We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay, recommended.”
Review of Studio M Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Studio M Hotel
Ranked #290 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We stayed 7 nights here and was a little worried by some of the reviews. Fortunately we were pleasantly surprised. The rooms are very small and compact but very well designed. There was plenty of storage space with pull out draws under the bed, cabinets for toiletries and the whole upstairs for suitcases to be stored.

The location is excellent - it is located at the quieter end of Clarke Quay but a 5 minute walk and you're in the hustle and bustle with more cafes and restaurants than you could hope for. The MRT was a 10 minute walk at a leisurely pace and it's a lovely walk alongside the quay. it is well hidden in the Central Mall so make sure you ask someone first.

We didn't have much to do with the staff but any encounter was met with politeness and friendliness.

Pool is a good size and a well equipped gym, plus free wifi and free access to several macs located around the hotel.

All in all it was excellent valuer for money and in our opinion a much better place to stay than Orchard Road, we will definitely consider staying there again if we are back in Singapore.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglishGirlinBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,924 - 1,930 of 2,356 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2011

The room is a bit small but I felt well designed with a separate shower room and toilet. There are a few drawers to put things, a safe but there are no wardrobes. Just an open rail with about 4 hangers.

The room has an upstairs with a sofa bed and a workdesk. I only used it as somewhere to store my suitcase. The bed is comfortable and I slept well. There are some basic toilitries provided.

The swimming pool is nice and refreshing and the gym has sufficient cardio and weight machines. The whole design is very modern and pleasing.

Tea and coffee provided in the room. There is free wifi throughout the hotel which generally works OK but at times in the evening it was very difficult to logon - probably too many users.

There is a cafe on the ground floor which is Ok but a bit overpriced.
The hotel is a little bit out of the way and about a 10-15 minute stroll along the river to Clarke Quay MRT. But the walk is lovely! Just go down to the river and turn left for a pleasant walk. Taxis are generally cheap when taken at off peak periods. The hotel is also about a 20 minute walk to Orchard Road for shopping.

Despite other complaints about staff I had no problems. All were courteous and helpful. Would consider staying here again as the price is quite reasonable for Singapore and is clean!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrrfrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We stayed here from July 3rd until the 7th. We had 2 rooms for 4 adults and 1 child. The studio concept was quirky and reception staff were very accommodating and friendly. Price was excellent by Singapore standards and definitely value for money. Highly recommend, but be warned the stairs between the loft floors may not be for everyone.

Room Tip: Ask reception for the best transport routes as they are very knowledgeable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parklane44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Many young guests are in the hotel. The rooms are on two floors, however they are rather small and not very practicle. Toilet and shower were tiny and the stair to the bed upstair was narrow.
All rooms have wireless internet which was nice.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Urs68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

I stayed for 3 nights in June, in a room on the 7th floor with a view on the atrium (= looking at the windows of the other leg of the building 30 meters across). The bed is a very good Queen-size, with an excellent duvet and pillows - and located on a loft within the room which you reach via a steep staircase. This makes is unsuitable for children. I slept like a baby because no bathroom of neighbors adjacent to my wall or other noisy facilities.
The shower is pocket-size and in a sort of closet but of good quality while the toilet is in another small, similar closet opposite the shower. Biggest issue is where to store your towel because inside it's so small everything will get wet (outside the shower closet, there are 2 hooks). If you have a bit of a belly, you won't be able to make the turn into the shower.
There was a small wash basin located at the left wall of the room, reinforcing the message that you shouldn't expect your usual hotel room set-up. I liked it. The fast and free Wifi worked splendidly but, as with many hotels nowadays, only allows one device to be using the wifi connection; as soon as your log in with your laptop, you mobile phone's wifi connection is gone.
Didn't use the breakfast (too expensive) but there is a good Australian bar (Boomerang) next door that provides everything (and with A/C). The open-air terrace and pool are very nice in the evenings for a drink, a chat, and some surfing.
The only set-back of this hotel is its staff. The reception staff is curd and provides the basic service, and employs a no-smile policy, bordering on snotty - are the customers there for the staff, or the staff for the customers? If you want something out of the ordinary, you will get it after some insistence. Might be that they are under-staffed (on several occasions there simply wasn't even a doorman/concierge to be found) but the Copthorne management has a job to do on the HRM here. I concluded that I was on my own in this hotel, and took it from there (= call my own taxis, and sort out where/how to walk/find things around the place). If they get the staff sorted, this place would be a winner. Next time, I'll try The Gallery next door, and see who wins overall.

Room Tip: ask for a room above the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WaltWhitman090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StudioMHotel, General Manager at Studio M Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2011

Dear WaltWhitman090,

Thank you for your feedback effort. We are in the process of reviewing and implementing measures for the necessary improvements where needed.

Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

The hotel provides exactly what it says - a studio room perfect for a brief stop over. The location down by the river is great for nightlife - a mere stones throw from Clarke quay where the bars and restaurants are numerous however is quite a way from the nearest MRT station. The hotel itself is great; a friendly welcome from the staff and hassle free check-in (although instructions on how to use the lifts would be helpful!). The rooms are a but of a shock to start but you soon realise how well designed they are. They are essentially a studio apparently minus a kitchen! There is plenty of storage space available, a good if not strange bathroom set up, free wi-fi, a safe and a room fridge. Although we didn't use the other amenities, the pool and gym looked good too. For the price we paid, this hotel was excellent VFM.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lozzak7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

unusual room layout with a separate tiny toilet (think smaller than aircraft size) and separate shower, you have to get out of the shower and dry yourself in the room in the space between the shower and toilet. Hard to describe...

Lovely bed BUT one side was against the window, bit awkward. Breakfast was nice served al fresco next to the pool area. Free wi fi was a plus.

Staff were efficient and polite. OK expereience but it was too far from the MRT, a brisk 10 minute walk and while that may not sound much it is too far when you add in the sun and humididty as factors.

Wasn't cheap either. Loved Singapore but next time will shop around for a hotel nearer one of the MRT stations.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
M Social Singapore
M Social Singapore
#125 of 317 in Singapore
448 reviews
M Hotel Singapore
#118 of 317 in Singapore
1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsett Singapore
#88 of 317 in Singapore
986 reviews
Hotel G Singapore
#68 of 317 in Singapore
1,198 reviews
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#56 of 317 in Singapore
4,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studio M Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studio M Hotel

Address: No. 3 Nanson Road, Singapore 238910, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#117 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $112 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Studio M Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studio M Hotel Singapore exudes avant-garde style and class in its offer of a great business stay or leisure getaway in the iconic entertainment precinct of Robertson Quay. Designed by Italian style maestro and architect, Piero Lissoni, it is the first fully loft-inspired Singapore hotel that also occupies a prime location in the city, within easy reach of both the Central Business District and the world famous Orchard Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Studio M Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studio M Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing