We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“disappointing service in a great place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of klapsons, The Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
klapsons, The Boutique Hotel
Ranked #159 of 304 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“disappointing service in a great place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were very excited to check-in at Klapsons, that was for us the perfect place for a great Valentine's Day celebration. We booked the Oasis Suite and were eager to enjoy the room with its big terrace and jacuzzi - i selected carefully this room because it was also the only solution for me to enjoy a bath with an injured leg, in a spacious jacuzzi. We had opportunities to visit Klapsons hall and building before and the edgy design was attractive. We were expecting a fantastic stay, but our disappointment was great...

When we checked in our room, we discovered that the terrace was completely flooded (the terrace's roof is not protected against the rain), the jacuzzi was dirty and, worse, the indoor part of the room was also partly flooded, terribly musty and mouldy. The carpet was very humid and smelly. Mould and bad smell everywhere, especially with the furniture near the window, like the couch. Some lamps were not working. The staff member who checked us in nonchalantly ignored those facts and our reaction and left us with our jaws dropped.

What surprised and actually angered us was the very nonchalant and unapologetic attitude of the staff, astonishing and frankly unacceptable in such a luxurious hotel. We had to clearly state our disappointment and to point out at most of the problems with the room to get what we should had from the beginning : another room, since the one we booked for was pretty much obviously disgusting and not fit for any guests. We were finally "upgraded" to the suite next door, but still without any explanation, clear apology (except a vague "sorry"), no commercial gesture. The staff member insisted that this move to the suite next door was "complementary", while it;s not, it's just the least they could do for customers who had booked a room and were heavily disappointed.

Even if the staff stated the fact that giving us the room next door was an "upgrade", and it's true that the room was beautiful (see below for the room description), that was not fitting with our expectations : the suite we were "upgraded" in had twin beds, not exactly what you could expect for a young couple on Valentine's day; the indoor bath-jacuzzi was beautiful but very small and i could not enjoy it with my injured leg. There were also a few minor disappointments, surprising in such a classy hotel, like the fact there was no coffee-machine (there was one in the Oasis suite, though), the bathroom amenities were very minimalistic (no disposable razor, no cotton tips ear buds, no brush). We were also very surprised by the absence of protection for the outdoor furniture, the couches being soaking wet and mouldy, even after the morning sunshine.

Despite this heavy disappointment, we enjoyed the room's elegant design and comfy furniture. The rooms (both Oasis Suite and Suite) were spacious and smartly designed, indeed. Lots of buttond allow the guests to change the lights moods, to move the curtains, even if the amount of functions makes it rather confusing than convenient.

We also appreciated the flexibility of the staff for the check-out, allowing a late check-out without having to ask for - but perhaps it was in compensation of our huge disappointment.

The location is great. If you walk a few hundreds meters, you can find hip restaurants (Tras Street). You're not far from Chinatown, even if the MRT (Tanjong Pagar station) is not that close.

View from the sky bar is great too.

Room Tip: The Oasis Suite might be tempting, but avoid it : it's not protected from the rain and gets very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert O, Manager at klapsons, The Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback. At klapsons, we work hard to offer good and friendly service & we will continue to work harder to meet your expectations. I hope you will give us another chance in the future. If you’d like to contact me directly, I am most glad to receive your call. Once again, thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    63
    33
    11
    8
See reviews for
6
70
22
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We enjoyed our 1 night stay @ the Klapsons. The service was good, the room unique and the outdoor area (small lounge sofa and outdoor shower) was a cute and unexpected treat. We couldn't use the outdoor sofa though since the area is not covered and therefore soaking wet after heavy rains.
The room itself was quite small, but had everything you need. Very interesting design with funky colors and furniture. The Mattress was comfy.
Breakfast at the 'sleeping Rhino' was ok, but nothing exciting.
Unfortunately both Fabrika Bar and Rhino Restaurant were closed when we arrived (due to Chinese New Year). It would have been nice to know this beforehand and not just upon check in. So it was hard to find dinner near by.
Overall though it was a pleasant stay and we enjoyed it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 77Savanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert O, Manager at klapsons, The Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. At klapsons, we work hard to offer good and friendly, efficient service. I will pass your feedback on to the team, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Three floors of rooms, king size bed and with room to move. My second floor room opened up to a small private courtyard with room for two people to sit. You can hear the traffic but it's not loud enough to disturb your sleep. Friendly and helpful staff. Chopard amenities, bathrobes and slippers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert O, Manager at klapsons, The Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you very much for the positive comments. It’s always encouraging when guests acknowledge the good work of our team. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

A great little design hotel. A feast for the eyes and senses. Perfect for a personal, individual experience. Wonderful service. Within walking distance to the subway, which is very convinient for getting around. I took it from the airport on arrival... (Cost only $2.00). The hotel is good value for great quality comparing to other hotels.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ygagnon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert O, Manager at klapsons, The Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you very much for the positive comments. I've just shared your comments with our team & it planted smiles on everyone's face. Once again, thank you for staying with us & we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Pro - on the direct airport MRT line, not far to get anywhere by MRT, not a big hotel chain, fresh fruit at breakfast, spacious room with terrace and outside shower, some good restaurants nearby for lunch as well as and markets, short stroll till chinatown, nespresso, soda, juice and beer in the room, iphone dock, and probably the most comfortable bed I ever slept in.

Con - due to it's location rather in the CBD than Chinatown there isn't much to do. People flock to offices during the day, during night it's empty and everything is closed including restaurants (at 10pm we just found one korean open around the corner). The design of the hotel is unique but needs modernizing, the restaurant at breakfast was freezing, I think I caught my cold there, breakfast not too much choice but freshly made eggs, fruit and good choice of cereals + sausages, the shower in the middle of the room looks interesting but isn't practical, we took shower on the terrace instead which should have been cleaned before as well as bulbs exchanged - 3 of them not working so ended up taking shower in the dark, we missed a comb and cotton pads + earbuds, and if you are a fresh couple you might want to reconsider given the lack of privacy of the semi transparent toilet and see through shower.

The fastest way to get there is to exit Tanjong Pagar station and turn right, at the first crossing turn left with the biulding site to your right. At the end of that short road turn left and cross over the pedestrian crossing into the shopping mall. Pass it and exit turning left. Immediately pass over into the next mall. Pass it and turn left, cross over Enggor Str and a few metres streight on the left you're already there.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marthinika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert O, Manager at klapsons, The Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback. At klapsons, we're always listening & I have shared your comments with the team so we can make your future stay with us a more memorable one. Once again, thank you for staying with us & we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

It was a great experience and it was our first staycation with our toddler. Not many boutique hotels are 'child-friendly'. We're pleasantly surprised that Klapsons is able to accommodate us. Plus, they're very prompt with their service :) We'll definitely check-in again if we're planning for another getaway!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ratna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert O, Manager at klapsons, The Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you very much for the positive comments. All of us at klapsons are glad your family enjoyed the stay with us and we look forward to seeing all of you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My GF and I stayed at the Oasis Suite for a night and I also took the opportunity to propose to her. I'm glad that I've certainly made the choice to choose Klapsons for the proposal.

I've called up a week before my stay to request for a "site survey" on the Oasis Suite. The staff over the phone, Jaci, picked up and mentioned that she'll be able to show me a room of a similar layout (I suppose its the Oasis room) because the suite was occupied. Went over in about an hour and Jaci gladly brought me up to the room for my "site survey"

I wrote several emails to Klapsons in the week leading up to the proposal and not only they were quick in responding to the email, but it seems that they are more than willing to acede

Room Tip: My GF and I stayed at the Oasis Suite for a night and I also took the opportunity to propose to her...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoseWMQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
New Majestic Hotel
#74 of 304 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 652 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#50 of 304 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 1,376 reviews
Little India
Wanderlust
Wanderlust
#73 of 304 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#13 of 304 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 1,062 reviews
Amara Singapore Hotel
#78 of 304 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 1,273 reviews
Naumi Hotel
#16 of 304 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 1,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to klapsons, The Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about klapsons, The Boutique Hotel

Property: klapsons, The Boutique Hotel
Address: 15 Hoe Chiang Road Tower Fifteen | #01-01 Tower 15, Singapore 089316, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#96 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — klapsons, The Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the southern fringe of the Central Business District, klapsons, The Boutique Hotel affords quiet sophistication, refined luxury and functionality. Passionately crafted by William Sawaya of contemporary design forerunner Sawaya & Moroni, guests luxuriate in a practical yet innovative alternative to mainstream perceptions of a hotel stay. Each guestroom is individually characterised such that no two rooms are alike. Boasting over 750sqm of event space with superlative views of the Singapore Port and the heritage of the Tanjong Pagar residential estate, klapsons is the first boutique hotel in Singapore to offer three intimate yet distinct venues for corporate seminars, meetings, social engagements and weddings.The Sleeping Rhino is the hotel's bistro-styled restaurant that conjures wholesome casual dining at Lobby Level; Lucas Deli serves up gourmet and takeaway bites; while the sky-terrace bar, Fabrika, perched on 17th floor was opened in August 2010. To ensure that we continuously provide a pleasant environment for all our guest, the hotel reserve the right to levy a surcharge for any gatherings consisting of more than two person per guest room without further notice. External food and drinks are not permitted within the hotel premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your klapsons, The Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klapsons, The Boutique Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing