We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific boutique hotel”
Review of Wangz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wangz Hotel
Ranked #10 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Terrific boutique hotel”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

The Wangz Hotel is a beautiful little boutique hotel, ideal if you are in transit in Singapore for just a night or two. My wife and I stayed there en route to Cambodia. The flight had us arriving into Singapore at just after midnight, and then flying out at 9:30pm that night.

So we booked in at the Wangz, and by the time we checked in at about 1:30am we were exhausted. But the night staff made us feel immediately welcome, and the room was beautiful. Quiet, great firm bed, all modern.

The big advantage of the Wangz is that it's relatively close to the airport, so you can get in and out quickly - and it's much cheaper than staying at the Crowne Plaza. Also, the staff are terrific, and make you feel immediately welcome.

It's also very close to Chinatown, a short walk, and you're right in the middle of it! I'd recommend, if you want something away from the bustle of Orchard Rd.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billbennettoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of WANGZ Hotel at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing us during your short transit in Singapore.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope that there will be opportunities for a longer visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    760
    362
    78
    12
    5
See reviews for
155
635
96
166
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

This is a new small hotel very close to Chinatown. We found it very easy to walk everywhere except Orchard Road (too far in the heat) but the hotel operates a shuttle, and anyway, cabs are very cheap. There are also several good restaurants right around the hotel. The rooms are great. Very stylish and comfortable. Plenty of natural light and interesting spaces. Very nice roof top bar too. We arrived at 9am after a night flight from Australia and were lucky enough to be able to check in straight away (no extra cost either). The breakfast was good and served in a nice bright area. When we had trouble sending emails from our tablet, they sent up an IT guy to help us. The wifi is free everywhere in the hotel and they also have a computer in the foyer for guest use. Very friendly and helpful staff. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank statt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of WANGZ Hotel at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

It gives us great joy to serve happy guests and pride ourselves in providing a comfortable home away from home.

All of us look forward to welcoming you and your partner to our hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We've been to Singapore many times and stayed in larger hotels. This was our first time in a boutique hotel. This is a very nice hotel - modern and very comfortable, with very helpful and friendly staff. Can walk to Chinatown and MRT, although when it's hot taxis are easily available and not so expensive. Good value - it's just that hotels in Singapore are very expensive.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dhoopstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of WANGZ Hotel at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing us for your first boutique hotel experience.

Boutique hotels are becoming popular globally and often offer unique accommodation compared to larger hotels. We encourage you to further explore this option and hope to welcome you and your family back at our hotel. In the meantime, happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My compliments to Diana Nordin and the staff at the Wangz. We stayed in Singapore just after the Easter weekend (2012). My wife and 2 young sons absolutely loved our stay. The room was very comfortable, the breakfasts were fantastic, the staff are the friendliest I have experienced for a long time in Singapore. They offer very personalised services and made us feel very welcome. For the price you would pay at the more so called 'upmarket' hotels at the bay or on orchard rd, it's not worth it !
I recommend this hotel to any business travellers or young families wanting affordability, great service, clean rooms and amenities, close proximity to everywhere and most of all knowing you're going to be looked after by friendly staff in a secure building.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomStar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of WANGZ Hotel at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Our team is truly encouraged by your compliments and take joy in creating fond memories and making our guests feel right at home.

Please visit us again should your travels bring you and your family back to Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Most fantastic check in experience in this 48 bedroom boutique hotel, superb hotel room with extremely comfortable bed and bathroom. continental breakfast also came with hot bacon and eggs that can ordered for free. Plenty of awesome takeaway places around the hotel too.

This hotel is on par or even better than many of the 5 star hotels I've been too.
Wangz made 2 happy travellers :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilfredcsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of WANGZ Hotel at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We are very glad you enjoyed your experience at our hotel and thank you sincerely for your compliments.

All of us look forward to welcoming you and your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Extremely well designed and built hotel,built with top notch materials and fittings. Bedrooms very well done,very nice and very comfortable bed.Lobby,restaurant and bar also very well done.Staff were extremely friendly and knowledgable but not constantly in your face and standard of housekeeping was the highest I've ever seen.All around ,pound for pound, the best hotel I've visited and will definately stay there whenever I go back to Singapore.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KennyF24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of WANGZ Hotel at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We are very glad you enjoyed your accommodation experience at our hotel. Unfortunately, due to safety regulations, we are not allowed to install hair dryer sockets into the bathroom. However, guests may still use our hair dryers from the bedroom area.

Thank you for choosing us and all of us hope to see you and your family again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#12 of 312 in Singapore
940 reviews
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 312 in Singapore
7,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Joo Chiat
Hotel Indigo Singapore Katong
Hotel Indigo Singapore Katong
#11 of 312 in Singapore
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wangz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wangz Hotel

Property: Wangz Hotel
Address: 231 Outram Road, Singapore 169040, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Tiong Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#15 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#17 Business Hotel in Singapore
#27 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wangz Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enter the chic lobby of this luxurious boutique hotel and proceed to your elegant room, which feels more like your own private retreat. WANGZ Hotel, with its ultra-modern interior, is located minutes away from Singapore's main shopping area, major cultural attractions, as well as the banking and financial district. Every room features modern comforts like rain shower, Sealy Posturepedic bed, 37-inch LCD TV, complimentary internet access, iPod docking station, piped-in mood music, complimentary selected beverages from mini-bar, as well as luxurious bath amenities. Guests may also enjoy complimentary shuttle service to the nearest subway station, the financial district and Orchard Road shopping belt daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TravelClick, Expedia, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wangz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wangz Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing