We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal”
Review of Studio M Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Studio M Hotel
Ranked #122 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Ideal”
Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights after a cruise that finish in Singapore, we found the location to be ideal, one minute walk to the river and a ten minute stroll to Clarkes Quay, also if you cross the bridge near to the hotel and take a right, the hop on/off sightseeing bus stops outside the Mirimar Hotel.
Alcohol prices in Clarkes Quay are astronomical, you do need to shop around $18 Singapore dollars for a pint of Heineken, that's about £9.00...ouch.
Drinks in Chinatown are better value.
The swimming pool is a good size and the patio area is nice but underused by hotel guests, free wifi throughout the hotel, taxis are always at the hotel and are very cheap in comparison to UK prices, they also take debit and credit cards.
The rooms are relatively small and you will live out of your suitcase as there is very little space to put anything away, the beds are comfy and the hotel is very quiet so you will get a good nights sleep.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John4634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    790
    531
    185
    160
See reviews for
364
680
197
463
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
calgary
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Booked a 3 day leisure trip to Singapore - found this hotel to be well priced based on my web search. Overall, i was very pleased with the choice. the rooms are small, but unique. The bathroom is tiny and slightly impractical (but i knew that in advance prior to my arrival based on tripadvisor reviews). Rooms were clean,wifi is free! (big + since many hotels charged) and location is very good - the only downside is that the MRT is about a 15 minute walk HOWEVER, its a very pleasant walk along a pedestrian walkway lined with restaurants and cafes. made the walk more tolerable. Didn't use the pool or workout area but both appeared to be very nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandhuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This was my first trip to Singapore so I cannot compare Studio M with other hotels in the city.
However hotel didn't disappoint at all. Located near Robertson Quay and very close to Clarke Quay and there are fine restaurants right in front of the hotel too (Oyster Bar, Dim Sum pub etc) alongside the canal so you cannot wish for a better location. Hotel serves nice cofffee and offers street tables till late too.
Reception is a bit small and a bit too cold to my liking but service efficient and friendly.
Rooms were described many times here on Tripadvisor, we were told we got an upgrade but room was still small yet substantial for our three nights stay.
I didn't have a chance to hang my robes for the fortcoming wedding and also struggled placing hand towels and wet stuff from the gym but used the glass wall upstairs at the end.
I missed music/radio, TV was upstairs but we played music via computers. Wifi worked fine.
Gym was pleasant and I liked the pool and open air lounge by the pool.
Overal we liked the hotel very much, nice interier design sometimes a bit less practical but we will be back to explore more of this interesting city/country.

Room Tip: Check the size of the room if you have lots of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland, ohio, USA
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Extremely good location near Robertson Quay with its fine selection of restaurants and bars. Clarke Quay is only a five minute walk and has an even better selection of activities. There is ample walking along the water and at the same time you have a feel of being in the city.
There is a 24 hour restaurant that stays active, the second floor has a nice long lap pool and open air lounge chairs. The gym is right near the pool and has a 'universal' weight machine and a few gliders and a rowing machine.
The only negative is the room size. Mind was a loft room and not even the smallest size yet both the bath and shower were each only about 3' by 4', on either side of the door.
The desk is quite good though and I had a big window looking out on the city. Room service
was quite good, even at 2am.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whippoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We were staying for 3 days 2 nights at your hotel as a weekend getaway for us and the main purpose is to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday. We came across this hotel from a friend of ours and decided to give it a try. When we reach the hotel lobby, we were greeted by a warm smile from the receptionist - Mr Wee Hong (if I'm not mistaken) - who also coincidentally checked-us out as well. We were briefed about our entitlement and the facilities in the hotel clearly. The check-out process was fast & efficient.

The best part is when we entered the room, we were dazed by the simplicity yet creative designs of the room. Instantly we fell in love with the room. There was this one flight of stairs up to the bed and the bed is soooo comfortable. The bathroom amenities are simple and complete. However, the bathroom and toilet are a bit way too small, but overall was clean and nice. There is this large window which overlooked the city which I like the style of it.

Our reservation was inclusive of breakfast. The buffet breakfast served on the 2nd floor with a semi open space which I totally like it. The area is just next to the pool (we do not have a chance to dip in it as we forgot our swimming wears) and the relaxing lounge. There is not much of the choices for breakfast but it is enough for us and the breakfast is very nice. There are also 2 chefs who will cook your special omelette for you - fresh, hot & out of the pan! Around midnight, after we came back from my boyfriend's birthday celebration, we were kinda hungry so we ordered a Beef Lasagna which came to our doorstep in around 10 mins! It was yummy as well.

When we were

However, there is just this small issue which we were woken up by a call from the staff to ask about our check-out time on our 2nd day which is not right as we have reserved for 3 days 2 nights under 2 separate reservations which has been confirmed upon check-in. A piece of advise as well, the night telephone operator needs to be slightly patience before transfer our call & improve in standard verbiage.

Apart from the small issue, everything was perfect for short trip to Studio M. We have no regret and will definitely stay there again as we LOVE your room (especially my boyfriend who has not stop thinking & talking about it)!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovejumba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Booked the hotel for a two day holiday with my daughter. price wise it was very reasonable to there was hardly room to swing a cat in the room. There was no sink in the toilet room, instead the sink was in the main part of the bedroom, not at all hygenic. There was no floor space on the bottom floor to store our luggage, had to take that to the top floor of the loft.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
Didn't rate the breakfast much (very basic)
Apologies for being negative about the hotel but I give praise were it is due, shame it wasn't due in this case....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brymills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The room looks cool at first, townhouse style with the bed above the living area. But it's a pain if you need to visit the toilet in the middle of the night. And the toilet room is very small! However, the bed was very comfortable. I traveled without a smart phone or laptop, so I needed the public computers. Two on the second floor by the breakfast buffet, and one in the lobby. They were never busy, and the lobby computer presented no problems. However, the 2nd floor computers required a front desk person to sign in before use. The buffet hostess does not offer to call them, but will if you request it, saving a trip to the lobby. The computers are set up so you can't sit while using them. It was very difficult to turn on the light above the sink. Apparently one must have one of the switches by the bed, the master switch by the door, and one of the main area switches all in the correct position. None of the other lights presented difficulties. Compared to other Asian hotels, overall I did not find the room particularly small. The location is great, on the Singapore River, with many restaurants along the river only a short distance away. The breakfast buffet is good, although it is semi outside with no air conditioning. Find a food court for lunch or dinner. That's where the Singaporians eat, the cost is 20 -25% of the restaurants and the food is equal or better. However, no ambiance!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1000Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
M Social Singapore
M Social Singapore
#133 of 312 in Singapore
196 reviews
M Hotel Singapore
#77 of 312 in Singapore
1,508 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#49 of 312 in Singapore
3,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel G Singapore
#68 of 312 in Singapore
562 reviews
Hotel Boss
#150 of 312 in Singapore
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studio M Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studio M Hotel

Property: Studio M Hotel
Address: No. 3 Nanson Road, Singapore 238910, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#97 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Studio M Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studio M Hotel Singapore exudes avant-garde style and class in its offer of a great business stay or leisure getaway in the iconic entertainment precinct of Robertson Quay. Designed by Italian style maestro and architect, Piero Lissoni, it is the first fully loft-inspired Singapore hotel that also occupies a prime location in the city, within easy reach of both the Central Business District and the world famous Orchard Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Studio M Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studio M Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing