We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best duck ever.”

Min Jiang Goodwood Park Hotel
Ranked #363 of 10,792 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $120
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Established in 1982 and named after the Min River in the Sichuan province of China, the Min Jiang restaurant is renowned for serving some of the best Chinese cuisine in Singapore.This award-winning restaurant has a contemporary Oriental appeal with elegant furnishings, polished wooden floors and a classy muted colour scheme. The warm lighting accompanied by soft background music makes for an ideal setting for a cosy and intimate meal. For guests who prefer to dine outdoors, there is an alfresco dining terrace next to the hotel’s main pool, complete with an outdoor grill kitchen. The six private dining rooms are perfect for private business meals, social gatherings and even small weddings.Min Jiang features a repertoire of popularSichuanand Cantonese dishes and diners can also enjoy a delectable dim sum selection every day, served on trolleys and barbecued specialties from the outdoor grill kitchen in the evenings.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“The best duck ever.”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I were recently staying at the Goodwood Park Hotel. We had made a reservation well in advanced after doing our homework through Tripadvisor.
Everything was spot on and we were blown away with the duck with mangoes. It was the best duck we have ever had.
We also had a dish of scallops which was to die for, you don't get such large scallops here in Adelaide, Australia.
A delightful dining experience. Thank you.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jobandben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    66
    15
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very good food, but service needs improvement”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Ask for a table outside by the pool, it's a beautiful garden setting (all the chinese are sitting inside because of the aircon, but interior is average). Must eat: Peking duck 2 styles: 1 is traditional in pancakes, try the other style fried with spring onion and garlic. superb! we also had some dim sum and chili prawns, which where also nice but nothing special.
SERVICE: not very attentive, staff seems to be overstrained and not well trained. we had to ask several times for new drinks and the bill.
However all in all I would recommend to go here for the peking duck and the nice place!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anique1337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Top drawer!”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Great restaurant situated nicely in the historic and attractive Goodwood Park Hotel just off Orchard Road. We went there for it's Sichuan reputation. The menu was fantastic and the delivery matched - interesting Chinese dishes outstandingly presented; each dish was an adventure. As for Sichuan - not bad for anything actually outside of Chengdu, but a bit Sichuan-lite. I would definitely go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wking21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
451 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Very good Classic Chinese”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We were staying at the hotel and normally never eat at a Hotel restaurant. But word of mouth was that this was worthwhile and I'm very glad we did. As withn the hotel, everything they do here is classy, from the food to decor to service. You don't feel you're in a busy food factory as many places in Singapore do. Go and enjoy

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank bigvicSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portimao, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Great food, good service, price appropriate to the location (it's in the hotel!). Staff were very helpful. Good selection of vegetarian options.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trembler49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Min Jiang Goodwood Park Hotel also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Min Jiang Goodwood Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing