We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, but a Good Choice”
Review of Amber Hotel

Amber Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amber Hotel
Ranked #245 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed July 20, 2012

For the price, this hotel is a good choice. Nothing flashy, but it does the job if you need a place to stay and would rather be out of the hotel enjoying Singapore. Our room was one of the unfortunate ones which had a window opening to a dark hallway, so it felt like you were in a basement. I'm sure ones with some natural light were better. You could also hear outside noise well since there was a 3/4" gap under the door. There is no room safe, which was also unfortunate.The hotel is a short walk to Roxy Square shopping which has groceries, a food court, and shopping. It's also pretty close to the beach/park.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank illjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 17 of 17 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2012

We stay there on March'12 with 3 adult and 2 kids age 4 and 6. We got the Family Room for the rate of SGD190NETT, 2 Queen Size Bed with no breakfast. Their menu for breakfast is good and reasonable price too but we did our breakfast outside the hotel. If you are like me, just need a clear and family style hotel, this will be the right choice!

This is a very convenience place, the bus stand is just few steps away from the hotel. We can get food everywhere by just walking. And i must say the Lilian from Amber Hotel, a tumbs up for her service, from the booking till we reached there, she provide lots of information to us.

1. Few step to the nearest bus stand ( Actually is just outside the hotel)
2. Famous Katong Laksa 15 mins walk ( at ceylon Road, stall no:328 the original Katong Laksa)
3. Cheap hawkers stalls 15 mins walk
4. Easy to get taxi
5. Friendly staffs ( BIG THANKS to Lilian)

Room Tip: If you need a family room, get 510
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ReineSeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Hello everyone,
I arrived here in January just before the Chinese New Year. The Hotel is situated not too far from Changi Airport, approx S$ 20/Taxi.

Its on the corner of Amber Road and Mountbatten Road and is in a good position for visiting either Parkways Shopping Centre or Katong.

The Hotel price for a Queens size bed is S$ 130/night but remember there is no bar or restaurant available. They will supply small cans of Tiger/Heiniken from front desk and for breakfast you can order an Egg Toastie (S$ 1.50) Tea and Coffee are supplied in each room.
I was here on business standby so it was less expensive for my Company and there are plenty shopping malls eating places nearby. You can walk down to the beach quite easily by going towards the Chinese Swimming Club and following the signs to the underpass. Its a great place for a walk miles of safe flat tarred road (no cars allowed) and plenty of seating along the way. There are no prowlers here or drug addicts and more importantly no dog dirt so you can quite freely walk on grass without fear of getting fouled.

The Hotel also did my Laundry in-house reasonably priced and for the first three days I had to pay a flat fee of S$ 15 for internet (cabled) but thereafter it was free.

The staff were pleasant and friendly and even lent me an umbrella during rainy times.

If you want to pay Orchard Road prices then this is not the Hotel to stay in but if you want an inexpensive Hotel nearby facilities good bus routes then you cannot find better.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room with a window. I had no window downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Alexy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

I stay in this hotel in May 2011 with some friends.
Very clean rooms but disadvantage is the room I stay in groung floor
no window. But value for money.
Location is good.

Room Tip: Not in Ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rohan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

I stayed here for a couple of nights when i was in town for the Formula 1. All of the hotels all over the city were very expensive due to the peak season weekend. I found the amber hotel great to deal with. I dealt with their reception on email a number of times. They were organised and kept a record of my conversation and gave me the rate that was promised to me when I got there. The hotel has two sections smoking and non smoking. The non smoking wing is a lot cleaner and less smellier. Stayed in a double room, it was small but it was tidy and you couldnt ask for more. Convenient to parkway parade shopping complex and bus. Cost me a little in taxis getting into town and marina bay etc but overall i was happy with the hotel and would stay there again. One thing that was annoying was that they said they had wifi. i got there and they said you needed to buy a card that was prepay internet for 24 hours. i got to the room and the wireless access point could not be connected to from the room so i had no internet access :(

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Jeeviz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2010

I decided to stay away from Orchard Road and chance upon Amber Hotel. We booked a Family Room with 2 queen size beds for $ 180 per night. The Airport Bus Stop for Amber Garden stops about 100 m away from the hotel; the Airport Bus 36 continued towards the City/Orchard running a loop.
Parkway Parade Shopping Complex is about 800 M away, and the Katong Laksa is available 1 KM from the hotel . It is a long walk to the nearest Paya Lebar or Eunos MRT station so don't try it unless you enjoy the walk. However on weekend you can walk to Parkway and catch the free shuttle bus to Bedok MRT station.

Rooms are clean with no frills. I would rate the Hotel 2.5 Stars. Took a morning walk to Joo Chiat Road and you can see some Heritage Buildings. Was suprised to find workers making popiah skin at 95, Joo Chiat Road. I thought such trade has gone extinct in Singapore.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Thaksin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Value Hotel Nice
#209 of 319 in Singapore
246 reviews
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel
Venue Hotel
#136 of 319 in Singapore
498 reviews
Joo Chiat
Hotel 81 - Sakura
Hotel 81 - Sakura
#197 of 319 in Singapore
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Geylang
Four Chain View Hotel
Four Chain View Hotel
#251 of 319 in Singapore
55 reviews
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel The Lily
Venue Hotel The Lily
#139 of 319 in Singapore
308 reviews
Joo Chiat
Santa Grand Hotel East Coast
Santa Grand Hotel East Coast
#119 of 319 in Singapore
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Hotel

Address: 40 Amber Road, Singapore 439878, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #245 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: $66 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Amber Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amber Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing