We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“our singapore experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Nostalgia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Nostalgia
Ranked #53 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Townsville, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“our singapore experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Although the rooms are quite small the staff and management make up for this
we found the level of service was second to none. All the staff were so friendly and helpful we certainly felt at home , we found the rooms very clean and the bedding good . The location is good we found the buses okay but we mainly used taxi as they were reasonably priced and there was four in our group. There is delicious food within 5 minutes also good coffee at French bakery close by, overall we enjoyed our stay with the Nostaliga and highly recommend it to anyone visiting Singapore .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank michael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DELIANA L, Manager at Hotel Nostalgia, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for taking your valuable time schedule to write us an objective/ unbiased feedback about our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you have a wonderful time here in Singapore, particularly your stay with us and your recognition of our service staff at Hotel Nostalgia.
On behalf of the management, staff & owner of Hotel Nostalgia, we greatly appreciate your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you and your associate in the next visit to Singapore.
Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    417
    103
    31
    9
See reviews for
94
467
133
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

I selected this hotel after seeing it on a previous trip. it is in one of the most interesting and architecturally stunning parts of Singapore. Bauhaus style buildings surround the property. In addition the very famous and excellent local hawker centre is two minutes walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DELIANA L, Manager at Hotel Nostalgia, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for taking your valuable time schedule to write us an objective/ unbiased feedback about our hotel.
We are located in the historical estate of Tiong Bahru , surrounded by local eateries and the rooms are furnished with modern amenities. MRT & Bus Stops are within walking distance from the hotel.
On behalf of the management, staff & owner of Hotel Nostalgia, we greatly appreciate your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you and your associate in the next visit to Singapore.
Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed for only one night arriving at around 7 am.
The very helpful and friendly on duty Manager gave us room access around 10am when a room became available and again kindly offered us (without any asking) a late checkout the following day at no extra charge.

Now .. that is service and will bring us back.

Room was not large but comfortably took two suitcases etc.

Bedding was super comfortable and bed linen crisp and fresh.

Room has an ironing board and good quality shampoos etc .. shower has great pressure.

While room overlooked a busy road there was no traffic noise.

There are plenty of reasonably priced places to eat within a minutes walk and an upmarket French Bakery Coffee shop around the corner.

Taxi fare to Orchard Road was around S$5 and to the Airport about S$25.

Thanks Hotel Nostalgia for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoff96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DELIANA L, Manager at Hotel Nostalgia, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
_____________________________________________________________________________________
Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for taking your valuable time schedule to write us an objective/ unbiased feedback about our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you have a wonderful time here in Singapore, particularly your stay with us and your recognition of our manager & staff at Hotel Nostalgia.
We are located in the historical estate of Tiong Bahru , surrounded by local eateries and the rooms are furnished with modern amenities. MRT & Bus Stops are within walking distance from the hotel.
On behalf of the management, staff & owner of Hotel Nostalgia, we greatly appreciate your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you and your associate in the next visit to Singapore.
Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

One of the nice memories about my trip to Singapore is also about the hotel we stayed in: Nostalgia Hotel.
I congratulate my travel agent for choosing this hotel for us. I travelled with my husband and my parents and all of us were pleased with our accommodation.
The rooms were a bit small, but provided us everything we needed. We enjoyed the free tea&coffee making facilities, the Wi-Fi, the complimentary daily water, newspapers, bath products, safe deposit, iron & ironing board, comfortable bed and the small pool. We even “snitched” one or two free apples from the lobby.
The staff was very polite and attentive and gladly helped us every time we had a question.
If one isn’t interested in the hotel’s restaurant, there are a lot of dining choices around the hotel, even a big market. The only small downside I found about this hotel, is the fact that it is situated 15 minutes from the MRT station. Even so, I particularly enjoyed that Chinatown district was located near the MRT station, which provided us a great place to buy souvenirs, to change money and to visit some of the city’s most famous temples.
All in all, I strongly recommend this hotel and I would gladly come back if I visit Singapore again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonia02gh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DELIANA L, Manager at Hotel Nostalgia, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for taking your valuable time schedule to write us an objective/ unbiased feedback about our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you have a wonderful time here in Singapore, particularly your stay with us and the recognition of our service staff at Hotel Nostalgia.
The nearest metro station is Tiong Bahru MRT station, it takes 6-10 minutes walk from the hotel, and bus stop are just out side the front door, 3 stops to the Tiong Bahru MRT station.
We are located in the historical Estate of Tiong Bahru, surrounded by local eateries and all sort of cafes & bakeries.
On behalf of the management, staff & owner of Hotel Nostalgia, we greatly appreciate your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you and your associate in your next visit to Singapore.
Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We arrived in Singapore after a 12 hour flight from Rome at 6.00am and thought that we would need to wait until 12.00 noon to get our room. Upon arriving at the hotel they allowed us to have our room and could not help us enough. We really appreciated this. The staff were great and always happy. The room was very clean and the bed comfortable.
We would recommend this small hotel with its wonderful service.
We would stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main road would be quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yvnev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DELIANA L, Manager at Hotel Nostalgia, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for taking your valuable time schedule to write us an objective/ unbiased feedback about our hotel.
We are glad to hear that after your extended travelling time, you have recognize that Hotel Nostalgia is up to your expectation, particularly your recognition about our service & staff over all.
Nevertheless we are continuing to improve in all areas of the Hotel for the comfort & satisfaction of our guest.
On behalf of the management, staff & owner of Hotel Nostalgia, we appreciate greatly for your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you and your associate in the next visit to Singapore.
Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed in Hotel Nostalgia for 11 nights, and it was a fantastic experience.
When our cab pulled up the front, straight away someone raced out to help with our bags. They were very welcoming and helpful. Throughout the stay, we were always greeting with a smile and a hello, nothing was ever too much trouble, and they even gave us a slightly later checkout as our flight wasn't until the evening. They also helped hail a cab and load our bags (cabs can be a bit funny in Singapore, and many will decline a fare if the destination is not to their liking, so this was very helpful).
The pool area was lovely and quiet, and the water temp was perfect. Lots of lovely deck chairs to sit on about the place.
Free wifi is available, and we had no problems with it. Also there is a number of pay TV channels (incl an Australian channel and NHK in Japanese).
The hotel is also opposite the famous Tiong Bahru hawker centre (about a 1 min walk from the hotel) so breakfast, lunch or dinner is easily taken care of here for a few dollars.
The hotel is close to the Tiong Bahru MRT train station (about a 5-10min walk) or there is a bus stop right out the front. Do yourself a favour and get a EZlink card for using on public transport. Cab fare to the main city is $6-$10. Cab fare to airport is $18-$30. Cab fare to the zoo $18-$30.
There are also a number of Western style cafes in the area if you are craving an espresso or latte.
The room we had was a base level one, which was very nicely decorated, and was very neat and clean. The room was quite small, about the same as a small one you might get in Japan, which is fine for me. I go on holiday to explore the country, not stay in a hotel room all day.
Only problems we had with this was:
1. There was no window in our room, which is GREAT if you need lots of sleep after a long plane flight, but bad as you end up sleeping away half the day as its so pitch black! Next time I personally opt for a more expensive room with a window if I was staying more than a day or two.
2. The second issue was more of a technical thing. Most hotels have the thing where you need to insert a room card in the slot to activate the lights etc (to save electricity), well this one activated the whole room - including the power to the bar fridge. So every time there was no room key, the fridge would turn off and start to defrost. This gave the room a musty smell. It took us a couple of days to figure this out, but once we did, we just made sure we always left a card in the slot, and we got a $2 room charcoal deodorizer from the Daiso to get rid of the smell. That is probably the only "gripe" I'd have about this hotel, but it really wasn't too bad - just something that maybe management should look at having taken out of the circuit.

Room Tip: If you like larger rooms with light, go for the higher priced rooms. The cheaper ones are quite sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crashing_starz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DELIANA L, Manager at Hotel Nostalgia, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for taking your valuable time schedule to write us an objective/ unbiased feedback about our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you have a wonderful time here in Singapore, particularly your stay with us and your recognition of our staff at Hotel Nostalgia.
As for your concern about Taxi Cab here in Singapore, we will take note and let the relevant authority aware of it. All our rooms are equip with energy saving system and the Fridge should not be out, even without key card inserted. Nevertheless we are continuing to improve in all areas of the hotel for our guest comfort and satisfaction.
On behalf of the management, staff & owner of Hotel Nostalgia, we greatly appreciate your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you and your associate in the next visit to Singapore.
Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

My parents and I stayed for few days in Nostalgia Hotel for the 2nd time. The size of this hotel is quite small, nevertheless it makes us feel like we were staying in our own home.

This hotel is very clean and comfortable. During our stay there, I slept in an extra bed. Surprisingly, the hotel's extra bed is very comfortable..so just imagine the comfort of its master bed! It must be much more comfortable than this extra bed!

I like this hotel because of its accessible location. This hotel is located near bus stop with direct bus to Orchard Road. It's just 3 bus stops away from the nearest MRT. During our stay there, the three of us often took taxi from the hotel, because taxi was faster and cheaper to reach our destination: it's just $5 to Orchard Road and $6 to Vivo City. Very cheap!

Breakfast in this hotel is great. Our favorite breakfast menu was American breakfast, egg benedict and coffee latte. It's indeed a great breakfast to start our day.

The hotel's friendly employees and staff also made our stay comfortable and memorable.

In short, Nostalgia Hotel is worth every single cent of your money. I highly recommend this hotel to all people who seek value and good service for their hard earned money. A definite choice of hotel for travelers!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elvanvivian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DELIANA L, Manager at Hotel Nostalgia, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for taking your valuable time schedule to write us an objective/ unbiased feedback about our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you enjoy your stay with us, particularly the recognition of our staff and the breakfast.
We are continuing to improve in all areas of the hotel for our guests comfort & satisfaction.
On behalf of the management, staff & owner of Hotel Nostalgia, we greatly appreciate your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you and your associate in the next visit to Singapore.
Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel YAN
#50 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Joo Chiat
Champion Hotel
Champion Hotel
#91 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#55 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Naumi Liora
Naumi Liora
#97 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nostalgia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nostalgia

Property: Hotel Nostalgia
Address: 77 Tiong Bahru Road, Singapore 168727, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Tiong Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
#45 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#51 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#56 Family Hotel in Singapore
#62 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nostalgia 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Nostalgia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Nostalgia Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing