We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in April 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club
Ranked #111 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stay in April 2013”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This has been a fantastic stay, the club, a British colonial style place with all the old world charm to it, right in the middle of town.
Expect great service, personalised, very welcoming people...with only 25 rooms to serve, its just lovely.
They have step and cha cha dancing lessons all across the week that you could request to be a part of and learn.
the pool is a huge stone encased pool that feels like a cave. The gym is just right.
Breakfast is sumptous that gets you ready for the day.
they go out of their way to be of help to you.Minus : i dont think its a negative, but no shorts, bermudas, no without collar t shirts etc. no looking like a bum allowed...its a residence in a British style club, not a hotel you know.
want slots....well they got them on site.
The manager is a guy who keeps things totally personal for you and somehow come up right when and where you need him.
Lots more small things, but fun overall.
All in all a very good experience, will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lawn side are quieter, the front rooms get a bit f road noise early morning, wasnt and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikram A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    400
    157
    39
    30
See reviews for
161
450
63
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Our first visit to Singapore and we were not disappointed. This hotel has an old colonial charm. Rooms are small but very well-appointed. Although there is a dress code, the reception staff went out of their way to let us know that we could relax in our casual wear in most parts of the hotel.
I have a phobia of swimming pools, as I fear the hygeine standards, but felt happy to go in this pool every day of our 3 night stay. It is not at all 'creepy', but dimmly lit, and surrounded by faux rocks. The steam room was good and very relaxing.
Breakfast buffet provides a very good choice to suit all tastes. Food is delicious, fresh and served hot and to taste. It is served in the leisure area, but this is made clear in the hotel information - the proximity to the pool was certainly not off-putting to us and is a typical leisure centre cafeteria.
Lunch proves to be very popular with local people, as the cafe was always very busy. We could see why. The food is plentiful, good and reasonably priced compared with the other restaurant.
This hotel is in a very good location for site-seeing and we would thoroughly recommend it for a city break

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jacqueline f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed 2nights 3/4 March seemed a great location but was charged 60 dollars over booking price from booking .com was told it was against charges on room but would be refunded if none incurred none were incurred but despite contacting them I still have not been re imbursed now over a month that plus 2.5% charge for credit card payment make this the RIP-OFF Residence DON'T STAY HERE

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayabee63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The room at the Residence was comfortable, clean, well appointed, and whilst not cheap was a better price than other well located hotels in Singapore. Breakfast was included in the price which seems to be unusual in Singapore. The location is fantastic - near to all the must sees. Their heavily signaged dress code does tend to make people in ordinary travelling clothes (which would be perfectly acceptable in the best of the world's hotels), feel a little less than completely welcome. They don't worry you about it but a bit of a poor taste is left in the mouth. I found the underground pool somewhat creepy and did not swim in it as a result – it was too dark, dank and humid for me. Better lighting might improve its ambience and likewise that of the cafe which overlooks it. Overall I thought it had a more local flavour than one of the large hotels which could be one of thousands anywhere in the world. I did stay at the Marina Bay Sands for one night on my way back for the experience of swimming in that pool - the complete antithesis of the one at the Residence I'd have to say. But that's another story.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had 5 nights to stay in Singapore visiting friends before moving onto Langkawi, so we wanted somewhere very reasonably priced for 5 nights. We weren't looking for luxury but convenience and this is the perfect place to stay!

It is a little oldy-worldy decor, but this isn't a hotel, it's part of the Singaporean Recreation Club. You would hear young sports team cheering on the weekend, so if you like your sleep in the morning just don't expect you can do this if you don't like this aspect. Breakfast is pretty random, but for the price you pay and the location, you can't complain. The room is a little dark with not enough lighting choices, but again, you can't complain for the price you are paying! :)

The City Hall MRT is just across the road underneath Swissotel, very convenient. Also easy to grab taxi as it's just next to the main road. Tell the taxi driver it's located on Stamford Road near City Mall MRT if they don't know exactly where it is.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrownbirdLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Very close to City Hall MRT and Raffles City mall. Convenient location. Room we were in was very small, barely enough space for luggage and walking around. Toilet layout is not very good. There was no door or curtain for the shower, so toilet floor will get wet after showers. Breakfast selection was limited and food was okay.

Room and toilet however, were clean and new and free Wifi is included.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonliew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Lovely hotel in a great location. Room was clean and a good size containing everything we needed. Wifi was provided free of charge and buffet breakfast was included. Guest can use the indoor pool and gym as required, which were a good size. Would definitely recommended this hotel to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahJane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Grand Park City Hall
#47 of 312 in Singapore
2,480 reviews
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
#112 of 312 in Singapore
4,302 reviews
Naumi Hotel
#16 of 312 in Singapore
2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont Singapore
#15 of 312 in Singapore
5,837 reviews
Marina Bay
Marina Mandarin Singapore
Marina Mandarin Singapore
#46 of 312 in Singapore
5,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club

Property: The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club
Address: B Connaught Drive Singapore Recreation Club, Singapore 179682, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Business Hotel in Singapore
#91 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 26 deluxe rooms, in a central location conveniently located near the business district, major attractions and shopping centres, The Residence at Singapore Recreation Club offers travellers an oasis of entertainment and pleasure. Located just minutes away from Singapore's newly opened integrated resorts, it is perfect for those new to the Lion city or visitors who want to experience Singapore in a new light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing