We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You don't get the desired room even with reservation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Ranked #115 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“You don't get the desired room even with reservation”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Hotel could be nice since the location is good.. but we had a bad experience so I was really disappointed.
We had a reservation for deluxe room via booking which worked perfectly fine in the past with other hotels.
Upon our arrival they informed us that they are over-booked (and our reservation no longer existed). They offered us different room in another hotel (for breakfast we should come back to Santa Grand Bugis which we didn't find really convenient). If you are tired after a long trip you really don't want to deal with such things, especially if you had a reservation! At least they could inform us prior our arrival.
Even though they were polite at the reception desk (and I know this was not their fault) they could have done better job with customer service. I would expect voucher for dinner a glass of champagne or some small thing just to let you know, yes it is our fault that we cancelled your reservation and we want to apologize with a nice gesture. But no such thing.
At the end we didn't want to move to another hotel and come back for the breakfast to this hotel so we took a room in the basement which I really don't recommend. You can hear everything from the street it is without windows and claustrofobic . I know this is not the worst thing that can happen to you but our stay in Singapore was a bit ruined because of this.
So be extra careful when booking this hotel.

Room Tip: Basement rooms are really claustrofobic with no air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pursa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Bugis, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience and regret any inconvenience caused.

Please accept our apologies due to number of changes to travel agent plans which affected your booking and being changed to other room type. Although we had offered a room in our other chain hotel with free upgrade and free transfer to this hotel for breakfast. However, we sincerely regret that our offer is not acceptable to you despite efforts to reach an amicable conclusion. In addition, we have counseled the reservation team as we do not allow such matter to recur. We have also retrain our front desk staff on better service and we shall continue to strive for better customer service and relations.

It is our sincere hope that your recent experience will not deter you from visiting us again, and if you are coming to Singapore, do let us know so that we can ensure that your are better take care of.

Once again, we apologize for any inconvenience caused and hope to have a chance to host you again.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    462
    245
    70
    35
See reviews for
290
331
84
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bogor, Jawa Barat, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

A nice hotel. I stayed there with my family booked two rooms.The staffs were helpful and the location itself near Bugis Street and MRT Station also Bus Shelter. The room without windows were dark and the other room with windows was good yet wasn't wide enough. The breakfast menu was limited but overall it's quite a nice hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annisaandn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Bugis, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your great review. Indeed, our location are easily accessible with MRT, Arab street and attractions just a stone throw away. We are extremely glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the hotel with my husband for 2 nights. The staffs were friendly and helpful, the breakfast was OK, the room is clean and comfortable. The location is good, just 3 blocks away from Bugis shopping area and surrounded by unique heritage buildings. In overall, it was a pleasant experience. The only thing disappointed me that there was no basic Singapore map and MRT information available in the self-help desk (only tour brochures provided). However, you can find it in Bugis St market on level 3 which is only few minutes stroll away frim the hotel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Bugis, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your great review. We are extremely pleased to know that our team provided a prompt and attentive service that made your stay a memorable. We appreciate your feedback and will take into consideration as we always take our guest's comment seriously. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Hotel was good for its price. It is definitely better than what i expected.

Room was small but comfortable, ceiling a little dirty (Water stains), water drops from aircon when it is turned off, which might explain the water stains.

Breakfast buffet was AWESOME as they serve different food everyday and it is better than most of the food court around. Always helpful before travelling around singapore.

It is a great location if you want to go around city area, MRT is about 3-5 minutes walk from the hotel.

Good experience with the hotel and will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JiaLong2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Bugis, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliments! We are delighted to know that you enjoyed a pleasant stay at our hotel and are satisfied with our location and services. We appreciate your feedback, we have noted your comment and will make improvement. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

A nice hotel, pleasant helpful staff, breakfast not fancy but adequate......wonderful location and great pool to cool off in. Area surrounding this Hotel was interesting and had a number of good eating places.....Beds are very firm....quite noisy on Roadside rooms.........

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper see if you can get a room away from the roadside....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Bugis, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We gladly noted that the services and location of our hotel corresponded to your expectations and that you have spent an enjoyable stay with us. We will definitely share your positive comment to the team.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here. We look forward to having you back at Santa Grand soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jomtien Beach, Thailand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

This place scores high on location. On the edge of the Malay area and not far from Little India, it offers a bewildering range of food options (Malay, Indian, Chinese, Singaporean, Indonesian). Picking a favorite is impossible, but Sumatra across North Bridge Road offers especially delicious food along with free side orders of smiles. The hotel is close to Bugis MRT, and if you are coming from of headed for Malaysia, it's an even shorter walk to the Singapore-Johor bus terminal. The rooms are on the small side, but I've stayed in far smaller rooms in Singapore, Tokyo, even KL, and they manage to squeeze in a closet, a mini-fridge, a room safe, and even a bathtub (What for? If you want a hot bath in Singapore, just step outside for five minutes). The renovation is recent so everything works. Room service is efficient, the hotel is clean and well managed, and reception staff is helpful (if solemn, in the approved manner of mostly Indian men). The neighborhood is quiet (though you might want to avoid rooms facing Victoria Street). Two small gripes. One is the thin, hard pillows. The other is the tiny breakfast room, which can get very crowded. The breakfast offerings are good but it's a real squeeze at peak times. The hotel should offer a no-breakfast option (at a lower price). The area is full of wonderful eateries, so unless you can't face the new day without stuffing yourself full of baked beans and white bread, head for the street. At US$95 a night, this is a good deal in super-expensive Singapore.

Room Tip: Reception staff describe the rooftop swimming pool as a "mini pool" but in fact it's s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Bugis, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliments! Indeed, our location perfect for both leisure or business travelers as its easily accessible to MRT and attraction places. We are extremely pleased to know that you enjoyed a pleasant stay at our hotel and are satisfied with our location, facilities and services. We will definitely share your positive comments to the team. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

It's the typical hotel that has been improved with quality amenities and modern style, but still has some things to get better. Our room was a superior double, it was number 101, it was the first room in the corridor and right beside the corridor door, next to the reception. If you can, choose a higher floor or another hotel. Early in the morning you could hear people slaming doors roughly and speaking loudly and laughing. We kept on waking up very early every day. And also, you could smell the breakfast food from the room! The breakfast was not dedicated for western tourists like us, it was only coffee, cereal and some bread and fruit, very basic and not tasty. And the rest was all chinese food like rice, fish, chicken and stuff like that which we don't eat for breakfast. The breakfast area was noisy, small for the amount of people, full and messy. Not relaxing at all, just the opposite, you just wanted to grab a coffee and bread and leave as soon as possible! The reception staff was very helpful, not a complaint at all, always with a smile! The room amenities were good quality, as I said, but the bed was hard, not comfy, just woke up with back pain every day, and I'm not a picky person! The towels were old, with holes, not matching with the overall appearance of the room. Also the bathroom and floors were not very clean, there was a big bunch of hair in the shower the first day, and of course it was not mine. So I wouldn't recommend this hotel. If you can, choose another one. The good thing was the location, very convenient about 300m from the Bugis station for MRT.
Shopping Tip: It's close to Bugis Street, a big market where you can find very good bargains!

Room Tip: If you end up here, which I don't recommend, please ask for a room in a higher floor and do not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky_Iri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Bugis, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectation during your stay with us.

Please accept our apologies that some of the linens provided during your stay was below our usual high quality. We are actively working with our housekeeping team to ensure our standards of cleanliness and comfort are consistently met. We have taken corrective action to improve our services and have reviewed our internal housekeeping procedure to ensure our high standards are met at all times.

Total guest satisfaction is our utmost priority and it is thanks to your constructive feedback that we are able to maintain and further improve on our standards. We hope to have an opportunity to host you again.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
Santa Grand Hotel East Coast
Santa Grand Hotel East Coast
#113 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Hotel YAN
#58 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Joo Chiat
Champion Hotel
Champion Hotel
#94 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Boss
#137 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Strand Hotel
#148 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Chinatown
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Grand Hotel Bugis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Grand Hotel Bugis

Property: Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Address: No. 8 Jalan Kubor Santa Grand Hotel Bugis, Singapore 199207, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Kampong Glam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
#77 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Santa Grand Hotel Bugis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis, operating since November 2009, has a swimming pool, jacuzzi, gym, cafe and business centre. Located on the fringes of the Little India District and a few hundred metres from the Malay Heritage Centre this hotel makes the most of an area rich in history. Just down the road is Bugis Street, now featuring a teeming street market and collection of roadside stalls which is a must see for leisure or shopping guest visiting Singapore. Also, conveniently nearby are an Indian temple and one of Singapore's best known Buddhist Temples. Besides sightseeing, guest can visit Sim Lim Square, which is only 10-minutes stroll away and it houses Singapore's biggest collection of IT and computer stores. Completing the attractiveness of Santa Grand Hotel Bugis is its accessibility to public transport such as taxis, buses, and Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) to various places in Singapore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Grand Hotel Bugis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing