We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Wangz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wangz Hotel
Ranked #10 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I was in Singapore for a wedding in late March and stayed at the Wangz hotel for 3 nights with my boyfriend. I chose Wangz largely based on tripadvisor reviews and was happy that the hotel met my expectations.

The modern design and decor is very striking and sets it apart from your typical chain hotel. Our room was a good size, very light and airy, and had all the modern amenities you would expect of a high standard hotel. The bathroom was also very nice and clean, not huge, but again had very modern features. The best part about the room was the huge and super comfortable bed, generally, I got great sleep in that bed.

The couple of times I didn't was when I was awoken by the sound of people in other rooms (in their bathrooms specifically) - the sound definitely travels and that's my one main downside to this hotel. I've read a lot of mentions about the noise from traffic on lower floors - we were on the 4th floor and we didn't hear any traffic or outside noise so I'm guessing we were high enough to avoid it.

The hotel in a good location, near Chinatown and is less than 10 minutes walk from the MRT and a short cab journey away from the main attractions (or a manageable walk if it's not too hot). The hotel provides a shuttle bus to the MRT and into the centre of Singapore at a few specific stops (Orchard Road was one but I can't remember any of the others now) and at set times during the day - we never used it because the set times were never in line with when we were needing to go, but it's definitely handy to have and can save you a few dollars on a cab or the MRT if you're happy to be flexible on timings.

The breakfast spread was good, as you would expect relatively limited compared to bigger hotels, but what was there was very nice. They also provide you with complementary water and soft drinks from the minibar which was a really nice touch.

The staff were all so friendly and helpful, from the receptionists to the staff at breakfast, everyone was so lovely and always willing to assist with anything you wanted.

Generally, I thought this was a very good hotel and only a few things away from being amazing - i.e. travelling sound, and the lack of hotel amenities such as a swimming pool or a particularly large gym, which you would easily find at any number of the many luxury hotels in Singapore. That said, you should expect this if you're going to stay at a smaller boutique hotel, and I would be happy to stay here again if I were to return to Singapore.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank RanjiJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of WANGZ Hotel at Wangz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear RanjiJ,

We are very happy to have met your expectations.

Please accept our apologies for the disturbance to your rest you experienced during your residence. Since your departure, we have investigated and improved the noise insulation between rooms.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and all of us look forward to your return in the near future.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

736 - 742 of 1,277 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

I can't say enough about the friendliness of the staff. Whatever we asked for (not that much), they managed to provide! They were flexible on our check-out time which allowed us to do a morning outing and not have to rush back.
We had a very late flight out (2am!) and didn't leave the hotel until close to 11p. They provided us with fresh towels so that we could wash up and a voucher for free drinks in their rooftop bar while we waited. (Only 'complaint' there was that the music was pretty loud, but they turned it down when we asked - after the only other party in the bar left.)
The room and public areas were immaculate - very well maintained. Felt very safe (though that pretty much describes Singapore).
Great breakfast; fast, reliable internet; huge bed. 10-minute walk to the subway.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob-from-Concord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of WANGZ Hotel at Wangz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear bobtreitman,

We are delighted to read of your positive experience at our hotel and thank you for choosing to stay with us.

All of us look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My wife and I selected the Wangz due to reviews on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. The internet, comfortable bed, interesting bathroom, and excellent breakfast. The balcony was not very clean, had cooking odors, and basically was not of use.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of WANGZ Hotel at Wangz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear WCT0205,

Thank you for taking time to write this review. We are glad to have met your expectations and appreciate your kind compliments.

The Housekeeping team has been informed to upkeep cleanliness of the balcony at all times and unfortunately, the food odours come from the neighbouring restaurants which we are unable to control.

The team has enjoyed serving you and your family and look forward to your return soon.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The hotel is a good value and has a lot going for it. The staff is absolutely excellent, the rooms comfortably designed, the bedding first class, excellent housekeeping and good internet access. An OK selection on the flat screen TV, but not fantastic. There's very little space to store clothing if on a long stay, unless you like paying through the nose for laundry services. We liked the location, close to the Outram subway station, next door to a couple of great little outdoor seafood restaurants and a special little bakery with an excellent bar/restaurant located on the roof top with a great night view of the city. However, there are some shortcomings that make it less than the perfect place to stay. Because of the location, between two major boulevards, the noise level at night can be challenging without using earplugs to sleep. If you get a room facing the alley, you'll sleep better but have a poor vista. Also, the workout room is probably the smallest we've ever seen and the breakfast included is not the standard that we expected from such a nice hotel. The fruits were sour, the coffee weak, the juices tasted like Tang and the bacon and sausage old and stale. Lastly, the access for taxis is complicated by a small alley and a garage which can accommodate five cars, including the taxis! It's a nice hotel, but some of the weaknesses will be very hard to physically overcome. However, they offer taxi services to and from the airport as a feature of your stay.We recommend it for an overnighter, but we'll pass on this one for another long stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rohbogen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of WANGZ Hotel at Wangz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear rohbogen,

We are sorry that a few challenges spoiled your otherwise pleasant accommodation experience. The quality of breakfast items served during your stay is certainly unacceptable and this has been reinforced with the Culinary team. While we are unable to improve physical weaknesses due to space limitations within the boutique hotel, we hope that you enjoyed our service and amenities nonetheless.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip and we hope to be of service to you when the opportunity arises in future.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Loved the room - king-size bed quite firm, mood music (took us a little while to figure out how to turn it off though), a little sitting area, ironing board, room safe, bathrobes, very modern bathroom (do draw the blinds in the shower, for the sake of the people in the apartments opposite). We could hear the pedestrian crossing beeps, but not other traffic noise. As with so many modern Asian hotels, the thickness of the comforters is a mystery - give us thinner sheets and we'll happily dial back the aircon. As the hunky celebrities on Singapore billboards said, "I'll sleep naked if you will -- set your air conditioning a degree higher."

Buffet breakfast offered great variety considering this is not a huge hotel. Thanks for the cheeses, smoked salmon and artisan breads! Coffee only so-so, and cappuccino was S$7, ouch. Appreciated the minibar's free pop and cold water, though at the time we were also just happy to be able to drink tap water again THANK YOU SINGAPORE.

Appreciated the free shuttle ride back to the MRT with our luggage. Sans luggage, Wangz was within our kind of walking distance of Chinatown and the Maxwell Road hawker centre, as well as an attractive group of restaurants along the Singapore River.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancesOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of WANGZ Hotel at Wangz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear FrancesOttawa,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we are happy you had a pleasant experience. Your time spent in writing this review is appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Wangz Hotel for 4 days with my hubby for a leisure trip, my first impression of the Wangz hotel was excellent - friendly staff, hazzle free check-in and nicely decor lobby.

We took the train from the airport and it's easy to find from Outram Park Station, it's a half a KM walk from a straight road. I don't recommend taking MRT from airport though if you have many luggages as it will still be a 10mins walk.

I like the surrounding of the hotel, it's located in a cute area where there are lots of old building blocks, there are a famous chinese seafood restuarants at the back of the hotel and some cute coffee shops around the area. Opposite to the hotel, there is a bus stop, if you don't fancy walking to the MRT, there are buses which take you to Orchard Road, Bugis Junction and Raffles Place.

As I anticipated the noise problem of the hotel, we requested the highest floor in advance. We stayed at room 601, the nice is spacious enough and has a nice decor. I have no problem with house keeping, my room is cleaned everyday.

Breakfast is really average, small food range but this is what a small boutique hotel can best do. The staff in the restaurant has been very attentive and they have tried to cater every request.

I would highly recommend anyone who want to try a different type of accomodation in Singapore.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Musesilvergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of WANGZ Hotel at Wangz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Musesilvergirl,

Thank you for taking time to write this review. We are delighted that your overall accommodation experience was positive. We are definitely improving our breakfast service as we seek to go beyond guests’ expectations .

Please visit us again should your travels bring you and your husband back to Singapore.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

very good situated hotel, clean, and fantastic staff ! fantastic stay in the bar on the top of the hotel, a pity that it is not so 'late' open, closed at 11 clock ?
excellent transfer from city center, harbour, .... back and go from hotel !
an adress we will not forget when we visit singapore again !
and don't forget, if you visit singapore on sunday, go to shangri la and have a FANTASTIC BRUNCH !!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schermen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of WANGZ Hotel at Wangz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear schermen,

We are very glad to know you and your friends enjoyed your stay at the hotel and had the opportunity to visit our rooftop lounge, Halo. As the hotel is located near a residential area, the rooftop lounge unfortunately has to close at 11 p.m. on weeknights and 12 midnight on weekends.

Thank you once again for choosing WANGZ Hotel and we look forward to having you and your friends with us again in the near future.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#17 of 319 in Singapore
1,167 reviews
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Naumi Hotel
#18 of 319 in Singapore
2,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 319 in Singapore
7,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wangz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wangz Hotel

Address: 231 Outram Road, Singapore 169040, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Tiong Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#15 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#17 Business Hotel in Singapore
#27 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $142 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wangz Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enter the chic lobby of this luxurious boutique hotel and proceed to your elegant room, which feels more like your own private retreat. WANGZ Hotel, with its ultra-modern interior, is located minutes away from Singapore's main shopping area, major cultural attractions, as well as the banking and financial district. Every room features modern comforts like rain shower, Sealy Posturepedic bed, 37-inch LCD TV, complimentary internet access, iPod docking station, piped-in mood music, complimentary selected beverages from mini-bar, as well as luxurious bath amenities. Guests may also enjoy complimentary shuttle service to the nearest subway station, the financial district and Orchard Road shopping belt daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wangz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wangz Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing