We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good walking but beware the monkeys!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of MacRitchie Reservoir

MacRitchie Reservoir
Ranked #24 of 796 things to do in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
144 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good walking but beware the monkeys!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Great place for a walk and breath of fresh air. There is reasonable parking, taxi drop off and buses nearby. Several trails of varying length but about 11km all the way around with also a tree top walk. Much of the boardwalk is in shade and easily accessible for all including pushchairs but the longer paths can get a bit muddy so do wear trainers/sensible shoes. Do keep to the well signposted paths and do not feed the monkeys. If you take a picnic then keep it hidden away not in plastic bags. There was a small café with snacks and drinks, toilets etc. Lots of people exercising and jogging but also places to sit quietly and watch the dragonflies, fish, turtles etc.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OneSandyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    220
    38
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wish we'd discovered MacRitchie sooner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Only a $10 taxi ride from Robertson quay, MacRitchie seems a world away from the usual hustle and bustle of Singapore city! We walked to the HSBC treetop walk then back around the reservoir, all in all was about an 11km walk ounce the tree top walk was included. The paths are really well signed and the walking trail is well maintained. We saw many monkeys along the way, maybe 3-4 different kinds, we saw huge lizards (looked like goannas but not sure what they were) and turtles in the park at the end. The walk itself is very easy going, but be sure to bring plenty of water as it was very very hot and humid (as could be expected). The views from the tree tops walk should not be missed....though maybe not for those with a fear of heights!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liseylou82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
411 reviews
225 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 558 helpful votes
“plenty of things to do!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

The Good =)
~Cheap activities...some even for free!
~Encouraging to see crowds of people exercising,
at anytime & at anywhere!

The Bad =(
~Crowded during weekends.
~Limited parking during weekends.

My Tip for future visits:
~If you want to enjoy aircon-quality temperatures,
visit from 5 to 6.30am, before the sun rises.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank singlish_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
82 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lush green jungle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We went for a long walk and tree top walk is very good. Had a bit of trouble with my shoes. Please wear comfortable shoes since the track is mud one and full of rocks. Strictly stick to the track , do not go into the jungle since chances are there you may get lost. On the whole had a good exercise and good breath. My eyes enjoyed the serenity.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ak2931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
92 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Untouched and wco friendly place in singapore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

I visited the reservoir when I was in singapore. It is a very quiet place and would be an interesting place for nature enthusiasts.
I walked all the 13-14km stretch of the reservoir. I saw a.lot of butterflies and monotor lizards roaming freely. It was like me and nature interacting with the cicadas background score.

The much hyped tree walk isnt that great but the walk was worth it. Carry enough water as you will not find any provisions to refill.

Happy walking...

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Prasanth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MacRitchie Reservoir also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to MacRitchie Reservoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing