We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pretty good hotel”
Review of Studio M Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Studio M Hotel
Ranked #122 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Bellevue, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A pretty good hotel”
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Studio M is a hotel situated in a weird location in Singapore, sort of near Quay area and sandwiched between Chinatown and River. The hotel is exceptionally modern with a hip, all-white plastic lobby. It's very narrow lobby making it slightly uncomfortable when a lot of people are checking in/out. The room was very tall and narrow with massive floor-to-ceiling windows -- these were cool. The bathroom and sitting area are located on entry level and the bed is situated in the loft. Not very convenient for jet-lagged, weary business traveler. More importantly, a true desk was non-existent and the bathroom absolutely tiny. (It's the smallest bathroom I've ever seen in a modern business hotel.) All in all, Studio M is ok and you won't hate it if you're on business travel. If you're solo or hip, you will probably love it. I don't recommend it for families at all.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    791
    531
    186
    160
See reviews for
364
681
197
464
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

My kid loved the bed:))) as he just fell asleep whenever we were back in our room. And we were able to find nice South Indian food within a few metres of our hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parvez S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

So looking at the photos of the Studio M hotel, I was enticed to give the place a try - I figured the concept of a loft in an alleged trendy area would unduly compliment my transition to a full fledged metrosexual. I mean I had the tight pants and a pair of trendy RayBan wayfarers going for me. But honestly, the Studio M hotel leaves much to be desired.

About the Studio M hotel:

- The shower area is like an enclosed box and I couldn't detect ventilation. If you're tall, then you will feel cramped. Without ventilation,it's humid, so the usual suspects of soap scum and browish/greenish mold is highly visible. So do the uncool thing and bring some shower flip flops.

- The pool area houses a bar/"cool" hangout place, complete with nightly BLASTING music. Even after repeated phone calls to the front desk, the noise issues will not be solved, the bass beat noise will make it hard for you to sleep.

- Try calling front desk ( there's no direct housekeeping line) for service, and your phone will get automatically cut off at times. I suspect that if too many people call and no one answers, the system just cuts you off to discourage you from calling.

- The Airconditioning opening is very close to the bed, so with the aircon on ( you have no choice, it's Singapore, you don't turn the ac off when it's 30 degrees outside ) , your face and head will be greeted with cool breezes all night. So your face will be perpetually cold. I guess Eskimos would feel right at home.

- Location - it's a good location with nice restuarants and bars close by if that's your gig. Beware though, if you have early morning meetings at 9AM, then you may encounter long lines in the lobby for taxis, as they are hard to come by. Over the years, it's been harder and harder to get or call for taxis because the pSingapore is booming with tourists and business people. Second of all, the location of the hotel doesn't help when it comes taxis.

Finally - with the premier loft, the bed is on the 'second' floor of the room. So if you need to go the bathroom in the middle of the night, you will have to navigate down a set of narrow stairs. Make sure you avoid getting drunk or partying too hard before going to bed. Only a hip high glass divider separates you and a skull cracking 14 foot fall.

So I'd say with the many choices in Singaore, you can definitely skip this one.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VitaminM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

London
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

While trying this hotel a few times, I have realised that while it looks bright, airy and trendy, the loft stairs to the bed is not for me, albeit that I am still quite capable of going up and down stairs, it is just a headache in the middle of the night.

That said, it is in a great location for bars and restaurants and the staff are very pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMFTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

My sister and i choose to stay here because it was recommended by a friend since we wanted a hotel nearby Clarke Quay. We had booked in another hotel but now needed an extra night stay. Since it was last minute planning, i didn't have to time to check with Tripadvisor like i always do. From the hotel's glossy website, we thought it looked alright and so we made the booking. For the price we paid, i wished now that i would have read the reviews beforehand.

I don't want to sound like a broken record but the hotel is as what they say. The good is that it is an interesting modern concept which is great for travellers in search of something different. Besides that location was good as it was a nice leisurely walking distance to Clarke Quay/Roberston Quay. Breakfast was just alright and al fresco.

And yes, rooms are unusual and it is indeed a loft with split level floors. Although it may seem spacious at first because of huge windows giving it an airy feeling, the design and layout of the room was just awfully awkward after a while. The upstairs of the loft had a sofa and a writing desk which was just redundant. Hate the tiny shower room (bad if your are claustrophobic) while their sink was outside in the room underneath the stairs.

Service was substandard and as mentioned, be prepared to wait long to be checked-in. Noticed that there were many other travellers waiting around too and there was a whole pile of luggage bags laying in the corner of the lobby as the hotel has no place to store them.

It was fortunate that we were staying only for one night and was glad to move to our original hotel booking which was for Marriott Hotel at Orchard Road. Well to say the least, the stay was neither pleasant or was horrible but i wouldn't pay again to stay there.

Room Tip: The rooms are great for solo travellers but not for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pyng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2011

I decided to check out this hotel for a weekend getaway by myself as it looks interesting with its loft design and great location. Bad first impression upon check-in as the check-in desk was circular and there were people just milling around with no staff to direct people where to go.
I arrived at 5pm and was told that my room was not ready?! The staff offered to direct me to the coffeehouse to have a coffee on them while I wait but I declined as I needed to get ready for a dinner appointment and requested to have my room asap.
Finally got a room at 530pm and when I requested for late checkout was told that best they could do is 1pm. When I got to my room, the door was opened and was still being cleaned. Definitely a bad start. 10mins after, my phone rang and front desk asked if I just checked in and what was my name!
Room was nice and clean though small and definitely would be a squeeze if you have big luggage. The loft design with high ceiling and windows give you a great view and feels very cosy. Nice open deck on the second level with plenty of small areas to chill with friends.
Went down to the coffeehouse the next day for takeaway. Apart from being charged service charge and tax, I had to request for my cutlery. To add insult to injury, I was charged wrongly and I had to go back later to get a refund. Pfffff.
All in all, an ok hotel in a great location if space and service are not your priorities.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RestlessFeet0204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

The location of this hotel is excellent, right on the river with excellent restaurants and nightlife very close by. The pool is adequate and breakfast excellent. The only downside is that the windows in the bedroom do not open and there was a smell of body odour as a result in our room. 9th floor is very quiet and has great views

Room Tip: 9th floor has best rooms with bed downstairs and more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBugEnnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
M Social Singapore
M Social Singapore
#132 of 312 in Singapore
198 reviews
M Hotel Singapore
#78 of 312 in Singapore
1,510 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#50 of 312 in Singapore
3,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel G Singapore
#68 of 312 in Singapore
568 reviews
Hotel Boss
#148 of 312 in Singapore
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studio M Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studio M Hotel

Property: Studio M Hotel
Address: No. 3 Nanson Road, Singapore 238910, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#97 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Studio M Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studio M Hotel Singapore exudes avant-garde style and class in its offer of a great business stay or leisure getaway in the iconic entertainment precinct of Robertson Quay. Designed by Italian style maestro and architect, Piero Lissoni, it is the first fully loft-inspired Singapore hotel that also occupies a prime location in the city, within easy reach of both the Central Business District and the world famous Orchard Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Studio M Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studio M Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing