We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A short break with the design” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wangz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wangz Hotel
Ranked #11 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A short break with the design”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2014

We stayed at this beautiful design boutique hotel for 2 nights and we love it! Staff were really attending with exellence service. Our room is on the 4th floor 403 with bathtub.
Good point:
-You could relax in your bathtub since the hotel doesn't have swimming pool.
Bad point:
-Unfortunately we heard some lady screaming at night around 4:30am on our second night. That is mean, the rooms are not sound proved.

Breakfast was ok, selection of cold cut, juices, dim sum and hot dishes. Lunch was good since they set up the promotion of 3 courses lunch with reasonable price of 18.8 s$ ++. Staff at Nectar ara friendly and helpful (one with spectacle). Rooftop bar Halo is one of the hightlight of this hotel. Bar is set on 6th floor with a VIEW and lovely duo acoustic band. Staff were really friendly and helpful. We ordered some snacks with our beers before kick off to Clarke Quay.

We would like to thank you to all staff once again for a nice stay and we will definitely stay at Wangz again.

Room Tip: Our room is on the 4th floor 403 with bathtub. Good point: -You could relax in your bathtub since...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worapot W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Worapot W,

Thank you for taking time to write this review and sharing your experience. I am glad you enjoyed dining at both Nectar restaurant and Halo rooftop lounge, and had positive encounters with the service delivered throughout the hotel.

I truly apologise for the disruption to your rest on the second night and will improve the soundproofing during our future refurbishment.

All of us appreciate having you as our guests and look forward to your return soon.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    351
    77
    12
    5
See reviews for
148
604
93
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

We booked into the Wangz Hotel in Outram Street after reading excellent reviews on TripAdvisor and couldn't have been happier with our decision! We arranged to be collected from the airport and, from the time we arrived until we left, 11 days later, we experienced nothing but polite, respectful and helpful information from all the staff at the hotel. Our room was clean, beautiful and spacious,had a very comfortable bed was cleaned thoroughly with clean linen put in every day. The food in the dining room was very good and abundant, especially the breakfasts which started at 7am to 10.30am, which meant that we didn't need to buy lunch. The Outram Road MRT is a 10 minute walk away so all that Singapore has to offer is close at hand. We find it hard to fault this hotel in any way and would like to thank each and every member of staff for making our stay so enjoyable. We will certainly recommend your hotel to all our friends. Thank you.

Room Tip: We requested a room away from the road but, even though there was traffic noise, the bed was so comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pembypeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Pembypeople,

Thank you for granting us with such a rave review. I am glad that your experience with the hotel's service, breakfast spread and room facilities were perfect.

The entire team appreciates your recognition for your enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to WANGZ Hotel in the near future.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

We stayed at Wangz for one night as a stopover.

Know how to get there: The taxi driver had a little trouble finding the hotel, describing it as a "very small place". Google Maps suggests it's on a roundabout -- but it's actually on a corner.

Get the canopy room. We were staying for for a one night stopover and the bath (and bath salts!) was great after the long flight. The Canopy rooms (and other better rooms, I assume) seem to be the better ones looking toward Chinatown; other rooms look onto streets and adjacent buildings. All staff were very friendly and helpful, suggesting things to do and see.

The restaurant dinner menu was basic, but you can order the meals for room service and they're quite cheap, which was perfect for us when battling jetlag. Breakfast is great and was included in the price -- amazingly sweet and ripe fruit, eggs, bacon, hash brown, cereals etc + asian noodles + meats.. anything you'd want.

The location is pretty good: a short walk to Outram Park station, and from there it's easy to get to the main sights.

Room Tip: Canopy room has a bath (and, I assume, better views).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Steve C,

Thank you for choosing to stay at WANGZ Hotel for your short stopover. I am delighted to hear you had a positive accommodation experience and enjoyed the hotel amenities, service and dining offerings.

May we welcome you back for a longer stay in the near future.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

My partner and I stayed in this Hotel for one night recently. The staff were friendly, helpful and inviting. Our room on the 3rd floor was somewhat compact as was the bathroom. The fan in the bathroom didn't seem to work and the room filled up with steam. My partner's feet hung over the edge of the bed which, although comfortable, was quite short. The rooms are not overly soundproof. Guests arrivng and leaving via the lifts woke us up as well as the sound of doors closing. Breakfast was o.k. Location is a 15-20 min walk to China Town. As per most Hotels in Singapore, this one was somewhat overpriced. Recommend happy hour at the roof top bar. Nice to get some fresh air, a very welcome change from constant air conditioning!

Room Tip: a room far from the lifts if you don't want to hear other guests coming and going!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear theweather,

Thank you for taking time to write this review.

I am sorry that the fan in your bathroom did not seem to work and have informed the Maintenance team to look into the rooms on the third floor to ensure all fans are in good order.

Due to space constraint in the rooms, our beds are slightly shorter than the standard King-sized beds. However, we do provide a bed extension for taller guests which may be requested through the Front Desk. On a positive note, I am happy to know you enjoyed your experience at our rooftop lounge.

Please visit us again should your travels bring you back to Singapore.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

Everything from the time I checked in until I checked out was perfect. The staff were wonderful and helpful. The rooms were large and very comfortable. Food was never a problem as there were ample amounts of restaurants around the hotel. I will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Singapore.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Omar F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Omar F,

Thank you for choosing to stay with WANGZ Hotel during your recent business trip and rewarding us with these positive comments.

It has been our pleasure serving you and all of us look forward to your return visit in the near future.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

My wife and I booked the Wangz for our three-day stopover in Singapore and are delighted that we did so. Our room was quiet, despite the traffic passing below, the bed was the most comfortable we encountered during an 18-night holiday and the walk-in shower was simply heavenly. No wonder the hotel staff were smiling whenever they dealt with us... they have plenty to be happy about. Everyone seemed pleased to help us, whether it was booking a taxi, offering advice on places to go or just asking what we would like for breakfast. The Wangz is ideally situated about 5 mins from Outram Park MRT station and a 15-minute walk from Chinatown. Taxis were cheap, the metro efficient, but we still chose to walk everywhere... much to the smiling amusement of the staff. Down side? Well the hotel looks from the outside like an inverted waste bin. Appearances can be deceptive!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FunkyAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear FunkyAl,

Thank you for taking time to write this review. I am happy you enjoyed the hotel facilities and amenities. The staff are also honoured to read of your generous compliments on their constant smiles and friendly assistance.

It has been a pleasure having you and your husband with us recently and All of us at WANGZ Hotel look forward to your return visit soon.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

My husband and I spent three nights here on our way home from Perth. Due to a late alteration in our flight we arrived much too early for check in but the staff couldn't have been nicer. Our luggage was whisked away to be placed in our room when ready and we were encouraged to avail of breakfast and given a map of the local area to explore while waiting for room. We returned at 12 to find room ready, luggage sent up and soothing music on stereo system. Our room was perfect with the quietest air con I've ever come across. Modern with beautiful bathroom and toiletries. Our room was turned over every day which was fabulous - the place felt cool and fresh after the heat of Singapore.
Breakfast was fabulous - loads of choice, fresh tea and coffee ad lib. One thing which really impressed me was the fact that breakfast was available at 5.45 am the morning we checked out. We had asked for a taxi for 6 and it was ready when we went to checkout at 5.40. The hotel staff insisted that we sit and have breakfast which really made a huge difference given that we were facing into a 13 hour flight. It was such a lovely civilised start to what could have been a stressful morning. Top marks to Wangz here.
We headed to the rooftop bar twice - fabulous views, helpful staff who pointed out the special offers. We availed of the tapas menu one night - very generous portion of wedges went well with chicken skewers. The one for one drinks offer made this a very reasonably priced end to our day!
We were very pleased with the location - just five minutes from Outram underground station which allowed us very easy access to everywhere we wanted to go. A three day pass for underground (this also covers bus) for $30 each allowed us to hop on the train as often as we liked - the tap and go card was a dream to use - very quick and so handy not to have to buy ticket every time we used the train.
Overall Wangz Hotel was perfect - well done to every member of staff that we met. They were unfailingly helpful and friendly while maintaining the highest standard of service. I would love to go back and will certainly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Singapore.

Room Tip: The higher the better to avail of views over city. Lift is quiet and quick and we never had to wait...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank May S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear May S,

Thank you for taking time to write this detailed review and showering the team with so many compliments and affirming their high level of service. I am glad you enjoyed both the room ambience and the experience at our rooftop lounge.

Additionally, it was wonderful you had an opportunity to explore the neighbouring area on your arrival morning and kudos for travelling around the city like a true-blue local! The Breakfast Chef Steven appreciates your acknowledgment for his effort in preparing a simple breakfast upon your early departure, knowing a long flight was ahead.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay at WANGZ Hotel and all of us look forward to welcoming you and your husband back in the near future.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#10 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#15 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,707 reviews
Joo Chiat
Hotel Indigo Singapore Katong
Hotel Indigo Singapore Katong
#13 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wangz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wangz Hotel

Property: Wangz Hotel
Address: 231 Outram Road, Singapore 169040, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Tiong Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#15 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#17 Business Hotel in Singapore
#27 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wangz Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enter the chic lobby of this luxurious boutique hotel and proceed to your elegant room, which feels more like your own private retreat. WANGZ Hotel, with its ultra-modern interior, is located minutes away from Singapore's main shopping area, major cultural attractions, as well as the banking and financial district. Every room features modern comforts like rain shower, Sealy Posturepedic bed, 37-inch LCD TV, complimentary internet access, iPod docking station, piped-in mood music, complimentary selected beverages from mini-bar, as well as luxurious bath amenities. Guests may also enjoy complimentary shuttle service to the nearest subway station, the financial district and Orchard Road shopping belt daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Agoda, ACCOR and Jetsetter so you can book your Wangz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wangz Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing