We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club
Ranked #104 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed at the Club for three nights and were generally pretty happy with it. It is very well located, within walking distance to many attractions.
The rooms are quite tired and really could use some updating. We had a wonderful view of the Padang, which was quiet. The bed was very comfortable.
We had cocktails in the lounge every evening and the prices, for guests, are quite reasonable. Breakfast buffet was included in the room price. It was not too bad, a lot of Asian choices.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Padang
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWR/GLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    396
    155
    39
    29
See reviews for
158
448
62
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

PROS

-location in front of the City Hall MRT
-walking distance from the Marina
-nearby Raffles City shopping mall with nice food court
-nice room and bathroom with amenities (slippers/ shampoos /bathrobe etc)
-free wifi in the room and breakfast included in room rate

CONS
-staff not so friendly, did not feel welcomed enough when we arrived by reception, as one would expect in a 4 star hotel (the next day we asked if they have ice cream and they were like ICE CREAM ?? and they looked at us like where were asking the moon - and they claim to have 3 restaurants serving HK, Western and light snacks?!)
-old looking building and does not feel like an hotel so you feel a bit odd walking about the premises

If I even come back to Singapore I don't think I would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frikketz86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Location? Cannot get any better. At the heart of Singapore city without its noise level as it is surrounded by the huge field + the Churches + the parks nearby. It is a remarkably budget friendly location considering its exceptional location + exceptional accommodation + amenities for a fraction of the price of the nearby hotels. Therefore the rooms are always fully booked. Better book in months in advance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teresatong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

I stayed here in 2011 and thoroughly enjoyed the experience so when I needed to stay in Singapore for one night again en route to Europe I didn't hesitate to book here again.
All the staff were friendly, welcoming and extremely helpful.
Our room had a view out to the front and was spotlessly clean and more than enough space for 2 people.
We checked out at 9 and stored our bags till 6pm when we returned hot and sweaty from the zoo. They sent us downstairs for a shower and provided fresh clean towels before we headed off to the airport.
There was more than enough choice at breakfast which was included in our tariff.
It is perfectly located across the road from City Hall MRT, 10 minutes walk to Marina Bay and less than 5 minutes walk to Raffles Hotel and the Raffles shopping centre where retail and food options abound.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charliedoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

We booked a Queen sized room which was more than big enough for us, and which overlooked the playing fields. We are bemused by the complaints that there is no choice for breakfast. There was cereal, fruit, pastries, cold meats, eggs and cheeses, salads, and a huge range of hot dishes, bother Western and Eastern. I may not fancy chili at breakfast, but there were ample other things to select. We thought the food was great. The location is a big selling point. It was within easy walking distance of everything that we wanted to see and do, plus there are buses and the metro to get you to further flung places. The staff were attentive and friendly. And I enjoyed my early morning swims in the indoor pool. We were on a short break holiday, had a fabulous time and would go back here in a heartbeat if we are in Singapore again.

Room Tip: Pay a tiny but extra and get a queen sized room overlooking the Padang. There is a little noise in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nethergreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

The hotel was centrally located at Cityhall MRT station, 1-2mins walk across the road, just opposite to Raffle City, very convenient and easy to find places to eat, many restaurants and food courts are available there.
Check-in reception and the only one floor with guest rooms which is located on the 3rd floor, not many rooms in this Recreation Club, the room was clean and spacious, however, the lights were dim dark, easily make you feel sleepy while in the room, it was a bit noisy during the stay if happened that they're having function or event held at the club house from evening till late night.
Buffet breakfast was not upto standard compared to other hotels, not many choices of food possible due to not many guests even the hotel was full, only 26 rooms available in this property.
Anyway, it's good for value of money for the stay during the festive season.

Room Tip: Quiet room facing the Padang view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magng_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Not sure why this place was getting so high reviews on trip advisor. It is inexpensive for the location is the one plus. We went to breakfast the first day and skipped the other two because the quality was so bad. The room is pretty small and awkward in design. There are a series of stairs leading from the door into the room, which you also have climb to use the restroom. I would be concerned about anyone with any sort of balance problem staying here. I was woken up at 8am every morning by the maids starting their rounds. You can hear everything outside and in the adjacent rooms. Stay here if your budget is your primary concern.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Dominic F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
#116 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,202 reviews
Grand Park City Hall
#43 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,442 reviews
Hotel Kai
#120 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lloyd's Inn
#56 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#115 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club

Property: The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club
Address: B Connaught Drive Singapore Recreation Club, Singapore 179682, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Business Hotel in Singapore
#87 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 26 deluxe rooms, in a central location conveniently located near the business district, major attractions and shopping centres, The Residence at Singapore Recreation Club offers travellers an oasis of entertainment and pleasure. Located just minutes away from Singapore's newly opened integrated resorts, it is perfect for those new to the Lion city or visitors who want to experience Singapore in a new light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, ACCOR, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing