We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Good Experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club
Ranked #103 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
247 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A Good Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

The location close to the City Hall metro station and it’s a short walk to a shopping complexes, the food and discount outlets at Bugis, the theatres, the Singapore Flyer. Upon check-in on the third floor of the Club, where all the accommodation is, we found the reception staff to be warm and welcoming and they provided us with information about local attractions. Throughout our stay the staff were pleasant and helpful. Our room opened onto a patio that faced the road however traffic noise was not an issue. The room, which was well appointed and had a king sized bed, was large enough for us to have our two suitcases without having to step over them. The room was kept clean and tidy as it was freshened each day. Breakfast was included in the room price. The food was fresh and tasty and consisted of an adequate array of cereals, yoghurt, milk, fresh fruit as well as cooked items such as bacon, eggs, and a couple of local dishes. The staff here were friendly and competent. Being a Residence in a British style Club means that there are a few dress rules but they are not onerous. The dress code usually applied to areas of the Club we didn’t use. We enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith-Di
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    391
    152
    39
    29
See reviews for
156
443
62
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We had researched the hotels in Singapore thoroughly before choosing The Residence . We chose it based on the reviews, great price and location. It was the perfect choice. It was welcoming, clean, had great wi-fi and a fantastic breakfast.

At the end of our stay we decided to use the MRT to get to Changi airport even though most people suggested we hire a taxi. As we were across the road from City Hall Station and had used it exclusively for our 4 day stay we decided it was an easy option. As we left The Residence two lovely staff members of The Residence offered to help us with our luggage to the train. They were fantastic and this was unexpected. The train ride to the airport was quick and easy.

If we ever come back to Singapore again or if we have to recommend a hotel to friends, we would definitely recommend The Residence.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fayfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Massana, Andorra
Level Contributor
320 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

The Residence is actually a few rooms (24 in total I understand) which are part of the old Singapore Recreation Club. Location is very good but most other aspects are not! Service is 'just acceptable; rooms are just adeqaute if a little tired & the (included) breakfast is not worth hanging around for! There are additional facuilities (swimming pool/gym etc) & it is relatively sensibly priced (for Singapore) but 2 to 3* at most! Might be OK for a younger/single person staying in Singapore on business for a while but definitely NOT for a comfortable overnight stop for a mature couple. We wouldn't use it again.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the Padang, which is pleasant enough but not exactly awe inspiring!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We had a three nights stay in The Residence of SRC. The room was clean, tidy and fully equipped with all bathroom essentials. The in-room wifi was good, and the view on Padang was absolutely fantastic! Nice place to stay in Singapore!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cccat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Pros: great location, comfy bed, excellent view from room balcony.
Cons: breakfast is so so, some of the fruit seemed not fresh (my husband got stomach bug after breakfast). Price is $$$
Overall, nice to stay here for short trip or business trip.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Hilda_Dupont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banda Aceh, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

This is not a 4 star hotel 2 is more like it.
the rooms are tiny, and the shower rooms like cupboards.
There is no room service after a certain time in the evening.
The front desk staff need retraining.
On the two evenings my wife and i returned from a night out I was asked who my guest was, this really upset her.
The breakfast choice is pretty small, but the staff try their best for you.
The cellar houses the pool.
I wont repeat the experience.
There are much better hotels in Singapore for this price.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Deathcruzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
170 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

The best thing about this “hotel” is the location, situated just opposite City Hall station, Raffles Link Mall and a short walk to Raffles and Esplanade. Orchard Rd, Marina Bay Sands and the Singapore Flyer are also within walking distance.

The building is colonial style and on arrival at the entrance of the Recreation Club, I was shown to the lift to take me up to the 3rd floor where the hotel is situated. The reception staff are friendly but that’s about where the warmth ends as are many signs advising what is appropriate clothing within the Recreation Club.

The room was facing the road and was a bit noisy at night from the traffic. The room was an OK size with steps in the middle leading to the bathroom.

Breakfast was included and was a fairly uninspiring selection of cold and warm food served in a cafeteria adjacent to the swimming pool. On the first day, the staff were all so miserable and a request for more coffee cups was met with a grunt. You can order eggs made to order.

The pool was large and inviting though it is indoors so doesn’t provide any cooling from the Singapore heat. You can also use the decently equipped gym on the same basement level.
There is free wifi throughout the building.

I just felt the hotel guests were an inconvenience to the Club Members and were only tolerated for the money we bring in. The third floor hotel rooms seemed more designed to be used by big functions at the Recreation Club such as wedding guests and are just being used to rake in extra cash. They need to decide if it is a hotel, if so then guests need to welcomed and allowed to roam as they please instead of adhering to club rules.

Room Tip: Stay at the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrrfrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
#113 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,150 reviews
Grand Park City Hall
#50 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,363 reviews
Marina Bay
Marina Mandarin Singapore
Marina Mandarin Singapore
#51 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lloyd's Inn
#48 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#118 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club

Property: The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club
Address: B Connaught Drive Singapore Recreation Club, Singapore 179682, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Business Hotel in Singapore
#87 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 26 deluxe rooms, in a central location conveniently located near the business district, major attractions and shopping centres, The Residence at Singapore Recreation Club offers travellers an oasis of entertainment and pleasure. Located just minutes away from Singapore's newly opened integrated resorts, it is perfect for those new to the Lion city or visitors who want to experience Singapore in a new light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing