We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay that turned into Night of Hell”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club
Ranked #119 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed January 23, 2013

For our second trip to Singapore we planned to stay again at the Fairmont Hotel because we had loved the location on our first visit. However, their prices had risen significantly so we went searching for an alternative and TA reviews led us to The Residence at the Singapore Recreation Club where we booked four nights.

As mentioned in a few reviews, the taxi driver had not heard of the place, but I had printed out a Google map and we arrived with only minimal fuss (it’s a little tricky because of one-way streets around the Padang). Taxi fare from the airport with the after-midnight surcharge was $25. There was a worker in the building lobby when I arrived to let me in; hotel reception is located upstairs but there is an elevator.

We had requested a quiet room away from the street noise and were given room #309 overlooking the Padang at the end of the hall. Outside our room was the terrace that is shared by all guests and, unfortunately, our end was covered and had seating so smokers tended to hang out there. And that location we discovered on our last evening was directly over an entertainment space that could be used by Club members. Our last night was a living hell as someone was celebrating a birthday or something with a live band, and at least one guest decided he could sing (very off-key)) with the group. It went on for hours even though we placed several calls to reception. Apparently the Club members can do whatever they want--hotel guests be damned. Even my husband who is deaf in one ear could not sleep; we could literally hear all the lyrics.

The room itself was fine, but with not a lot of floor space as there were two double beds. There was plenty of storage room with two shelves for suitcases. There was a nice refrigerator and a big television with HBO and other cable channels. The bedside table did not have a clock, but did have an IPOD dock. The lighting over the bed was very dim making it difficult to read. The beds were very comfortable. As mentioned in other reviews there were 3 steps down from the entry door and bathroom level to the bed area and it is not lit. Knowing this I brought a battery-operated night light to set on the steps and it helped. The AC seemed to have a mind of its own.

The hotel lobby is fairly small but had a computer for guests to use for free (the room also had very good wifi –also free). One big advantage of staying here are the fitness facilities. The gym had a good selection of equipment and the pool area was wonderful. There’s a desk where you can pick-up pool towels and get a locker key. There’s a very large pool for swimming, a smaller “falls” pool, and a children’s pool. The restaurant is located on the same floor as the fitness facilities. Breakfast consisted of a variety of western and Asian choices but the hot items were not really hot. They will do eggs cooked to order.

The hotel is located across the street from the Raffles City Plaza which has numerous upscale shops and lots of food choices including the Jason's Market which is a wonderful grocery store with deli and bakery.

The reception staff was very nice and provided lots of visitor information. Unfortunately their hands seemed to be tied when it came to the nightmare party night. It is my understanding this hotel was added to the club to help with its financial survival. I would suggest someone make the club members aware that hotel guests need to have some rights (i.e. the right to be able to sleep at night) if they want to keep this establishment running profitably. It’s a shame our pleasant stay was ruined; we will not book here again.

Room Tip: Find a room away from any entertainment space in the Club below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank comcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (894)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

503 - 509 of 894 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

great rooms, gym and swimming pool. opposite to the changing rooms (where you have all the toiletteries and hair spray) there is a stimming sauna and cols and hot pools to dop in. Jacuzzi is very nice size. The thing is you have to go through the changing room to get to the window where you can get the towel. Very strickt with the dressing code: proper training attire is required to use the gym, which is equipped with everything possible. The hotel is close to the Raffal's place and shopping malls, only 10 min walk to Marina bay, where the evening action is with the light shows and great food in marina shopping or on the opposite side by fullerton hotel. Our flight was late and we were allowed to leave the luggage in the hotel and then use the shower in the changing room when we picked our bags. Great luxuriuos place, nicely situated in calm oasis. Breakfast was very good, with some new options to the europian kind, fresh fruites and pastries as well. Very helpfull personal!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laststation45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed 3 nights (Nov 2012) arriving very early the first morning. Of course our rooms were not available at this early hour so staff arranged for a small conference room be made available for us to relax and catch up on some much needed sleep. Blankets and pillows were offered which was much appreciated at the time. The night manager went out of his way to help us and our room was ready by late morning. Comfortable bed, good bathroom, great location with the LRT over the road and walking distance to the marina area. Would definitely stay here again, it has that old world charm and a cosiness of bygone days.

Room Tip: Our room looked over the cricket pitch towards the city skyline
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chooka57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We enjoyed our short stay here, the staff are very friendly and helpful and the place has a charm from a bygone era. The rooms are modern though and the beds comfortable, the water heater was a bit tricky until we realised we had to turn it on to get hot water, this was just a switch by the door with the other light switches, not till we didn't have hot water that we went searching. This is a great location, walking distance to lots or eateries and shops and the price through Agoda was quite reasonable for Singapore.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jdaizd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed three nights. Nov 2012. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Close to LRT ( subway )
Request room overlooking the Padong area. Make sure cab driver knows where
the Hotel is before getting in cab Would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Pick room overlooking Padong area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mac747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Unbeatable location, small but comfortable rooms - ours went out onto a common terrace with view of cricket ground and skyline which we enjoyed and made the room seem more spacious.
Reasonable value for Singapore.
All staff pleasant.
Hotel let down by mediocre breakfast (scrambled egg is sweetened!). On the second morning we avoided the fluorescent lit breakfast room with shout out loud radio and chlorine smell by taking fruit and pastries up to our room.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnthSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed three nights here and loved the location the room overlooked the Padong with great views they have free wi fi nice pool and the breakfast was not 5 star but still really good we found the staff really friendly and helpful
I think the mixed reviews are due to the fact this is not the usual hotel as it is in the old historic recreation club and the rooms are a little small but we felt it added to its charm but if you are looking for modern luxury 4/ 5 star hotel this is not the place for you if you like something a little different you will love this place and we would stay again

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BMR18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Grand Park City Hall
#51 of 317 in Singapore
2,499 reviews
Naumi Hotel
#18 of 317 in Singapore
2,302 reviews
Marina Bay
Marina Mandarin Singapore
Marina Mandarin Singapore
#48 of 317 in Singapore
6,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont Singapore
#20 of 317 in Singapore
6,122 reviews
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
#117 of 317 in Singapore
4,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club

Address: B Connaught Drive Singapore Recreation Club, Singapore 179682, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Business Hotel in Singapore
#98 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 26 deluxe rooms, in a central location conveniently located near the business district, major attractions and shopping centres, The Residence at Singapore Recreation Club offers travellers an oasis of entertainment and pleasure. Located just minutes away from Singapore's newly opened integrated resorts, it is perfect for those new to the Lion city or visitors who want to experience Singapore in a new light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing