. They serve both hot and cold food. We can also get points for our stay at Studio M. A lot of hotels like Park Hotel do not even have a reward/point system, which sucks. I would highly recommend Studio M for travelers who embrace change. Thank you Studio M.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 9th floor are for extended stays. I had a room at the corner and my internet connec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swathy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StudioMHotel, Hotel Management at Studio M Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Swathy I,

Thank you very much for your feedback and compliments. It is most delightful to know that you had an awesome stay experience with us; especially that you fancy the loft design, hotel location and breakfast spread. We are glad to know that the Studio M Hotel rewards is beneficial and thank you for your recommendation. We look forward welcoming you back and being of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I really enjoyed this hotel. It was exactly what I expected it to be - a design hotel with a twist. I agree that in some ways the studios are impractical but for a couple of days on a stopover they were a great novelty. I enjoyed kicking back in the window with a book and the bed was supremely comfortable.

The outdoor breakfast area was great, ditto the pool. Studio M is not that close to public transport but an easy and very pleasant walk along the River will get you anywhere (particularly nice at night with quaint bars and restaurants). Very handy walking to Clarke or Boat Quay.

At S$150 this was a steal!

Room Tip: Understand that it is a small duplex - an unsual design but really comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thekeystotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StudioMHotel, Hotel Management at Studio M Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear thekeystotravel,

We thank you for your feedback and glad to know that you enjoyed the hospitality from the hotel. We hope to welcome you back for another wonderful stay experience soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Small duplex level rooms with steel frame staircase to upper level (more on that later). The bed is upstairs and the Incredibly small toilet room (where my knees hit the facing wall when sitting down) is downstairs.

The room had a pretty bad smell of staleness and didn't improve with the aircon running. Shower cubicle and toilet room had mold / mildew. Lack of attention to detail from cleaning staff.

Maybe it has something to do with the thickness (or thinness!!!) of the walls but almost every cough, laugh, conversation can be heard from the room next door. The steel frame staircase also makes every step on it be heard from next door which is definitely not conducive to a good nights rest.

The passageways that connect the elevators to the rooms on either side are very poorly lit and not very wide probably to cram as many rooms into this building as possible.

As a frequent traveller to Singapore I very much doubt I'll be returning to this hotel very soon as there are many better traditional style hotels around for the same kind of price range without the need for stairs in the rooms.

All in all, the main function of a hotel is place to have a good nights sleep and this hotel didn't live up to those expectations.

Best avoided.

Good points? - Attentive staff.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bush_Wacker74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StudioMHotel, Hotel Management at Studio M Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Bush_Wacker74,

Thank you and we have taken note of your valuable feedback. We hope to restore your faith in us in the near future and look forward to another opportunity for us to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Pokhara, Nepal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Hi. We have recently booked a stay for 2 at Studio M Hotel under the Surreal Deal package, which states on the hotel' official website that it "includes daily breakfast". When we got the confirmation we found that one of us is going to be hungry! The deal includes only one breakfast.
I believe this is misleading advertising -- apart from being shocking hotel policy.
we queried it with the hotel and were told the second breakfast would cost an additional sum.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StudioMHotel, Hotel Management at Studio M Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Vdm10,

Thank you very much for highlighting your concern. We will look into the program and ensure our interpretation of the benefits is clear and not misleading. Please feel free to contact us at enquiry@studiomhotel.com and we will follow up with you henceforth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

I saw this hotel on the Internet and decided to give it a try cause looks nice and different and I was pleased with the photo I saw on tripadvisor . I didn't had any reservation do I went in to check in and at first they asked me 350++ which I think it's a bit too much I could stay at a 5 star hotel for this money but when I wanted to leave I was offered another offer for 200++ I he would book it for me in the Internet I took the offert an stayed in for one night but it just don't seem right such a huge difference of price for walk in and somehow tricky . Rooms were nice clean and everything was great , location ... not as great so i could pay 250-275++ but not more than that its 4**** people .
Anyway that was my downturn the rest would be perfect so work on that shouldn't be that hard

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vdm10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
M Social Singapore
M Social Singapore
#133 of 312 in Singapore
196 reviews
M Hotel Singapore
#77 of 312 in Singapore
1,499 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#49 of 312 in Singapore
3,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel G Singapore
#66 of 312 in Singapore
550 reviews
Hotel Boss
#148 of 312 in Singapore
1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studio M Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studio M Hotel

Property: Studio M Hotel
Address: No. 3 Nanson Road, Singapore 238910, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#97 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Studio M Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studio M Hotel Singapore exudes avant-garde style and class in its offer of a great business stay or leisure getaway in the iconic entertainment precinct of Robertson Quay. Designed by Italian style maestro and architect, Piero Lissoni, it is the first fully loft-inspired Singapore hotel that also occupies a prime location in the city, within easy reach of both the Central Business District and the world famous Orchard Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Studio M Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studio M Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing