We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Enjoyable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wangz Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wangz Hotel
Ranked #13 of 304 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

Ultra modern rooms. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Located walking distance to MRT and Chinatown. Bus stop out front. Breakfast adequate. As the hotel is fairly new, make sure you have address or tell taxi driver it's next door to Link Hotel. If you are going to the new Casino make sure you take your passport or strictly NO ENTRY! Room service is restaurant quality and affordable.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestAussie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    328
    75
    10
    5
See reviews for
137
548
78
158
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

it is certainly one of the most fashionable hotel in Singapore. Instead of staying in a 5 star standard hotel, i chose to stay this boutique hotel, both for saving cost and traveling differently.

My room is superior style, which is ironically the cheapest one,and it is indeed a little bit small, though space is adequate. Design is good, especially the bathroom. As some of reviewer mentioned, Wangz room receives hotel music from it public speaker system. Of coz you can turn it off or down, but the music they chosen is indeed nice melody and quite good to accompany you to sleep. Location is convenient and people there are helpful. The Halo rooftop bar is certainly a best place to relax after a full day appointments. The large and crispy projection screen makes it the wonderful place to watch world cup.

The only con of my two days stay is the breakfast, choices are too limited.

anyway, it is a wonderful stay in Wangz hotel, one of the sexiest in town.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonathanWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
638 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

This hotel stands out just by the architectural design, it's round and made of metal. The hotel is very small and very modern. The staff were amazing, they all remembered our family name and were very friendly and helpful. The room was lovely with beautiful bathroom. We stayed in two rooms, the first one faced some small back street with outdoor eateries. The problem with this room was that every morning around 7 the bin collectors came and made terrible noise emptying the bins. First morning we thought it was just that one but when it happened the next morning we asked for another room. This room was very similar in design and on the same floor but faced the main road. No bins there :)
The hotel is a walking distance to Outram MRT, takes about 10 minutes to walk there. The breakfast was included but was nothing special, the usual toast, bacon and eggs, yoghurt...
Try the rooftop bar in the evening, it's very nice.
The best thing about this hotel is the staff and the free internet.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janulik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

The Wangz is a new hotel, however it is not a new building, but rather a refurbishment of an old building with the resulting flaws that this brings. The staff provide an excellent service, but being a small hotel services can be limited. It is unknown to taxi drivers, yet too far to walk from the nearest train station in Singapore's heat or rain. Breakfast was poor. Considering that the price was not much cheaper than downtown 5 star hotels, and its poor location, the value for money is not worth the extra effort required to stay there, just to save a few dollars.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacko582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

My Husband and I booked a trip to Bali with a couple nights layover in Singapore (May 6-8, and 14th). I chose Wangz based on the trip advisor reviews I had read. I was sold on the Rainfall shower alone! The hotel definitely did not disappoint! For being a small boutique hotel, the service was impeccable. The rooms were modern and nice, the bed was comfortable, and the shower was very relaxing. The staff went above and beyond in their service, they arranged the night safari for us, recommended great restaurants, surprised us with a delicious cake for our honeymoon, and even had breakfast provided for our early check out (4am) on our last night. My husband and I walked all over the area, and when further away had no problem taking a cab back. It would be good to mention the link hotel to the cab driver, just for reference. I would highly recommend this hotel, and look forward to when I can return.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Meganelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

We checked in for a staycation and explored the nearby market for meals.
The room is neat and well designed. There is a 42" LCD TV with dvd player.
The rain shower in the toilet has excellent water pressure.
My only gripe was that the breakfast selection was rather poor.
But that's not an issue with the wonderful Tiong Bahru Market nearby.
There is free wireless broadband which was a plus and a ipod dock in each room.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank staycation79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

Highly recommend this hotel. Everything is modern and well finished. The rooms are about the size you would expect and fit in with the style of the hotel. The bed was very comfortable with many pillows supplied. Had a very good sleep and didn't want to get up early. The staff is very friendly and professional. The hotel itself is not large. The restaurant is located next to the lobby. The hotel has a gym, albeit very small, but it does have some free weights and a running machine. No charge for wifi which is a nice change. The hotel does lack an appropriate area to drop off guests. I could tell the hotel staff were aware that this is a flaw and they do their best to overcome it. For some who are a little picky about their service, this may be a slight slight issue. I found that every taxi driver I had didn't know the hotel. I suppose that is a sign of how new it is. I remembered what it looked like in the photo on the website and this helped find it. So make sure you have the address and let the taxi driver know it is next to the Link Hotel. It is by no means a large Sheraton style hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 11black
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
AMOY by Far East Hospitality
#1 of 304 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 765 reviews
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Hotel Vagabond
#5 of 304 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#12 of 304 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 514 reviews
Naumi Hotel
#15 of 304 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wangz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wangz Hotel

Property: Wangz Hotel
Address: 231 Outram Road, Singapore 169040, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Tiong Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#15 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#17 Business Hotel in Singapore
#27 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wangz Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enter the chic lobby of this luxurious boutique hotel and proceed to your elegant room, which feels more like your own private retreat. WANGZ Hotel, with its ultra-modern interior, is located minutes away from Singapore's main shopping area, major cultural attractions, as well as the banking and financial district. Every room features modern comforts like rain shower, Sealy Posturepedic bed, 37-inch LCD TV, complimentary internet access, iPod docking station, piped-in mood music, complimentary selected beverages from mini-bar, as well as luxurious bath amenities. Guests may also enjoy complimentary shuttle service to the nearest subway station, the financial district and Orchard Road shopping belt daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, TravelClick, Priceline, Odigeo, ACCOR, Travelocity, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Wangz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wangz Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing