We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favourite Singapore walk”

The Southern Ridges
Ranked #22 of 804 things to do in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bridging the hills of Mount Faber Park, Telok Blangah Hill Park and Kent Ridge Park, the Southern Ridges combine invigorating exercise with spectacular views across Singapore.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
293 reviews
148 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Favourite Singapore walk”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Singapore is so urban that it takes imagination from its planners to provide enough green space and trails for all its inhabitants. Fortunately this is a great example: a linked series of short trails running along the ridges from NUS to Vivo City, each one with its own quirks and sights.

The trail is best walked from west to east and there are a number of starting points. To me the first interesting one is the beginning of the Canopy Walk which starts near the top of Pepys Road beyond Reflections at Bukit Chandu (worth visiting this before you start if you are into WWII history and haven't been there before).

The Canopy Walk does what it says on the tin: it is a high boardwalk built among the tops of the tree, giving an interesting perspective of the forest and including some useful information boards so you know what trees you are looking at.

Next comes the Floral Walk and Hort Park: you snake down the hill on a windy brick path and then through the wide formal gardens (there are 40 distinct small gardens to look at) and greenhouses of Hort Park. At the end of Hort Park there's a cafe which used to do quite good Thai food but is now reputedly rather poor: but at least you can get drinks. You can also start the walk from the car-park here if you want a shorter distance, as we often do (it's about an hour from here to the end). After the car park comes the Alexandra Arch, a handsome bridge with a metal geometric leaf-like design spanning Aexandra Road.

After the bridge, proceed up the metal walkway which forms the Forest Walk. This is quite a climb and takes you all the way back up to the top of the ridge, winding its way through the forest near the top, again at the level of the canopy for viewing. Quite often you will see birds here, and monkeys (keep your plastic bags hidden from them to avoid their pestering and do as the signs say and do not feed them). Views are excellent to the south from here.

After leaving the metal walkway, you continue along the forested ridge past or through a couple of outdoor gym areas, and then up a hill to the start of the Henderson Waves bridge. This bridge is even more of an architectural joy than the Alexanda Arch: it's over 120 feet in the air and spans the valley across to Mount Faber. It is designed to look a bit like a paper streamer in the wind, and inside it has a number of curves and steps enjoyed mostly by skateboarders. Views from here are also stunning and it's quite common to see couples having their wedding photos taken here.

At the end of the bridge, keep straight ahead on the Mount Faber loop. Don't bother taking the longer loop to the right - there are no decent views, just an extra kilometer to trudge if you go that way.

At the top of Mount Faber you see the Jewel Box, with several restaurants. We usually stop here at Sapphire for dinner: it's relatively informal and used to sweaty walkers, despite what it says on their website, and the once more the view as the sun sets and dark settles in is one of the best in Singapore.

Finally, if you don't get a cab from the Jewel Box, make your way down the steps which make up the Marang Trail to Vivo City and the shock of being in the largest and busiest (and most confusing) mall in Singapore - but at least there are plenty more places for food and drink if you need them.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
13 Thank MacDaddyinSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    423
    262
    34
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Olive Hill, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Nice Trails, A Bit Crowded In The Evenings”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My girlfriend and I walked about 5 km through The Southern Ridges in the evening and it was very nice. It was well-lit and the trails were not too difficult. Quite nice for a couple hours' walk.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gerald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Oz
Level Contributor
101 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Worth the effort”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The adjoining parks of the Southern Ridges offers a lovely, quiet, Green experience in Singapore. We took a taxi to the middle...near the Henderson Waves (very high pedestrian bridge) and walked to the Kent Ridge Park...down the metal Forest Walk..and back...then over the H.Waves to Mount Faber Park (with its cable car to Sentosa Island)...and then down to the MRT station to travel back to central Singapore. The walk, though a little tiring in the humidity, was Lovely...with tropical scenery in quiet abundance. We will go back on our next trip!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank oftentraveller45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A great walk through some lovely areas”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We loved this walk, through beautiful and diverse areas, with some great views. We started at Kent Ridge Park (a lovely area), walked through Hort Park, then via Telok Blanagh and Mt Faber down to the Harbour Front MRT (I'm estimating it was about 5kms). Come well-prepared for the heat and sun - sunblock, hat/parasol, and plenty of water. I found Hort Park the toughest section, as it's largely exposed to the sun, with little shade - stop at the visitors' centre (where maps and advice are available) and regenerate with a cold drink in the shade. (Toilets are also available here.) From Mt Faber, you can catch the cable car down to Harbour Front, but it's also only a relatively short downhill walk (about 15 minutes) to the MRT station if you prefer to walk all the way.
Following this route, you'll pass the Jewel Box, but this seemed to be largely a group of quite formal restaurants (not really appropriate for dropping in all hot and sweaty in your walking gear!) - so it might be wise to bring your own snacks.
One problem we did face was finding the access point to Kent Ridge Park at the very beginning of the walk - none of the locals seemed to know where it was! Here's how we did it: exit the Kent Ridge MRT station, turn left, and then walk on to Science Park Drive. Continue for about 500 metres - on your right, you'll see a building with an unusual fountain in its forecourt featuring sculptures of brains (yes, it was bizarre!). The security guards out the front couldn't help us, but the receptionist inside the building knew exactly where to go, and explained that the Kent Ridge Park entrance is around the side and to the rear of this building, down some steps. I know this sounds complicated, but the walk really was worth it!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank KatWollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Decent outing”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I started the trail from Bukit Chandu, got on at the Canopy Walk and ended it after the Forest Walk. Lots of trail info on the Singapore National Parks website, so I wont spend words on that.

We were 4 adults & 3 kids. It was a very sunny day and over the route there were only 2 (or 3) places where water was available. There is not much tree cover for the route mentioned above. My other grouse is that during the walk you periodically come across buildings & arterial roads; which I found a jarring experience. I recently hiked thru MacRitchie Reservoir & was expecting a similar experience; which, in retrospect was a mistake.

Canopy Walk: nice, but too short to register as an experience.
Hort Park: strangely devoid of large trees. It had a Butterfly Enclosure that was closed by the time we got there (~12:30 pm). The kids enjoyed the play areas, but I found them out of place.
Alexandra Arch: a pedestrian bridge with a claim to structural design
Forest Walk: quite good ... was fun & the highlight of the trip.

We walked down to the road after Forest Walk and took a cab to Vivocity (Harbourfront) for a late lunch.

Total walk time: 2.5 hours, with plenty of breaks.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nikhil_Mhapankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Southern Ridges also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to The Southern Ridges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing