We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A great small design hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of klapsons, The Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
klapsons, The Boutique Hotel
Ranked #134 of 304 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great small design hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

A great little design hotel. A feast for the eyes and senses. Perfect for a personal, individual experience. Wonderful service. Within walking distance to the subway, which is very convinient for getting around. I took it from the airport on arrival... (Cost only $2.00). The hotel is good value for great quality comparing to other hotels.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ygagnon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert O, Manager at klapsons, The Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you very much for the positive comments. I've just shared your comments with our team & it planted smiles on everyone's face. Once again, thank you for staying with us & we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    62
    33
    11
    8
See reviews for
6
70
22
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Pro - on the direct airport MRT line, not far to get anywhere by MRT, not a big hotel chain, fresh fruit at breakfast, spacious room with terrace and outside shower, some good restaurants nearby for lunch as well as and markets, short stroll till chinatown, nespresso, soda, juice and beer in the room, iphone dock, and probably the most comfortable bed I ever slept in.

Con - due to it's location rather in the CBD than Chinatown there isn't much to do. People flock to offices during the day, during night it's empty and everything is closed including restaurants (at 10pm we just found one korean open around the corner). The design of the hotel is unique but needs modernizing, the restaurant at breakfast was freezing, I think I caught my cold there, breakfast not too much choice but freshly made eggs, fruit and good choice of cereals + sausages, the shower in the middle of the room looks interesting but isn't practical, we took shower on the terrace instead which should have been cleaned before as well as bulbs exchanged - 3 of them not working so ended up taking shower in the dark, we missed a comb and cotton pads + earbuds, and if you are a fresh couple you might want to reconsider given the lack of privacy of the semi transparent toilet and see through shower.

The fastest way to get there is to exit Tanjong Pagar station and turn right, at the first crossing turn left with the biulding site to your right. At the end of that short road turn left and cross over the pedestrian crossing into the shopping mall. Pass it and exit turning left. Immediately pass over into the next mall. Pass it and turn left, cross over Enggor Str and a few metres streight on the left you're already there.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marthinika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert O, Manager at klapsons, The Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback. At klapsons, we're always listening & I have shared your comments with the team so we can make your future stay with us a more memorable one. Once again, thank you for staying with us & we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

It was a great experience and it was our first staycation with our toddler. Not many boutique hotels are 'child-friendly'. We're pleasantly surprised that Klapsons is able to accommodate us. Plus, they're very prompt with their service :) We'll definitely check-in again if we're planning for another getaway!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ratna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert O, Manager at klapsons, The Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you very much for the positive comments. All of us at klapsons are glad your family enjoyed the stay with us and we look forward to seeing all of you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My GF and I stayed at the Oasis Suite for a night and I also took the opportunity to propose to her. I'm glad that I've certainly made the choice to choose Klapsons for the proposal.

I've called up a week before my stay to request for a "site survey" on the Oasis Suite. The staff over the phone, Jaci, picked up and mentioned that she'll be able to show me a room of a similar layout (I suppose its the Oasis room) because the suite was occupied. Went over in about an hour and Jaci gladly brought me up to the room for my "site survey"

I wrote several emails to Klapsons in the week leading up to the proposal and not only they were quick in responding to the email, but it seems that they are more than willing to acede

Room Tip: My GF and I stayed at the Oasis Suite for a night and I also took the opportunity to propose to her...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoseWMQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Occupying the first 3 floors of an office block in the Central Business District (CBD) / China Town area of Singapore it is a very interesting experience. We booked a Klapsons Oasis Suite 301 from memory which was a good sized room but no separate sitting area as the suite name would suggest. The bathroom on the other hand is extensive but the shower only has one setting which is in the form of a large tap tipping water over you from a great height. Not for everyone as if you turned facing the shower there was a danger it could to drown you! The volume and direction of the water poured out onto the floor although this appears to have been catered for as there was drainage.

Room decor was modern and the light settings interesting and worked pretty well.

I note that there have in the past been some complaints over the Jacuzzi which is outside in a separate area (not a problem for Singapore). We found it to be clean although it too a couple of minutes to remove the bamboo leaf deposited presumably due to wind. Despite intital trepidation this was a great way to unwind at the end of the day.

Overall service was fine, check in efficient and needs catered for. The pod is odd and the acoustics off putting but you will remember it.

Breakfast was reasonable with a fresh cooked option that worked well. If you are looking for a vast international buffet here you are not going to get it as there are only 17 rooms.

We went up to the top floor (Fabrika) which is an open lounge / light food bar and spent a pleasant hour listening to a couple of guitarists - The happy hour two for 1 is reasonable value but note that this is the (CBD) and so they are closed on Saturday and Sunday nights as there is no trade.

As the hotel is in China town there are many bars and restaurants in the area with the nearest MRT (Tanjong Pagar) around 400 metres away. China town night market can be walked to (slowly) as well as Club Street (one of the happening areas of Singapore) the rest is a taxi ride.

So all in all if you have business in the CBD then this is an option. If you were planning a reception and wanted to put guests up here, this is an option. A acouple of nights stay in Singapore if you are fed up with large hotels.......great but this is an aquired taste.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WinchesterCathedral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Chon Buri, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The hotel location is suitable for business trip especially, it's located on the heart of business centre nearby MRT station. The hotel decoration is very nice for those who like modern decoration style. The metallic cycle reception counter was very attractive for me as well as the lighting.

Once I opended the door, it made my surprised because of the transparent glass shower tube in the middle of the room!!! Good that we have close toilet in room :D
I personally like the decoration and the room size is quiet big compares with others hotels in Singapore. I love comfy bed with many pillows, it made me sleep very well after my entire stressful meeting.

Besides the decoration, the facilities is one thing I like:
- floor to ceiling window with city view
- wide wall mirror
- digital weighing apparatus
- fridge
- coffee machine (you can have your cappucino or decafeine coffee with fresh milk not a kettle with instant coffee!!)
- lighting, curtain and air condition are able to adjust at the entrance, window and on your bedside!

Breakfast was ok with limited selection due to only 17 rooms capacity. But the quality was good with service minded staffs.

I would love to stay there again!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lipatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Klapsons is more peculiar than boutique, the ridiculous pod you climb into to register on arrival certainly sets the tone for a different but less than remarkable experience.

in their desire to be different, clearly they are trying hard unfortunately in this instance 'trying hard' comes across as 'try hard' as the important things are missed in preference to emphasis on the odd and impractical.

In my room
the lighting particularly in the bathroom was inadequate and broken.
shower with a full window to the street was ridiculous given it lost its effect because you had to pull down the blind to stop people in the street watching you shower.
the wireless internet was as good as useless, best place for reasonable reception was to stand in front of the lifts.
the room was clean and the introduction of a coffee pod machine was a nice touch but then that is becoming industry standard now.
the toilet by the from door and the shower at the other end of the apartment requires some forward planning
plenty of hanging space for clothes if you ar a long term tenant.
bed was ok
lobby
the tables and chairs in the lobby were a missmatch of quirky pieces with no rhyme or reason to them, not comfortable to sit and do business and again internet was only good in one corner.

What little interaction i had with staff was stock standard Singapore helpfulness and friendliness

over all I would stay there again if I had to but would not make it my first choice, there are plenty of other hotels offering better planned and functioning facilities in Singapore

Room Tip: avoid the window in the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
New Majestic Hotel
#78 of 304 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 639 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#47 of 304 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 1,353 reviews
Naumi Hotel
#13 of 304 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#14 of 304 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 1,044 reviews
Little India
Wanderlust
Wanderlust
#74 of 304 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 701 reviews
Dorsett Singapore
#93 of 304 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to klapsons, The Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about klapsons, The Boutique Hotel

Property: klapsons, The Boutique Hotel
Address: 15 Hoe Chiang Road Tower Fifteen | #01-01 Tower 15, Singapore 089316, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#94 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — klapsons, The Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the southern fringe of the Central Business District, klapsons, The Boutique Hotel affords quiet sophistication, refined luxury and functionality. Passionately crafted by William Sawaya of contemporary design forerunner Sawaya & Moroni, guests luxuriate in a practical yet innovative alternative to mainstream perceptions of a hotel stay. Each guestroom is individually characterised such that no two rooms are alike. Boasting over 750sqm of event space with superlative views of the Singapore Port and the heritage of the Tanjong Pagar residential estate, klapsons is the first boutique hotel in Singapore to offer three intimate yet distinct venues for corporate seminars, meetings, social engagements and weddings.The Sleeping Rhino is the hotel's bistro-styled restaurant that conjures wholesome casual dining at Lobby Level; Lucas Deli serves up gourmet and takeaway bites; while the sky-terrace bar, Fabrika, perched on 17th floor was opened in August 2010. To ensure that we continuously provide a pleasant environment for all our guest, the hotel reserve the right to levy a surcharge for any gatherings consisting of more than two person per guest room without further notice. External food and drinks are not permitted within the hotel premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your klapsons, The Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klapsons, The Boutique Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing