We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More character than your average budget hotel”
Review of Le Peranakan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Peranakan Hotel
Ranked #273 of 315 Hotels in Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“More character than your average budget hotel”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

A real effort has been made to give the tiny rooms character by adding Peranakan style furniture and art. I would not recommend this hotel as a 'stopover' hotel because its location is what really makes it. The neighbourhood is steeped in Baba history and culture and it would be a shame to just spend the night. On the other hand, if you only have a day or two and want to experience authentic Singaporean culture, this hotel would be a good place to start.
On a completely different note, it is next to one of the best Mexican restaurants in Singapore and around the corner from Bruno's Bistrot (that is not a typo) which serves excellent pizza.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abcadventuretravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, Manager at Le Peranakan Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear ABC,

Thank you for your review. Indeed the Peranakan theme fits well with the surrounding area with its heritage buildings. There are also a couple of nearby Peranakan Restaurants nearby that would go well with the stay at Le Peranakan Hotel.

We look forward to your stay with us.

Regards,
Kevin Boon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    72
    71
    34
    19
See reviews for
23
47
38
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I booked for an overnight stay in transit to another city. The hotel was very small, the cab driver had to call them for directions because the address on the hotel voucher seems to be incomplete. Found it not near the airport which is the reason why I chose it. From the hotel lobby, to the rooms, to the bed, shower room, they are relatively small. They even asked for a SGD50.00 deposit. I thought for what? It was returned without question before i checked out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Efren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, Manager at Le Peranakan Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Efren,

Thank you for your review. We look forward to your next stay with us. Perhaps you can try staying in one of our Superior/Deluxe rooms which are much larger.

Sincerely,
Kevin Boon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Its been truly great experience with Le peranakan,
although the rooms are small, the underlying factor is that, great food is all within walking distance,
katong laksa, beach road prawn noodles, 5 mins to roxy square where you can enjoy food massage, further walk to parkway parade.

overall, great hotel for great value, and equipped with great eateries, malls, movie theater, all within walking distance.

Room Tip: do get hotel that is at the main house, so you could enjoy the jacuzzi. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilson W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

i stayed there for 2 nights. i found out that the cab driver need to ask me twice to ensure the hotel address. it was fine though, the room was so small and its like 10 mins drive away to every Singapore CBD. Wasnt my favorite place, yet the housekeeping was like in badmood to ask whether i like to have my room cleaned or not.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank novisissi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou, China
Level 4 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I book this hotel because my flight on the next morning was 6am, I need a budget hotel near the airport. overall was OK, althought no window in the room, but basic needs were catered. lots of good foods around the corners, and very easy to get a taxi as early as 4am. not recommended for traveller with kids to stay in room like this. but i think they have bigger room which is more expensive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NgTiongHuat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luang Prabang, Laos
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I haven't been to Singapore for 2 years and realized hotel prices have almost doubled compare to last time I was there. My friend recommended this hotel and booked for me as it's near by his work place so it's easy to meet up.

The single room is TINY. probably no more than 15 square metres. I did not really mind as it was just for 2 days and i just brought a small luggage. Bed size was fine for me but for guys it's probably too small.

My room was just beside the terrace so it was convenient to just step out for a cigarette. However the hotel can really do with some pest control. I dropped just a few cake crumbs by accident and had an army of ants on the floor. while sitting on the terrace i also heard a girl saying she saw a rat.

Reception was very helpful and efficient. I arrived 3 hours earlier than the check in time. The gentleman gave me very good suggestions on what I could do to pass the 3 hours. 1.5 hours later my room was ready. He actually came to the cafe next doors to let me know.

Overall the stay was just OK. you pay for what you get. Now that I know the price range of hotels in Singapore, next time I will probably pay a bit more and stay in bigger hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel three times over the last year, always to save money in the otherwise-expensive Singapore.

Some of the rooms are tiny, with barely enough room for the bed and small advertised desk. Some of the rooms have no windows and only a skylight.

Generally I've always found the place to be rather grimy. On my most recent stay I found a big tangle of long black hair on the carpet when I arrived, and a wad of black hair over the drain in the shower (I have short brown hair).

Stay here if you need to save money, but don't expect much.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the larger rooms... although the person at the front desk may not know which those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dm4man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
Hotel 81 Changi
Hotel 81 Changi
#214 of 315 in Singapore
13 reviews
Joo Chiat
Hotel 81 - Sakura
Hotel 81 - Sakura
#207 of 315 in Singapore
141 reviews
Joo Chiat
Santa Grand Hotel East Coast
Santa Grand Hotel East Coast
#110 of 315 in Singapore
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Joo Chiat
Hotel  81 Classic
Hotel 81 Classic
#235 of 315 in Singapore
70 reviews
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel
Venue Hotel
#126 of 315 in Singapore
466 reviews
Joo Chiat
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
#144 of 315 in Singapore
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Peranakan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Peranakan Hotel

Property: Le Peranakan Hotel
Address: 400 East Coast Road | Katong District, Singapore 428994, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Joo Chiat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #273 of 315 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Peranakan Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Le Peranakan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Peranakan Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing