We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I had stayed longer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nostalgia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Nostalgia
Ranked #52 of 305 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wish I had stayed longer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I had 2 nights here this week and am sorry I had arranged to stay at Clarke Quay for the rest of the week. The Nostalgia is warm, friendly, clean, in an amazing art deco area & has the most comfy beds I have ever struck in a hotel! The rooms are small but so well appointed size is not an issue. The Tiong Bahru hawkers market is just across the road & there are countless bakeries and cafes nearby. The whole area seems to light up at night with seafood bbqs - smells amazing :-) So easy to get around too, with both MRT & bus close by. I will be back.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room - 204 was at the back, never heard a thing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DELIANA L, Manager at Hotel Nostalgia, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear kseatonsmith, Pert - Australia.
Thank you for taking your valuable time schedule to write us the objective and unbiased feedback about our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you have found Hotel Nostalgia is up to your expectation, especially with our service staff at the front and back of the house and the cleanliness of the room.
Our rooms are furnished with quality bedding & linens, the amenities are paraben free products and each room is local designer work of arts.
We are located in the historical estate of Tiong Bahru, MRT and Bus stops are within walking distance of the hotel and local eateries, cafes & bakeries are all around the neighborhood.
On behalf of the management, staff & owner of Hotel Nostalgia, we sincerely appreciate your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you & your colleague in the next visit to Singapore.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    326
    84
    24
    7
See reviews for
73
365
100
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

after staying for six nights in this beautifully kept small hotel, I can recommend it for it's central location in Tiong Bahru, right next to the main markets (many food and produce stalls) and is a short bus ride between the main hot spots, China Town, Orchard road, Santosa and Clarke / Boat Quays,the bus service is right in front of the hotel, the rooms are compact but immaculate, the lap pool is super clean, the friendly staff are extremely helpful and the beds are great. the hotel has a small restaurant next to the check in desk and there are plenty of other eating houses in all the surrounding streets and the modern Tiong Bahru center is just up the road.

Room Tip: sizes of rooms depends on cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DELIANA L, Manager at Hotel Nostalgia, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Mr John L,
Thank you for taking your valuable time schedule to write us this objective and unbiased feedback about our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you have found Hotel Nostalgia is up to your expectation, particularly your recognition of our cleanliness facilities.
We are located in the historical estate of Tiong Bahru, MRT & Bus stops are just within walking distance from the hotel and authentic local eateries are all around the neighborhood.
Nevertheless we are continuing to improve in all areas of the hotel for the comfort and satisfaction of our guest.
On behalf of the management, staff & owner of Hotel Nostalgia, we sincerely appreciate your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you & your colleague in the next visit to Singapore.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Located near Bus Stop and also Singaporean Food Court.
Restaurant was very nice (Italian), Bartender was very friendly and also the Chef.
All Female Receptions were very polite and helpful.
Room was much too small to travel with big luggage.
The only one Reception guy must improve how to communicate politely with Guest.

Room Tip: Don't bring too big luggage otherwise you have no space for yourself in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hartwij2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DELIANA L, Manager at Hotel Nostalgia, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking your valuable time schedule to write us the feedback about our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you have found Hotel Nostalgia's service associates are generally up to your expectation, except one male receptionist.
We will investigate the matter and take the necessary procedure to improve on those areas.
On behalf of the management, staff & owner of Hotel Nostalgia, we sincerely appreciate your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you & your colleague in the next visit to Singapore.
Management



Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksvaerk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 days with my daughter. Nice quiet location, and the service is exceptionally good! When we arrived by taxi from the airport, my daughter forgot her bag in the taxi. The only taxi informatio we had was that the car was blue... The really nice lady in the reception managed to track down the taxi and have the bag delivered within 30 minutes. Everyone working there, from the manager to the lady in the reception, and Danny doing the breakfast round, was extremely helpfull. I defintely recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Laur1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DELIANA L, Manager at Hotel Nostalgia, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking your valuable time schedule to write us this objective and unbiased feedback about our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you have found Hotel Nostalgia is up to your expectation, particularly your recognition of our service associates and F&B qualities.
About the bag that your daughter left in the taxi, it's our extra mile of service to help our guest to the best of our capability as permitted by law.
We are located in the historical estate of Tiong Bahru, MRT and Bus stops are within walking distance of the hotel, bakeries and local eateries are all around the neighborhood.
On behalf of the management, staff & owner of Hotel Nostalgia, we sincerely appreciate your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you & your colleague in the next visit to Singapore.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

I stayed 3 nights at the Nostaglia Hotel. The staff were superb!! Extremely helpful. The location was great. Easy to access any part of the city on buses or trains.

The room was smallish is size but beautifully decorated. The bathroom was spotless. Bed was super comfortable. There is a lap pool on one of the level. Great to sit in and watch the passing traffic.

Tiong Bahru is a cool little suburb that is worth walking around. Restaurants, cafes and small shops. Upstairs at the market there are food stalls where your can eat dinner or lunch for less than $5.

Great place- I will be back

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Aus_Rach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DELIANA L, Manager at Hotel Nostalgia, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for taking your valuable time schedule to write us this objective and unbiased feedback about our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you have found Hotel Nostalgia is up to your expectation, particularly your recognition of our service associates in the front & back of the house.
Nevertheless we are continuing to improve in all areas of the hotel for the comfort and satisfaction of our guest.
We are located in the historical estate of Tiong Bahru, MRT and Bus stops are within walking distance of the hotel, bakeries and local eateries are all around the neighborhood.
On behalf of the management, staff & owner of Hotel Nostalgia, we sincerely appreciate your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you & your colleague in the next visit to Singapore.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Very friendly helpful staff who go that extra mile to help..would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a quieter ...easy access to train station ...friendly place to stay...which isnt too expensive.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindiloo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DELIANA L, Manager at Hotel Nostalgia, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for taking your valuable time schedule to write us this objective and unbiased feedback about our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you have found Hotel Nostalgia is up to your expectation, particularly your recognition of our service associates.
We are located in the historical estate of Tiong Bahru, MRT and Bus stops are within walking distance of the hotel and local eateries & bakeries are all around the neighborhood.
On behalf of the management, staff & owner of Hotel Nostalgia, we sincerely appreciate your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you & your colleague in the next visit to Singapore.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The hotel is located right next to the Tiong Bahru Market where there are a wide selection of local cuisine at VERY reasonable price. Transportation-wise, the hotel is very close to some bus stations which would take you to the MRT stations within 2-3 mins. If you prefer walking, the hotel is 10-15 mins away from two MRT stations. Service is excellent. Feel free to approach any of the staff and I believe they would be more than willing to help. However, rooms are really small but since we did not have a lot of luggage it was alright for us.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cecilia Wingyu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DELIANA L, Manager at Hotel Nostalgia, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for taking your valuable time schedule to write us the objective and unbiased feedback about our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you are pleased with our service staff at the front and back of the house.
We are located in the historical estate of Tiong Bahru, MRT & Bus stops are just within walking distance from the hotel and authentic local eateries are all around the neighborhood
Nevertheless we are continuing to improve in all areas of the hotel for the comfort and satisfaction of our guest.
On behalf of the management, staff & owner of Hotel Nostalgia, we sincerely appreciate your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you & your colleague in the next visit to Singapore.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel YAN
#64 of 305 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Joo Chiat
Champion Hotel
Champion Hotel
#91 of 305 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#15 of 305 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 1,015 reviews
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#60 of 305 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 5,729 reviews
Lloyd's Inn
#47 of 305 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nostalgia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nostalgia

Property: Hotel Nostalgia
Address: 77 Tiong Bahru Road, Singapore 168727, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Tiong Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
#45 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#51 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#56 Family Hotel in Singapore
#62 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nostalgia 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Nostalgia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Nostalgia Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing