We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very informative, great tour” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Original Singapore Walks

The Original Singapore Walks
Book In Advance
More Info
$42.51*
and up
Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour
Ranked #5 of 125 Tours in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The walks work on a simple principle: to bring people into places most other tours don't. Graveyards, smoke houses, wet markets, gun batteries, the city’s best-kept secret places. You name it, we have it. Since 2003, the Walks led by an eclectic bunch of researcher-guides have taken locals and travellers alike off the beaten track, and entertained with an endless store of anecdotes that reveal the true heart of the city. Pre-booking not necessary!
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very informative, great tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

I did the "Red Clogs and Five Foot Way" tour on a whim and wasn't sure how much I was going to enjoy or take from the tour, but was I wrong! The tour guide was fantastic and had plenty of personal anecdotes for the tour. She did more than just showed us things, she explained the history and significance. Also, the tour stopped at a traditional Chinese medicine shop; it was very interesting to learn about the philosophy behind this as it's generally dismissed in the West. The tour started on time, from the exact location described. The only thing I would recommend is to make sure you can walk/stand for the whole duration of the tour as there really isn't many chances for a rest, and make sure you have water & sun protection. I also wouldn't recommend bringing children on the trip as while there is a lot to see, some maturity is required to fully appreciate what the tour operator has to say. (There was a child of about 11 in our group who was getting antsy about half-way though)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank TamiNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    50
    10
    3
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mountain Home, Arkansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highlight of our stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

My wife and I took the Changi WWII War Trail and Museum tour in Nov 2012 and can recommend it highly. Our guide Helena was so knowledgeable, personable and downright captivating that the tour was a highlight of our time in Singapore. Thank you to Helena and all involved - you couldn't have done a better job.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great experience even for locals!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

I have lived here for over 25 years and went on the tour of Little India to learn a little more about the area. Geraldine was outstanding - full of interesting anecdotes, stories that kept us all engaged. She also remembered everyone's name (it was a group of about 20). Very impressive!

Lots of great history (that I didn't know before), henna tattoos, learning to put on a sari and learned a bit about the Hindu religion. I really enjoyed the tour and will recommend it to friends coming to Singapore.

Expect the walk to last for about 2.5 hours, navigating through streets, markets and temples. Great way to see the country!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank suanster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really interesting walks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We've done two of the walks. Kampong Glam and (today) Little India. Both were excellent with very knowledgeable and personable guides. They had good microphones so everyone could hear and both tours had places where members of the tour got to wear local clothes (e.g. a Sari), get a henna tattoo, try local foods, etc. so it wasn't just a boring history lesson. The pace was good, not too fast but we still got to see a lot.
I would recommend this anytime.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank IainElliot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
259 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Red Lantern Tour (run by Hippo Hop On Hop Off Sightseeing Tours)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

The Red Lantern tour was the highlight of our sightseeing in Singapore ! This was a three hour evening tour run by the same company as the Hop On Hop Off tours but on an old fashioned 'trolley' rather than a bus. At a cost of $30 singapore dollars, this was the best chance we were likely to get to live like the locals, with a visit to a local housing estate, a local market, and the 'red light district', as well as a drive by Clarke Quay and along Orchard Road Shopping District.

The first walking part of the tour with our local Singapore guide was through a local public housing development, and seeing a glimpse into how many of the ordinary working population live was fascinating from how washing is hung from apartments on rods sticking out from the wall, to the large numbers of security cameras monitoring the lifts, and anyone littering from their apartments instead of using their rubbish shoots, to the communal meeting areas under each block. We were also not only lucky enough to see a Malay/Muslim wedding celebration take place, we were actually invited to join in by the families !! We had our pictures taken with the bride and groom, were given wedding favours as a gift to take away, and made to feel very welcome. Their immense friendliness was heartwarming and something that we will never forget !!

From there it was on to a local market, again fascinating to see how the 'real' people lived, having previously mainly seen a multitude of expensive stores in Singapore. It was a real gathering place with many people stopping to eat and dink there as well as to shop.

Then it was on to the red light district of the city, and it's three distinctive areas of a licensed section, an unlicensed section, and a section where to be honest it appeared that anything might go on, and felt very seedy. Our guide was very experienced in taking groups to this area, although as she led us down some quite dubious looking back streets, crammed with what mainly seemed to be migrant workers, once or twice I did feel a little uneasy. None of the girls there were scantily dressed, although it was a touch disturbing to see how young some of them looked. Hotel rooms for $10 Singapore dollars were advertised. The area was so crowded it was unbelievable to us and it was fascinating that all of this was taking place just off of a main road full of bars, restaurants and shops full of people not there for the 'added entertainment'. It was a true insight into a side of Singapore that most tourists do not get to see, but is certainly worth a look.

The tour finished with a drive by Clarke Quay and and along Orchard Road with it's thousands of pretty Christmas lights and displays.

An excellent tour, made even better by our great guide, if you want to see something a little different to the usual stuff, and you are prepared to have an open mind this is certainly the tour to book. Reservations must be made prior to the tour which is boarded at Suntec City Mall.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Original Singapore Walks also viewed

 

Been to The Original Singapore Walks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing