We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll Definitley Be Back!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Ranked #127 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed August 6, 2011

My friend and I stayed here for 8 days in July/Aug and really loved it!, The staff are super friendly and very helpful nothing is ever a problem.
the breakfast was awesome, you get heaps of choices of western and Asian food, the swimming pool was devine expecially after a hard day shopping, it is very close to MRT and Little India.
Also close to Bugis Street Markets. Also if you get the chance go to the restaurants behind the motel in the Kampong Glam...AMAZING!!!
Cant say enough good things about this place!! Awesome holiday :)

Room Tip: Basement room good for budget traveller who is busy all day and just wants a place to crash
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ambipoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,035)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

846 - 852 of 1,035 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2011

I don't always get why proximity to a city's CBD is always such a big deal for most travellers. The location of S.G.Bugis is excellent. It is near a MRT station, Kampong Glam and to my fiancé and I it is walking distance to Marina Bay, Orchard Road, Chinatown, CBD, Clarke Quay - anywhere really.

It would be nice if the staff smiled. It isn't a big thing but being made to feel welcome by reception makes a difference.

If you can't stand cockroaches then I would avoid staying here. I live in Sydney so I can handle killing a few cockroaches with my fingers if I need to. I let reception know about the problem and to their credit, a member of the maintenance team was at the room within 5 minutes with cockroach spray. My only hope is that they haven't gone ahead and said "problem solved". An infestation isn't fixed by a 5 second bug spray treatment!

Overall the stay was good.
The breakfast was sufficient and room size was adequate.
The value was good and a major reason for a good rating.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BradNZtoNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at Santa Grand Hotel Bugis. Singapore hotel rooms are quite expensive, but in comparison to other hotels in the city, the price was good. We had a room with a private balcony overlooking a beautiful park (which I believe is actually a cemetery, but it looks like a park). The room was small (think Tokyo size), but we had enough space for all of our things.

I really loved the rooftop pool. It is bigger than it looks in the pictures, and it was really nice to swim around and have such a good view of the city. There were never any other people in the pool when we went swimming, so it was quiet and relaxing.

The hotel is near a beautiful mosque, many interesting restaurants and shopping areas, and a subway station. My only complaint is the unreliable wifi connection, but that wasn't a huge deal. The location was perfect for us and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suprchick77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Hotel was very nice, staff very friendly and room had big windows but it was much too expensive for what we got. Moved to a much cheaper hotel and received all the same facilities except a window in our room. There was free WiFi and a fridge in our room.

Room Tip: Rooms are big but be careful when having a shower - the curtain does not stop the water going everyw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Voilareally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in for our stay in Singapore before and after visiting Philippines. The hotel was very accommodating, and for example allowed us to stove some luggage with them during our trip to Philippines. The hotel consists of two buildings, one an renovated old house, and the other a new one. The rooms were surprisingly large, and the facilities quite ok. The walk to Bugis junction MRT was a bit longer than anticipated, about ten minutes. Access from airport with taxi was convenient and cheap. The included breakfast was not anything special, and the breakfast room was often crowded. The reception staff was very helpful. There were some issues with the aircon in our room on both visits.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mleivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

3 blocks from MRT in nice area. Hotel seems new, rooms are immaculate and of high standard. Breakfast included was basic, buit adequate. Reception did not seem to know about our package inclusions, but was eventually sorted out.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAGSROBO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Trying to get the balance between price and facilities/location is always a challenge. This turned out to be a good choice once I had managed to get our room changed. Having booked a supposedly Superior room we were less than impressed to be shown to a room in the basement. It was dark, tiny with a loud droning noise from the generator room - for a light sleeper like me impossible; however after a brief discussion with reception they moved us to a room on the ground floor within 10 minutes - thank you. This room was a good size, light and airy although traffic noise was a bit of a nuisance (double glazing would have helped).
As mentioned by others free high speed internet and a great little pool on the roof. Breakfast was different (rice dishes and garlic infused vegetables as well as plenty of scrambled egg) but plenty of it and why shouldn't we eat more local offerings when abroad! Staff were friendly and helpful. Located within walking distance of quay and Orchard Street but MRT station only a short walk away if walking not your thing.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jim100Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
Santa Grand Hotel East Coast
Santa Grand Hotel East Coast
#119 of 317 in Singapore
764 reviews
Little India
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
#149 of 317 in Singapore
290 reviews
Hotel YAN
#62 of 317 in Singapore
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Joo Chiat
Champion Hotel
Champion Hotel
#112 of 317 in Singapore
410 reviews
Little India
Perak Hotel
Perak Hotel
#167 of 317 in Singapore
576 reviews
Hotel Kai
#156 of 317 in Singapore
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Grand Hotel Bugis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Grand Hotel Bugis

Address: No. 8 Jalan Kubor Santa Grand Hotel Bugis, Singapore 199207, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Kampong Glam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
#76 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $76 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Santa Grand Hotel Bugis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis, operating since November 2009, has a swimming pool, jacuzzi and cafe. Located on the fringes of the Little India District and a few hundred metres from the Malay Heritage Centre, this hotel makes the most of an area rich in history. Just down the road is Bugis Street, now featuring a teeming street market and collection of roadside stalls which is a must see for leisure or shopping guest visiting Singapore. Also, conveniently nearby are an Indian temple and one of Singapore's best known Buddhist Temples. Besides sightseeing, guest can visit Sim Lim Square, which is only 10-minutes stroll away and it houses Singapore's biggest collection of IT and computer stores. Completing the attractiveness of Santa Grand Hotel Bugis is its accessibility to public transport such as taxis, buses, and Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) to various places in Singapore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Fastbooking, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Santa Grand Hotel Bugis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing