We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Happy”
Review of Studio M Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Studio M Hotel
Ranked #286 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This was a very good base to have in singapore, clean tidy modern, and everything easy to get to walking or using the MRT. Would recommend this hotel to all my friends and family and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bubbaopos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,462)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,776 - 1,782 of 2,462 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

Trendy lobby sets a stylish welcome to this well located hotel. Walking across the glass sided "skybridge" to get to my 9th floor loft was a cool experience in daytime or nighttime. So, my bed was on the lower level with an office area upstairs if you dared venture up the stairs. I had a massive glass wall with great views over Singapore, quite unique really. As stated in other reviews, the toilet and shower room are split, with a sink in the main area - why they did this I have no idea at all? I had no musty smell in my room, but I can imagine that water spilling out of the shower room presents a real problem and a headache for the cleaning staff. My shower door was pretty much swollen up from all the water running down it, but you could still pull it closed. This hotel will cause split opinions. I loved it, but I wouldn't send my parents here. If you want something a little unusual, not too worried about space and like a nice comfy bed and great premium cable tv channels & free wi-fi then go for it. Conventional it is not, but who needs that? I would still stay here again. You'll have to make up your own mind.

Room Tip: 9th floor was awesome for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe_90_Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The star is for the free wifi by the way, which is ok a lot of the time,
but which also has a habit of logging you out without warning, so switch off your phone's data roaming if you don't want to to be caught out.

Sorry but I can't remember feeling more depressed in a hotel than this, and it price is on a par with top class Singapore hotels like the Fairmont and Swissotel.

You will have read about the radical room design. Split level, bed down desk and sofa up. Problem is there is no space down for anything but the bed, and in a hotel that's where you tend to stay. The upper area is poky and unattractive, like the tiny forgotten corner of the home you neglected, no tv and nothing at all to commend it. The view is of other cells. And the damp smell. I discovered where it was coming from when i unfolded the sofa bed, and the immediate response was one of choking nausea. I guess this is because the sink is in the main room just under the sofa bed area and the damp air is heading straight upwards. The overall feeling is of claustrophobia and isolation, like a tiny prison cell with no space to pace. The isolation is enhanced by the fact that the location is a long long way from mrt stations so taxi or car are the main options. This area of Robertson quay is also pretty quiet, with a few upmarket restaurants or bars. The nearest supermarket is in ue2 about 10 minutes walk away. No feeling of the great city of Singapore when you walk out the door.

The clientele here appear to be hip and trendy young things with pointy hair and sharp shoes. Someone mentioned elves in another review. Now there's a thought. There is this strange sensation that you have landed in a far off place, with no way home. The reception desk in the tiny lobby is like something out of a discount version of star trek. The pool is small and rectangular without atmosphere or view. Ditto the gym. There are few facilities. Weird. I don't dislike modern hotels. I spend much of my life in them these days, and what they need to do is create a welcome feeling that makes you sad when you check out. This place is an unmitigated disaster, trendiness for the sake of it.

Sorry, as I said its all a matter of taste. Millenium, what were you thinking?

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank sad_koala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed here for two weeks whilst working in our Singapore office. I was quite happy with this hotel booked through laterooms.com. On arrival I was shown to my room and given information about the local area, I did initially think the room smelled a little musty but I either got used to it or realised that Singapore can get a bit sweaty and this was just a consequence of the climate. The wifi details I was given on arrival did not work but reception gave me an alternative when I called to notify them. There is a bus stop nearby but the closest MRT stop is a mission away which I'd warn you about if this is how you plan to travel. There is a good selection of restaurants nearby on the river and Chinatown is also only a 15 minute walk away. The breakfast in the morning was good with bacon, ham, cerials, bakery and juices all available in a buffet. I also used the gym which was basic but had what I needed whilst the pool was nice to cool down in. The room was cleaned every day and laundry service offered. I'd have no issues if I had to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Our first time in Singapore and on arrival at the hotel at 8.30am being told we couldn't check in till 2.00pm but they were brill and got a room sorted for us by 11. (gave us time to go for a walk around the area.
We didn't eat in the hotel, but had a cake and glass of wine in the coffee shop and they were rather nice. all be it expensive
The room is small i have to say and the bed is against the wall on 2 sides which isn't ideal. the Air con is good i have to say and needed. The swimming pool area is really nice with some nice views of the city. and some shade which at some point is needed.
The hotel is in a great area loads of bars and places to eat (hannibles is just the best)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri_pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Ideally located next to several restaurants, pubs, night life and other tourist attractions. A very decent hotel with friendly and co-operative staff.The room, WC and shower space are a bit crammed especially for tall persons. The bed on the loft with limited head room may not be liked by many. Hotel has standard good and decent facility. Nearest MRT is 10 minutes walk. Taxis are available from the hotel. Due to formula 1 race, the hotel rates were very high during our 3 days stay.

Room Tip: For tall persons the crammed room, WC, Shower and bed in the loft may not be such a good idea when c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is my second time stayed at Studio M. I love the neighborhood and the unique concept (loft concept).

Well, rooms are small, but they know how to make it look more spacious.
Very nice area, quiet but lots of bars and restaurants nearby. I found a Japanese bar that sells a wide range of sake near hotel.

I recommend this hotel but not for families.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dheedey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
M Social Singapore
M Social Singapore
#93 of 319 in Singapore
601 reviews
M Hotel Singapore
#117 of 319 in Singapore
1,786 reviews
Orchard Road
YOTEL Singapore
YOTEL Singapore
#51 of 319 in Singapore
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studio M Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studio M Hotel

Address: No. 3 Nanson Road, Singapore 238910, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#117 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $114 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Studio M Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studio M Hotel Singapore exudes avant-garde style and class in its offer of a great business stay or leisure getaway in the iconic entertainment precinct of Robertson Quay. Designed by Italian style maestro and architect, Piero Lissoni, it is the first fully loft-inspired Singapore hotel that also occupies a prime location in the city, within easy reach of both the Central Business District and the world famous Orchard Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Studio M Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studio M Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing