We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, unusual hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club
Ranked #104 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Langley, Canada
Level Contributor
168 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Great location, unusual hotel”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The hotel is in a great location in the colonial district kitty corner to Raffles Hotel, walking distance to Singapore Flyer, subway, Hop On Hop Off Bus, countless shopping centres and restaurants, the river and boat quay, Marina Bay Sands Hotel and much more. There was a fair bit of traffic noise as our room overlooked the front road...mainly seemed like background type noise and didn't disturb our sleep. Somewhat odd room. The hotel rooms are on the third floor, upper level of the club. Not sure if they were converted from something else. There was a step up into our room from the main hallway and then a few steps down into the bedroom as only the closet and bathroom are on the level with the door. Bathroom is clean and modern but sort of strange.The bathroom is like a large shower stall as it is fully frosted glass including the wall into the bedroom and the door to the bathroom is like a shower door...the actual shower doesn't have a door. I did discover that there is a roll blind to pull down on the glass wall that separates the shower and bedroom...otherwise the person in the shower would be visible to the bedroom and the light from the bathroom would shine through into the bedroom. All the lighting in the bedroom is dim and it took us a while to figure out what switches controlled the various lights including the ones showing through the ornamental slots in the closet doors. Room served the purposes for the two nights as we were hardly in the hotel. Had coffee and tea supplies in the room and had an average buffet breakfast included in our price. Free wifi was good in our room which was just down the hall from reception. We didn't use the club pool or gym features as we were too busy sightseeing. There are also interesting dress code requirements for this hotel and club, for example for both men and women there are no shorts, no sleeveless shirts or shirts without collars, no shirts with writing, no torn clothing, no sweaty clothing. Reception staff and front door security staff were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank banditoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    396
    154
    39
    29
See reviews for
158
448
62
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide SA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Loved The Residence! I had a large, well appointed room, with all the mod cons: free wi-fi, large flat-screen TV, and tea and coffee making facilities. My bed was big and very comfortable, and the bathroom was spacious. My room was very quiet.

The hotel is within walking distance to Orchard Road, Clarke Quay, Marina Bay Sands and The Esplanade. Guests could use the Recreation Club's facilities. I liked that I could store my luggage after I checked out, and then have a shower when I picked it up.

Can highly recommend and would definitely stay at The Residence again!

Room Tip: Stay in a room facing the Padang... that way you won't be bothered by traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dileeshus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I loved the following aspects of my 4-night stay at this hotel:
1) LOCATION - adjacent to City Hall station (Red and Green line), across Raffles mall
- more on location: 1 station away from Bugis which is a shopping haven for more affordable stuff in Singapore
- the green line connects all the way to Changi airport
2) Friendly/courteous staff - both front desk and cleaning lady
3) Clean room; room was cleaned daily
4) Free WIFI for all guests. Sweet.
5) Excellent facilities - gym, pool (they have a heated pool)
6) Also accessible to taxi stand across the street (in front of a bigger hotel - Swissotel)

They could improve on the breakfast menu and those served breakfast could do a better job at entertaining to the guests' needs. Somewhat pricey, but I could not complain, it was all worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dsison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srcsingapore, Guest Relations Manager at The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest of The Residence,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We are looking forward to welcome you back at The Residence.

Best Regards,

Lita Vardeleon - Liquicia
The Residence @ SRC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The hotel itself is very pleasant and convenient in terms of sleep quality and location. The rooms are small but very clean and well organized. The best rooms are overlooking the field and the business quarter of the city. The location is absolutely perfect - right in the middle of the colonial district of Singapore. The MRT together with the Raffles Shopping Centre and the Raffles Hotel are right across the street. You can go to the Marina Bay Sands via a very pleasant to walk along promenade. We had an amazing stay and we are very happy to report only positives.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank svkirch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srcsingapore, Guest Relations Manager at The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest of The Residence,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We are looking forward to welcome you back at The Residence.

Best Regards,

Lita Vardeleon - Liquicia
The Residence @ SRC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

The location is good, however everything else was pretty ordinary. Arrived late at night and given the key to the end room which was tiny, dull and very noisy with the traffic. Nothing like the photos online. The girl at reception was helpful and placed us in a slightly bigger and quieter room overlooking the park. Breakfast was a very basic buffet located in the basement next to the indoor pool with chlorine smell. No room service.
It is really just a sports club with some basic hotel rooms. Not a proper hotel as such. Very misleading advertising.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank irwin263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srcsingapore, Guest Relations Manager at The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest of The Residence,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your recent stay with us.

We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience we have caused you. With your comments, we can work on improving our service to all our guests which is of great importance to us.

Once again, thank you for your time and we are looking forward to welcome you back at The Residence.

Best Regards,

Lita Vardeleon - Liquicia
The Residence @ SRC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It was easy to reach by train from the airport and just a 3 minute walk from City Hall train station. It also close to Marina Bay and many shops. The rooms are of a high standard and quite large. The staff are friendly and very helpful. I left my handbag on the train and the receptionist on the front desk Runy was a wonderful help. She gave me advice on who to contact and what to do whilst still attending other guests. Within the hour my handbag had been located and returned with all it's contents. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patrice0204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srcsingapore, Guest Relations Manager at The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest of The Residence,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We are looking forward to welcome you back at The Residence.

Best Regards,

Lita Vardeleon - Liquicia
The Residence @ SRC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Very convenient location to Raffles and Marina Bay Sands and the general shopping area of Singapore.Rooms and bathrooms are small but are clean and for a short stay are ok. There are a couple of steps to the bathroom that are a bit tricky in the middle of the night. Breakfast is included and on first site looks limited but you can ask for cooked items.Having a gym and pool on site is a bonus. Staff are pleasant and helpful. Overall good value for money

Room Tip: Rooms on the front roadside are noisy so try to get a room on the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srcsingapore, Guest Relations Manager at The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest of The Residence,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We are looking forward to welcome you back at The Residence.

Best Regards,

Lita Vardeleon - Liquicia
The Residence @ SRC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
#116 of 306 in Singapore
4,191 reviews
Grand Park City Hall
#44 of 306 in Singapore
2,414 reviews
Lloyd's Inn
#54 of 306 in Singapore
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Kai
#115 of 306 in Singapore
216 reviews
Marina Bay
Marina Mandarin Singapore
Marina Mandarin Singapore
#48 of 306 in Singapore
5,352 reviews
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#117 of 306 in Singapore
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club

Property: The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club
Address: B Connaught Drive Singapore Recreation Club, Singapore 179682, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Business Hotel in Singapore
#88 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 26 deluxe rooms, in a central location conveniently located near the business district, major attractions and shopping centres, The Residence at Singapore Recreation Club offers travellers an oasis of entertainment and pleasure. Located just minutes away from Singapore's newly opened integrated resorts, it is perfect for those new to the Lion city or visitors who want to experience Singapore in a new light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing