We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best Budget Hotel in Singapore” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Peranakan Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Peranakan Hotel
Ranked #261 of 304 Hotels in Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Budget Hotel in Singapore”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I am a regular at this hotel. I have literally stayed here over 20 times.

Its a great location in terms of proximity to the airport, its in a quiet neighborhood, and walking distance to some really nice restaurants.

Sure, the rooms are tiny... but they have free Wi-Fi, and its not a "transit" hotel like the noisy hotel 81 chain, which is really more of a "short time" rendezvous type of place if you know what I mean...

By Singapore prices, you certainly get what you pay for, and then some. Staff are friendly and competent. -rooms are clean enough.

Room Tip: Ask in advance if you can get one of the deluxe rooms with a window. many of the rooms have no windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lazinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, Manager at Le Peranakan Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Lazinator,

Thank you so much for your kind review. We look forward to your next stay with us. Feel free to drop us a line to make a booking and we always make sure our regular guests receive a more personalized service.

Sincerely,
Kevin Boon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    71
    68
    33
    18
See reviews for
23
46
35
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Very professional staff. Very clean. Nice decor. Nice area of city. Very near to restaurants, other conveniences. Very safe area. City bus stops only a block away to take you into the CBD. Take Bus #15 north on Telok Kurau Road to the Eunos MRT station, on the East-West Line. I was a 62yo man traveling alone.

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have windows. Be sure to specify what you want at the time you make a reservation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HughH259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, Manager at Le Peranakan Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Hugh,

Thank you so much for your kind review. Your words have inspired the staff to work harder and we can't wait till your next visit to Singapore. Do not hesitate to give us a call or email if you wish to make the next reservation with us. Cheers!

Regards,
Kevin Boon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muang Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were really disappointed when we arrived late at night to find our room with a leaky AC and a very smelly bathroom. When we asked the front desk a few questions, they were not polite either. They didn't try to assist us in any way. We decided not to spend the night since the room was so bad. I would never recommend this hotel. Check out the Santa Grande in the same East Coast area. It is MUCH nicer, clean and the front desk was incredibly helpful and kind. For the about the same price, we received a great stay with a great breakfast!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StephenElliot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, Manager at Le Peranakan Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Stephen,

I sincerely apologize for the frustration and discomfort you experienced during your visit to Le Peranakan Hotel. We have taken much effort to make sure the rooms are in good condition and also further trained the staff in better customer service.

Thank you for your valuable review. We strive to do better.

Sincerely,
Kevin Boon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Brisbane, Queensland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

My adult son and I shared a twin room for 6 nights....in retrospect I would book two single rooms in future as there is really not enough room for two people with luggage in a twin...however we learnt that if someone was moving around the room the other had to sit :-) and really for the price in Singapore it was fine. Plenty of eateries around and close to the airport one way and everywhere else the other. Staff were good, checkin and out fine, and WiFi fine.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank LindaO19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, Manager at Le Peranakan Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Linda,

Thank you for your kind review. We do have a family room available which is much larger, it has a queen sized bed and 1 single bed. We look forward to your next stay with us. Cheers!

Regards,
Kevin Boon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We arrived late to the hotel and were greeted by rather surly, grudging service. We requested a room close to the lift, and of course, got the farthest one. We were shocked when we opened the door. The room was the size of a jail cell! You could literally lie in bed, open the door and hang out the Do Not Disturb sign! Morning service was nicer, but I wouldn't recommend it.

Room Tip: Have $50 for the room key deposit. Don't bother with special requests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susanlee2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, Manager at Le Peranakan Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Susan,

Thank you for your review. I sincerely apologize for the disappointment you faced when your requests were not met. At Le Peranakan Hotel, we always do our best to accommodate the special requests whenever possible but at times its just not possible to fulfill the request.

As for the room size, the standard double room you booked indeed is very small. I highly recommend the Superior/Deluxe rooms which are much larger.

Regards,
Kevin Boon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is definitely one hotel in Singapore that you should give a huge miss. Pokey rooms, shower is smaller than the WC on an aircraft. No coffee making facilities, no fridge, no service whatsoever to assist with luggage to your rooms or for that matter anything. Couldn't wait to vacate the room. If you are a backpacker give it a miss. The cost of the room is absolutely outrageous as they charge premium rates for nil service etc.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maree A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, Manager at Le Peranakan Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Maree,

Thank you for your review. I can understand your frustration due to the size of the room and lack of amenities, also that we did not help you with your luggage to the room as we are running on a one man operation per shift. We have taken note on your concerns and will improve in the areas we are lacking. Feel free to email me directly at Kevin@Leperanakanhotel.com and I will handle your reservation and check you in personally if you give me us a chance.

Sincerely,
Kevin Boon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Booked this hotel for one night, like most people on the way to airport. We had a ton of luggage that barely fit in the room. It was quite comical, really, except when you had to use the loo. We became hurdlers, trying to jump over all of the bags. The towels (2 tiny ones) are so threadbare and the soap is the liquid kind that you pump - it is body wash, hand soap and shampoo!

If you are one person, this hotel would work, but not two people with a ton of bags. The windows don't have shades in the toilet, and there is a glass partition to the bedroom so all night you get a blinking red/green light from the traffic lights outside.

Was really glad when we left!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pelorojo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, Manager at Le Peranakan Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Pelorojo,

Thank you for your review about the window in the bathroom that causes a lighting discomfort at night, we will definitely be looking into that.

I apologize for the discomfort you faced in our standard rooms which are small and also in the lack of amenities. I highly recommend the Superior/Deluxe rooms that are much larger.

Sincerely,
Kevin Boon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Geylang
Four Chain View Hotel
Four Chain View Hotel
#196 of 304 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Joo Chiat
Hotel 81 - Sakura
Hotel 81 - Sakura
#181 of 304 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Geylang
Chang Ziang Hotel
Chang Ziang Hotel
#182 of 304 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Geylang
Amrise Hotel
Amrise Hotel
#264 of 304 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Joo Chiat
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
#138 of 304 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 324 reviews
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel
Venue Hotel
#119 of 304 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Peranakan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Peranakan Hotel

Property: Le Peranakan Hotel
Address: 400 East Coast Road | Katong District, Singapore 428994, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Joo Chiat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #261 of 304 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Le Peranakan Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Le Peranakan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Peranakan Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing