We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Amazing Service!”
Review of Hotel Nostalgia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Nostalgia
Ranked #52 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2012

From the moment my wife, child and I arrived, it was like we were royalty. The staff are exceptional and they are really talkative and always showing interest in our stay. Hotel Nostalgia is the place to stay whether on holiday or business. The decor and cleanliness is of high standard. We just cannot say thanks enough to all the team at Hotel Nostalgia.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GCPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,000 - 1,006 of 1,158 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Nostalgia for six nights in April 2012. I cannot praise the staff enough - they were efficient, friendly and very helpful. We were offered a room upgrade at check-in and although check-out is noon, because our departure flight was late in the evening, our check-out was changed to 1400.
The room was lovely - very clean with attractive and comfortable furnishings, though my husband found that his feet tended to hang off the end of the bed! The bathroom was very clean and beautifully decorated. The pool on the 3rd floor was small but in a fab spot - I enjoyed floating in the cool water whilst watching the passers-by below.

The hawker centre just round the corner, Tiong Bahru Market, was fantastic for trying the local food - we ate there every evening bar one. Be aware that the food kiosks close relatively early - we found that eating between 1730 and 1830 was a good time.

Just a couple of minor niggles - on the one night that we ate in the hotel, we ordered various tapas dishes, and were a little disappointed that everything was just deep-fried. We also found the mini-bar prices to be on the high side.

All-in-all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and heartily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ali C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Nostalgia in April 2012.
The staff are superb and cannot do enough for the guests.
On arrival we were immediately offered a room upgrade without asking.

Location wise it's away from the othe major hotel areas. There's a superb hawker centre in Tiong Baru Market just around the corner where you can get a full meal for S$2-S$3.
Busses stop right outside and there are two MRT stations within 5 mins walk.
The staff are always happy to flag down a taxi if you need one.

The breakfasts in the hotel are superb. The only minor point was the remainder of the hotel menu which was all western food and very basic for the price.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoolArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Stayed 3 nights and can recommend this to other visitors. We booked well in advance and got a nice discount due to the time of booking and the length of the stay. Staff was friendly and efficient. We were moved to a nicer room due to planned repair of the nearby lift.
Aircon was efficient and not noisy. Pool was very nice and clean.
The rooms were clean and well equiped with a fridge, flatscreen TV, CD-player and a nice bathroom with a separate shower section. The hotel is located near to busses and not far from underground trains. The taxi found it easily.

Room Tip: Pool is at the third floor like we :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trip_advis66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

The property is located in a central suburb which provides easy access to the different parts of Singapore. And a very popular food market is just located behind the hotel, so if you are not a fussy eater and/or into the local cuisine, this is a good place to be.
Our room was on the second floor facing the main road. We have been forewarned that there will be traffic noise at night. So if you are a light-sleeper, please make sure you get a room away from the (main) road.
The room itself is rather small, so if you are a bigger-build person, you might want to consider other hotels. Definitely a no-no for two big-build people. For the price we paid, we would be better off at a hotel chain (bigger room). Otherwise, all the standard facilities of a hotel room are available. Toilet a tad-small but still ok.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wtgn_ling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Stayed here recently for one night - hotel staff very friendly and efficient. The room was small but well laid out and have everything you needed - LCD TV, fridge, desk. The bed was comfortable and it had a good sized shower. We had a window room but overlooked a side alley. There is a cafe/bar on the ground floor with outdoor seating. There are numerous restaurants around the hotel with the Tiong Bahru shopping mall approximately a ten minute walk away. The location is away from the main tourist area and is in a low rise residential area. The MRT (Tiong Bahru) is also a ten minute walk. Good value for an overnight or short stay,

Room Tip: Ask for a window room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AustraliaKel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Amazing what they can fit into these tiny rooms - iron, ironing board, bathrobes, slippers...they give it all here. But wow was the room tiny. Bed is very comfie but for 2 person room bed was against the wall which made me feel even more claustrophobic in there.
Lovely decor, nice bar and outdoor patio. Small infinity type pool on the roof --wonderful in the evening.
The best shower pressure ever..Very nice bathroom.
Super friendly staff. This place at a lower price than most hotels was a great stay for 1 night.
Definitely check out the hawker center right next to the hotel -- good stuff!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lexi1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel YAN
#59 of 317 in Singapore
454 reviews
Hotel G Singapore
#68 of 317 in Singapore
1,191 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#10 of 317 in Singapore
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Naumi Liora
#103 of 317 in Singapore
946 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#64 of 317 in Singapore
1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nostalgia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nostalgia

Address: 77 Tiong Bahru Road, Singapore 168727, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Tiong Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#51 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#62 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $87 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nostalgia 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Nostalgia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Nostalgia Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing