We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Singapore stop over”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Value Hotel Thomson
Ranked #190 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Singapore stop over”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This hotel is clean and tidy. The rooms are small and we booked an inner room with no window asked to look at it and it was too clostophobic so we changed to room with a window for an extra $ 10 per day it was worth that. The rooms are small but its a place to put your head down and not built for staying in too long, three days were enough for us. The room was clean and tidy and the towels were nice and fresh each day.
The room had a kettle and hair drier. Also shower wash and shampoo. they gave a bottle of water each day and wifi was free although I had some problems logging in some times.
Ten min walk from the MRT (metro /tube) station.

Room Tip: Suggest you would need a window room. No other issues for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    638
    394
    123
    77
See reviews for
179
223
117
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Look it's a budget hotel, I get that. But I have stayed in others and never been so throughly disappointed. Lucky we didn't pack the cat cause we couldn't have swung that around our room.
We travelled in a group of five, we had two adults and a child in our room. The child had to sleep on a fold out chair made from leather which hard, cracked and dirty with no sheets provided. Had to call down and ask only to come back and find it all packed up.
Passages are titled and we had people dragging their cases up and down and talking which echoes up and down the passage.
The bathrooms are small and I have been in smaller without a worry but these are so poorly designed that it was a safety thing. Drain is at the door but the shower is at the back of bathroom, so that the water has to run passed the toilet and then the sink finally to the drain. Then to get out of the shower and dry yourself, you must walk through all that and have to go into your room to dress for a dry floor. Then the next person has to go to the toilet or just brush their teeth has to stand in all that water, so impractical.
I tried to get information from the guy at the mobile tourist table in lobby and he was on his phone the whole time and he was rude because had to stop so I could speak to him! We booked for four nights there cancelled the other two as we were all so grumpy and tired and it was ruining our holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank truckieandthewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Bunbury, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Second time at this hotel , it seemed bigger before....
The rooms are really small and there's no fridge, pain when u want a drink at the end of the day.. And No wardrobe ????? Weird.

Pool was great on the only day we got to use it as it closes at 9pm and as we never made it back to hotel by then we never got to use it........ So would of been better getting a cheaper hotel without a pool.

Room Tip: If you don't like really small spaces then look somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dean c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Value Hotel Thomson for the price is a nice hotel.Its been freashly renovated, rooms are clean and fresh, they are on the small size but for the price you expect that. The staff are friendly and helpful. Beds are comfortable
There are not a great deal of resturants near by so if you get in late make sure you pick up something on the way. We choose this hotel as our first one stop in singapore as its close to the Zoo etc and then we moved. We have found its better to stay in the area you want to see things is best (we went to Santosa after VHT) , There is no WIFi in rooms so that s a bit disapointing. We have teenagers so rooms are ok for them but if you have small children then space is tight. Its easy accessible to transport. Over all nice hotel and great staff,wouls stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rothys5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel is nice and clean and is easily accessible by transportation although the room and rest room are small with no shower curtain in the rest room. The Hotel is best for solo travelers but not advisable for travelers with family and kids due to space limitations. Overall, the hotel is good and has a good location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATTYJUNYU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed 4 night there, it was a wonderful stay, the room's are very clean, Many thanks at the front office manager and the staff is amazing! Everyone was so friendly for making our stay very comfortable! Accommodated late check out. Rooms were clean and extremely comfortable.
We recommend it, and if we stay again in Singapore We will come back!

Room Tip: Always look for room with window in higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mano P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madurai, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

It was definitely a memorable one. The staffs are excellent in their service. Loved the pool as well.
If there's anything for improvement, that would be consider providing complimentary carpark

But I'm definitely coming here to stay in my next visit!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srinini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Value Hotel Balestier
#172 of 312 in Singapore
651 reviews
Value Hotel Nice
#195 of 312 in Singapore
235 reviews
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel
Venue Hotel
#124 of 312 in Singapore
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqueen Hotel Balestier
#121 of 312 in Singapore
358 reviews
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel The Lily
Venue Hotel The Lily
#128 of 312 in Singapore
336 reviews
Fragrance Hotel - Oasis
#177 of 312 in Singapore
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Value Hotel Thomson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Value Hotel Thomson

Property: Value Hotel Thomson
Address: 592 Balestier Road, Singapore 329901, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Value Hotel Thomson 2.5*
Number of rooms: 366
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Value Hotel Thomson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Value Hotel Thomson Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing