We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Northern Indian food”

Tandoori Corner - Balestier Road
Ranked #442 of 10,791 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $35
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: At Tandoori Corner we promise to serve -Fine Dining Quality food in a casual setting at wallet friendly prices . Restaurant is located in the heart of Singapore at Balestier road which is famous for eateries. Tandoori Corner's Balestier outlet was opened in 2008 to cater to foodie Singaporeans and International visitors to our island city state.
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
677 reviews
450 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Outstanding Northern Indian food”
Reviewed November 17, 2011

What a delightful surprise -- this recently opened restaurant more than met my expectations (not that I am such an expert on Indian food!). My friends and I had a dinner of about eight (!) courses ... starting with two appetizers to die for: Papdi Chat and Onion Bhaji. Of the remaining dishes, I especially loved the Punjabi Dhal, the Aloo Gobi and the Mushroom Pillau.

I visit Singapore rather frequently -- no question but that I will head back to this new restaurant again!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    32
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Indian style at liitle high price!!!”
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We 3 friends been here for quick dinner because we had reserved for movie in Shaw Balestier for an Tollywood movie "Orange". We were hungry and time was very less for movie. Staff understood us while we talking over table and offered quick service to make sure we reach Shaw Balestier soon. Food quality was good, quick service had offered and price was little high.

  • Visited November 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vijayakumarc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average food, restaurant price”
Reviewed September 30, 2011

For a non-restaurant setting, the price is considered high. While the food is ok, I can get better quality food at this price around Singapore. Try Vash at the kallang indoor stadium, more romantic and tastier food

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mum-o-3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Indian food we ever had”
Reviewed January 27, 2011

If you like to try great Indian food you have to go to Tandoori Corner. We live in Singapore and each time we have guests we bring them there at least once during their stay. So far everybody loved the food and it´s also not expensive. The service is great and everybody is nice and caring. Definitely a must!

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaela888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Probably the worst restaurant I've ever been to.”
Reviewed December 31, 2010

We went to this restaurant with high expectations, after reading all the positive reviews on tripadvisor. After eating at Tandoori Corner, I've now lost my trust for tripadvisor. Seriously, there is not one positive thing I can say about this restaurant. There is no indoor seating; only a few dirty chairs and tables set up outside in the corridor of Balestier Plaza. While we were eating, it started raining, and a bit of the dirty rain water landed straight into our food and our faces. The waiters were rude and aloof, and the service was horrible. They have very few dishes, so we didn't really have too many options. The food took ages to arrive, and once it finally came, it was terribly disappointing. I am from India, and I've eaten at countless Indian restaurants, and this was easily the worst. It was bland (and I told the waiter to make it extra spicy), flavorless, and not at all authentic. And the quantity was also quite small, so you're going to have to order more than you usually do. So at least the price must be decent, right? Not quite. It cost $40 for 3 people, which is not worth paying for this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank mani297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tandoori Corner - Balestier Road also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Tandoori Corner - Balestier Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing