We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice little boutique hotel, great service, Small breakfast choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wangz Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wangz Hotel
Ranked #11 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Nice little boutique hotel, great service, Small breakfast choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Uh. I hate writing a comprehensive review and then a false hit on cancel button throws away everything. (Fix it, Tripadvisor City Guide App).

So, in short.

Book room, upgraded upon arrival. Room already equipped with iron/ironing board, LAN cable, free minibar, free wifi. Also there's free local calls.

Value for money, thoughtful service & great staffs. Breakfast spread is limited.

Looking for something good on budget? Stay here. Want to have big breakfast? Stay aomewhere else.

Helpful?
Thank applecart3355
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of WANGZ Hotel at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear applecart3355,

Thank you for writing this review. We are heartened to know that our service, amenities and facilities are appreciated and will continue improving our breakfast spread to better serve our guests.

Please take care and come back soon.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    333
    75
    11
    5
See reviews for
141
573
85
158
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

The moment I entered the hotel, I was struck by the beautiful decor of this boutique hotel. It gave a sense of class and comfort. My check in was smooth and I felt very warmly welcomed by the friendly staff. My room was also beautiful decorated and I heard that each room are decorated differently with different themes. The best thing about the room was the cheap bar in the room, $2 for a coke and a bag of chips. I was astounded! This hotel knows how to price the bar right. Dinner and breakfast was superb at the place Nectar. Even their bar was great with a great view of Singapore. I highly recommend this place to anyone who wants a moderate price for a SUPERB hotel! I had an fantastic time!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ngmeizhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of WANGZ Hotel at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear ngmeizhi,

We are very happy to read of your fantastic experience at our hotel. The team is honoured to have served you and look forward to having you back with us again in the near future.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed four nights in the Wangz Hotel. Staff very nice and accommodating. Room was nice and bed was comfortable. Only complaint was the poor bedside reading lights and minimal counter surface for toiletries in the bathroom. Otherwise great place.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of WANGZ Hotel at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Davidfood,

Thank you for your review and feedback. We will look into how the bedside lighting and bathroom counter space may be enhanced.

Please visit us again should your travels bring you back to Singapore.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We chose the Wangz and stayed for 10nights back in Oct '12 solely on other reviews by trip advisor members. Its a Lovely Hotel away from the hustle and bustle of busy Singpores main district. A short walk to the MRT was a breeze and the MRT in Singapore is Wonderful! Trains every 6 minutes!
The breakfast included in our room price was Lovely and just enough for us. The rooms are Lovely and Huge and my husband Loved the rain shower. Personally i didnt like the bed. It was lumpy and really hurt my back through our stay. I only have two gripes (1) the free drinks in the fridge werent topped up daily and we had to complain twice about this (2) while we Loved the Halo bar, the two nights we drank up there, the Lad serving acted like he really didnt want anyone there and couldnt be bothered! It was a Real chore for him to serve us and WE had to keep going over to the bar to ask for another drink or further service. Working in Retail this Really annoyed me. We dined in the restaurant one night and unfortunately had the same lad serving us there as well and even though the food was lovely, we felt like we were an inconvenience to him and we were the only diners! Other staff were friendly but didnt really go over or above like others have commented. To be brutally honest we felt the service you received was based on your nationalty. However we enjoyed our stay and would consider staying again in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the road are slightly quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I_love_queensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of WANGZ Hotel at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear I_love_queensland,

We thank you for choosing to stay with us recently.

I do sincerely apologise for the less than satisfactory service rendered to you and your husband during your stay at our hotel. I would like to assure you that this is definitely not an acceptable practice at any WANGZ property and these issues have been highlighted to the respective departments. Every guest is equally important to us and I ask that you will give us another opportunity to create a more memorable experience for you.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Nice small hotel. We stayed for 3 nights. Hotel staff all super friendly and helpful. The free shuttle bus was great and they dropped us in Little India which was well off the scheduled route. The room was lovely and spacious (we had stayed the night before in a shoebox room, not at Wangz). The inclusions of wifi and the drinks (coke, juice & water) was great. Breakfast was OK - have had much better buffets. Would have liked some more traditional breakfast food instead of the Western style offerings (that is just my preference). Location is good, 5 minute walk to MRT (trains). Taxi couldn't find the hotel - we found that if you tell them it is near Link's hotel - they manage. One service slip up was on one of the days our room wasn't made up at 5pm. We were out of the room from 8am. We went for dinner and it was made up on return.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 6th floor get noise from the rooftop bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fleigha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of WANGZ Hotel at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Fleigha,

We are glad you had a pleasant stay at our hotel. I apologise for the oversight on Housekeeping’s part in making up your room and thank you for your comments as we continually seek to better the offerings and experience for our guests.

Please take care and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We only had a single night stay but will definitely stay longer next time. The room was sparkling clean and spacious with a lovely modern bathroom. The breakfast provided a large choice and well prepared with attentive service. A short walk to Chinatown was interesting and the free shuttle service allowed us to visit Marina Bay and the Botanical gardens all in the same day before returning to the airport for our onward fight. For me the best thing tho was the lovely welcome and the continued friendly service from all members of staff. They could not have been more helpful...especially the shuttle bus driver.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of WANGZ Hotel at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear welcometoexcellence,

I am glad to read of your favourable experience at the hotel. All of us certainly look forward to your longer visit the next time round. Till we meet again.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We had an enjoyable stay at the Wangz hotel. Location is fine (walking distance to Oatram MRT - and Chinatown also only about 10-15mins walk away). Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is good, but does seem to get quite busy. The staff replenish empty dishes, etc. as they can, but it does seem they are a bit rushed at times.
Rooms are spacious and the rain-showers are exceptional! Rooms have all the typical mod-cons: TV, tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, safe, iron/ironing board, etc. A/C works perfectly and the WIFI is fine, albeit slow at certain times. There is a small gym with treadmill, cycle and some free weights. It's small, so more than 3 people it could get quite cramped.
The view from Halo bar is nice, but given prices, etc. at other locations, we thought they were a bit overpriced.
All in all a very pleasant stay, with friendly staff. Only wish they had a pool though.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BizClsDreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of WANGZ Hotel at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear BizClsDreaming,

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately, due to certain limitations, we were unable to add a pool within the hotel.

On a separate note, I have taken note of your observations and appreciate your feedback. We look forward to having you back with us again soon.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
AMOY by Far East Hospitality
#3 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#12 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Naumi Hotel
#17 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wangz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wangz Hotel

Property: Wangz Hotel
Address: 231 Outram Road, Singapore 169040, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Tiong Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#15 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#17 Business Hotel in Singapore
#27 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wangz Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enter the chic lobby of this luxurious boutique hotel and proceed to your elegant room, which feels more like your own private retreat. WANGZ Hotel, with its ultra-modern interior, is located minutes away from Singapore's main shopping area, major cultural attractions, as well as the banking and financial district. Every room features modern comforts like rain shower, Sealy Posturepedic bed, 37-inch LCD TV, complimentary internet access, iPod docking station, piped-in mood music, complimentary selected beverages from mini-bar, as well as luxurious bath amenities. Guests may also enjoy complimentary shuttle service to the nearest subway station, the financial district and Orchard Road shopping belt daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, ACCOR and Jetsetter so you can book your Wangz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wangz Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing