We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Destinia.com
StayForLong
Booking.com
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveler rating
30
31
16
4
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
30
31
16
4
7
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 88 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Since our flight was to come in at around 2am, we emailec them in advance to request for either an early check-in or luggage storage. The person my sister emailed was amenable to our proposed arrangement of leaving our baggage at 7am and then checking in at 10pm so we could make the most of our short stay in SG.

So imagine our surprise when we arrived in the hostel at 7am and nobody was answering the door. We were stuck outside under the humid SG weather for a good 30 mins or so before my brother thought of knocking at the door next to the hostel. Suddenly, a cranky old lady (who the above posts refer to as the "wonderful" Auntie Aini) emerged with a frown on her face. She told us that it was too early to check-in even without bothering to check if any of their anticipated guests had requested for luggage storage prior to check-in. That's no way to treat a guest! We were not expecting a five-star welcome but a smile would have been nice.

After spending the day at Universal Studios, we returned to the hostel at a few minutes past 10pm. One of the first things she says when we arrive is that we took so long to return to the hostel. Duh!? First, we had emailed Fernloft in advance and they were amenable to our late check-in at 10pm. Second, we very clearly told her that morning that we will be returning at 10pm because we wanted to make the most of our short stay in SG. Third, THERE WAS NO NOTICE THAT THE HOSTEL HAD A CURFEW, OR WHAT TIME IT WOULD BE IF IT HAD ONE! In any event, the curfew should be limited to the dorm rooms so as not to disrupt other guests. My siblings and I were staying in a room we had to ourselves so I really don't see any reason why she was so hyped up about our "late" arrival. She even had the audacity to tell us that she's already 60 years old and that she runs the place alone. So what? If she can't do it anymore, she should quit. It's that simple. It's not like we forced her into that job or anything. And, contrary to what she claims, she even stayed up later than we did because my brother caught her watching Indian movies when he was on his way to the bathroom.

On another note, this hostel is located a few meters away from the entrance to Chinatown, the bus station, and a hawker centre. It's also a walking distace away from several train stations so it's very accessible and convenient. Although it's not as pretty as I would have imagined, we had a good night's rest here. The airconditioning is a bit too cold, though.

All told, I wouldn't stay in this hostel again if it means having to deal with a horrible person such as Auntie Aini who acts as if she owns the place.

Date of stay: April 2012
2  Thank CathyPHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

My husband and I stayed for 5 nights in a private room. At first we didnt like the look of the place: the common area is really tiny and just the one bathroom for all guests. But in the end we really enjoyed our stay and felt really looked after by Aini who manages to do everything that needs doing all by herself (even had time to invite us for dinner!). Breakfast is good; just tea/coffee and toast. And there is a washing mashine that you can use for about 6 SGD.

Location is great! Right next to Chinatown and a beautiful Buddhist temple. Across the street is a huge hawker centre with great food.
But at night its all quiet so you get a good nights sleep.

Overall, a cozy place with a nice backpacker feeling!

Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HannaF84
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

This hostel is very very nice! we really enjoyed our stay, unfortunately it was only for 2 nights. Auntie Aini, thank you for your hospitality!
Bas& Fleur (Netherlands)

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fleur Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Aunty Ainie (appologize if misspelled) is a wonderful lady running this cozy hostel, she is very thoughtful and kind making sure you feel at home. I stayed in the dorms for 4 nights and found it to be a solid location and a clean place to crash.

Date of stay: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adako
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

Travelled with spouse on our business trip. Chose Fern Loft Chinatown from research on Tripadvisor. However they didn't have 4 weeks' availability so I only stayed here for 2 nights before moving to the Fern Loft Little India branch.

Pluses: The lady who runs it goes to the greatest effort to make you feel at home and gives welcoming touches. After the first night there, we woke up to find that she had gone out early to buy a scrumptious Indian breakfast for everyone at the hostel. Sure beats the toast and jam provided! When we were transferring to the Little India branch, she not only covered the cost of the taxi to get there, but also came with us to make sure we got there ok. The other plus is the free wireless internet.

Minuses: It is not in the best of areas- we were apprehensive when the shuttle dropped us off because it didn't looked like a public lodging, but more like a private residence tucked away in an alley. Don't lug up your luggages up the stairs like we did. There are lifts around the corner. The place only has 2 private bedrooms (one of which the manager occupies), and a mixed dorm room. Very tiny common area and the bathroom is a toilet and shower combined. The bedroom is as expected in a budget accommodation- nothing flash. The door was a bit faulty though. Transport is easy enough via MRT about 5-10 min away, but this is really not the nicest area to live at I felt. The immediate streets (and the walk to the MRT station) surrounding the Little India branch is much nicer and felt safer at night.

Date of stay: May 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loosek
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews