We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club
Ranked #119 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed here on the way back from Europe. Lovely modern, comfortable room overlooking the Pedang. Rooms were all new recently. Right in the heart of the City, but quiet at night. Being able to purchase a late checkout was useful, however, the long wait for a room after an early flight arrival was difficult.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (894)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

541 - 547 of 894 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed at the Residence twice in September and would highy recommend the Club over the big chain hotels. Location is excellent, on the Pedang and very close to the metro. Five star service from reception and front of house staff. Breakfast choice could be better. Will be back

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Pedang.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gdf07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed here once on the way to Vietnam and once on the way back and while it isn't top of the range it is very comfortable and has everything you need.
It's a bit quirky in that you enter on the street level and then go up to the 3rd floor to the reception desk.
We had a room overlooking the Padang which was nice and quiet and at the other end is the Singapore Cricket club.
This hotel is not far from Raffles and opposite a shopping mall where there are heaps of shops and food outlets. We went up to the top floor where the local food court is and had wonderful and so cheap food. My husband couldn't get over the duck prices and I loved the salmon on a hot plate with miso soup. Fresh fruit station in the middle as well kept us supplied with delicious drinks.
The beds in the Residence are very comfortable and there is a cute bathroom where you can't swing a cat but the design layout is very good. They've squeezed everything into a small area very well, all modern and nice so if you are on a budget or just don't want to pay the huge prices everywhere else, then this is the one for you.
Lovely staff as well.
For breakfast you go down a few levels to the pool area, ( inside ) and they have a very nice buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RubyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

The hotel is located right next to the City Hall metro station. It cost less than 2 dollars to get there from the airport. It is part of the recreation club and the rooms and reception are on the 3rd floor.

Our room was very spacious and the facilities in the room were ok - comfortable bed, desk, small fridge, tea/coffee maker, flat screen TV and A/C. Unfortunately it was noisy and dark. The noise was constant and came from an unknown source - sounded like an engine of some sort. The bathroom was also poorly lit, it was however quite modern and clean. The shower area was big and enclosed in tinted glass. Toiletries and hair dryer were provided. Internet connection was free, free newspaper was delivered every morning and breakfast was included in the room price. It was served in the basement, in a cafe next door to the pool and gym. The choice of food was very limited. Staff at the reception were friendly and helpful.

They will store your luggage after you check out of the hotel and allow you to use the club's changerooms/showers before your flight.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pralinka10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

My husband and I travelled to this hotel by train from the airport and found it easy to find as it is located very close to City Hall MRT. We stayed for four nights and really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We found the staff to be very helpful and accommodating. As we went when they were setting up for the F1 it was difficult to get out of the hotel on the day that we were leaving to go to the airport. The hotel manager went out of his way to carry our bags and help us to get almost all the way to the MRT. This was very much appreciated...and unexpected. Our room was very clean and well maintained. We were happy with the view, as it opened up to a balcony with a view of Marina Bay Sands, which was nice. The bathroom was clean and modern. The bed was comfortable and the curtains were heavy...allowing for a restful sleep in a dark room. There was some noise, but not enough to disturb us or hinder our experience. It's location is fantastic!!! So close to the MRT, and within walking distance to everything you need...shopping centers, food, restaurants, etc. We walked to Marina Bay Sands, The Singapore Flyer, and so on. It is very central to everything. The a/c worked well, which we found important as it was very humid. We had breakfast included every morning. We really liked that you could order your eggs, however you like and they would make it fresh to order in the kitchen. We loved the omlettes. We stayed in a deluxe room (Connaught room). Overall, from what we researched pricing wise (and on trip advisor), this is a great hotel with only a small amount of rooms...and we wre very happy with our choice. We hope that others find our review useful, as we use this site all the time when travelling. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. Thank you to everyone for a very pleasant stay...especially the hotel manager who went out of his way on our day of departure (we are very sorry we have misplaced the card with his name on it at the moment)

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are a good choice for a little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We booked for three nights in early October, the first night was suggested as we arrived in Singapoore at 6am and wanted a room ready for us on arrival after a long flight from Europe, we didn't want to wait. We had a shower, then breakfast, but the smell of chlorine on the way to the breakfast room is overpowering and put me off my food, they really should install extractors, this is not healthy.

Breakfast was OK, but I have had better. But our main complaint was the terrible lighting in our room which was on the third floor, not far from reception. We could not see to put makeup on and the mirrors were a smokey colour which made matters worse. There was not much natural light in the room as there was a large overhang above the window which darkened the room anyway.

The bathroom was designed for a handicapped person and the shower curtains did not meet properly and were a bit short, so water went all over the floor. The basin was very low, ideal for someone in a wheelchair, but there was no vanity or surface to put anything and no decent mirror in there also.

The room had a fridge, tea making facilities, but the was only room for one case and was too cramped for two people with medium size cases and cabin luggage. For a few dollars more we could have had more comfort elsewhere.

However, the drinks in the bar were not expensive, the staff were very helpful, the beds were comfortable, the cleaners were efficient and the location is excellent. I wish I had asked immediately for a larger room and if I had been on my own this room would have been ideal for one, however, they really need to change the mirrors and fix the lighting.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights on a stopover.

The bathroom wasn't super clean and the carpet had a huge stain on it.

Our room was right by reception and we could hear everything.

Breakfast was included and was ok.

Thank dreamingtraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Grand Park City Hall
#51 of 317 in Singapore
2,499 reviews
Naumi Hotel
#18 of 317 in Singapore
2,302 reviews
Marina Bay
Marina Mandarin Singapore
Marina Mandarin Singapore
#48 of 317 in Singapore
5,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont Singapore
#20 of 317 in Singapore
6,122 reviews
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
#117 of 317 in Singapore
4,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club

Address: B Connaught Drive Singapore Recreation Club, Singapore 179682, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Business Hotel in Singapore
#98 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 26 deluxe rooms, in a central location conveniently located near the business district, major attractions and shopping centres, The Residence at Singapore Recreation Club offers travellers an oasis of entertainment and pleasure. Located just minutes away from Singapore's newly opened integrated resorts, it is perfect for those new to the Lion city or visitors who want to experience Singapore in a new light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing