We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel with excellent staffs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Value Hotel Thomson
Ranked #195 of 314 Hotels in Singapore
United, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel with excellent staffs”
Reviewed December 10, 2011

I checked into this hotel with some apprehension due to the fact i read some reviews about how small the room is. But when i checked in with my fiancee, i was pleasantly suprised by the size of it. It was more than adequate for a couple staying and i am quite a big sized guy myself.You cannot expect to pay such a cheap price for a room and expect the size of a presidential suite in return. The front office staffs were very obliging and affable with all my requests and questions about how to travel and where to visit the sights of Singapore and were generally very courteous as well.

I will defintely come back to stay here again and would definitely recommend this hotel to all my friends back in the US. Kudos to the staffs for making my stay a memorable one.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JacobsSimmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    639
    397
    124
    79
See reviews for
180
226
119
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Value Hotel Thomson is, as its name implies, a budget hotel, so don't expect amenities. It was the most spartan hotel room I'd ever seen, as well as the second-tiniest, so much so that I had a hard time finding somewhere to place my umbrella so it could dry. The bed was definitely on the firm side and had only one coverlet, though fortunately the room's thermostat worked. The walls were thin, so I couldn't have slept if I hadn't brought earplugs.

My three biggest complaints, however, related to the bizarre shower, the unfriendly staff, and the absence of the promised breakfast. The shower is merely a showerhead in the bathroom: no shower curtain, no enclosure of any kind, and the water covered the entire bathroom floor before reaching a drain in the far corner. Why would they design such a deficient shower? They don't provide soap either, so I was glad I brought my own, though they do provide bath gel and shower.

The staff were very unfriendly and were unable or unwilling to answer basic questions. They also don't have any maps or tourist brochures at the hotel, nor do the staff seem to realize why tourists would want and expect such things. So be sure to grab a map and some brochures before you leave the airport because I found only one tourist kiosk in all of Singapore (on Orchard Road). Perhaps the staff haven't traveled outside Singapore and therefore aren't familiar with showers or hotel desks in the rest of the world.

Finally, I had reserved my room and prepaid for it using a well-known online third-party company; I paid extra for breakfast to be included. Upon arrival, I discovered that there was no restaurant in the hotel, and to get the included breakfast I needed a coupon from the front desk, but they had no record that I had paid for it, and the surly staffer didn't have any interest in trying to confirm it with the online company. So I was quite irritated to be charged extra for the non-existent breakfast.

The room included a water-boiling pot (look for its base inside the desk drawer); a television with several channels, though I found only one in English; and two complimentary bottles of water, replenished daily. There wasn't a refrigerator. The hotel certainly doesn't have amenities such as a gym, pool, business center, or room service. There are two Internet terminals in the lobby, both of which charge by the minute.

There are no tourist attractions in the neighborhood of the hotel, though there is a small convenience store around the corner. The hotel is about 8 to 10 minutes' walk from the nearest subway stop, the Novena MRT station, which is by far the easiest way to travel within Singapore. Although the Value Hotel Thomson is located on Balestier Road, be advised that there is also a different hotel called the Value Hotel Balestier, so don't confuse the two.

I wouldn't stay there again, and it's an adequate value only by comparison with even more expensive hotels elsewhere in Singapore. However, if you lower your expectations and consider it a backpacker venue rather than a mid-range hotel, you might be content with it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

China
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We stayed on 11th floor. Room was new with no bad smell. Reception was nice and efficient. Breakfast was not included but my girl said it was 10 SGD and it was ok. Hotel is a bit far from subway but close to shopping street. Nothing more to say. We were satisfied.

Room Tip: rooms near the lift are a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexmam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

i went there with my family for a week-long vacation... to sum up the experience, it wasn't impressive

+ves-
the rooms are very tidy and the french window makes for a nice view. reception staff was very courteous and helpful.

-ves-
the rooms here are very very small, rather cramped
for water, they provide only self-branded bottled water and charge a significant amount for it
hotel is located quite distant from city centre and most of the tourist locations. further, it is located in a residential area. so finding traveller's conveniences like restaurants etc. was quite a trouble.

overall, i wouldn't advise anyone to stay in this hotel

Room Tip: if u are booking multiple rooms and want those rooms nearby, talk to them before reaching there. we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SB1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Quezon City, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Was looking for an affordable place in Singapore while staying away from the red light district and "ho-tels"

Stayed here last week and reserved for a window room. Upon check-in, we noticed that the window was just a hole in the wall with glass facing the other side of the hotel (inner unit). We quickly complained and requested for a change in room or be charged the tariff of the standard non-window room.

We were given a new window room. The window is 6 times bigger than the hole in the wall and the room has a ledge near the window where we could put our suitcase and other things.

You have to be creative as you have to adjust to this 10sqm room with a 2sqm bathroom. Every inch or cm of space counts.

Can't take a bath one after the other as the bath is already flooded asfter the first person takes a bath.

Room is clean and decent.

Partitions in between room was made of plywood. You can hear people talking, joking and walking in the hallway,

Bed is on the hard side,

Toiletries, towels (a little worn), coffee and tea (3 in 1) provided.

Far from MRT (20 minutes walk), you have to take a five minute walk to the bus stop and another 5 minute bus ride.

Outside the hotel are 2 convenience stores, a fine dining resto and several open-air eateries. Quite near the community mall.

Room Tip: Get the window room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We used this hotel for a long weekend in Singapore. It was not particularly cheap, but was located next door to a friends place, and we'd meet up with him every day.
The rooms are small, but this was expected. They were clean, cleaned every day, and had air-con. We had a room without windows (by choice since this is cheaper), and it did get a bit stuffy in there. The toilet/shower is small, and everything will get wet when you take a shower. There is a flatscreen TV in the room, but we didn't use it so I can't say anything about the channels. The breakfast is in a restaurant next door, and was ok for the type of hotel.
This is all well and good, but the bad part was the noise. This hotel seems to attract people who want to stand outside their rooms shouting at 0200 in the night, and 0600 in the morning. The hotel design with long bare corridors doesn't help as noise travels very far. If the guy on the other side of the wall is snoring, you'll hear it clearly too.
The hotel staff are friendly, and dealt with any small problem we had (and we didn't have any big ones). Getting into Singapore city is easy with the good bus system the have, or you can walk for 10 minutes to reach a MRT station..
If you sleep like a log, this hotel might suit you well, but I'd not stay there again purely because of the noise level.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MortenL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed here early November for 4 nights and although it was relatively cheap, it was very small for 2 people twin-sharing a room. the bathroom was quite small and the shower was 'open plan' so everytime you had a shower, the toilet would get wet. the reception staff were civil but unhelpful when we asked them about getting directions to the main city centre.
If you want a clean place to stay thats cheap then i would recommend here but if you speak english then you may not get as much help as youd like.
Also, i would recommend going across the road on Balestier Road if you need to use the internet- its only $1SGD per hour compared with the hotel rate of over $4 for half an hour.

Room Tip: request a room on a higher floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank On_Holiday_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Value Hotel Balestier
#174 of 314 in Singapore
655 reviews
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel
Venue Hotel
#129 of 314 in Singapore
466 reviews
Fragrance Hotel - Oasis
#177 of 314 in Singapore
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Value Hotel Nice
#194 of 314 in Singapore
236 reviews
Aqueen Hotel Balestier
#118 of 314 in Singapore
361 reviews
Arton Boutique Hotel
#154 of 314 in Singapore
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Value Hotel Thomson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Value Hotel Thomson

Property: Value Hotel Thomson
Address: 592 Balestier Road, Singapore 329901, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 314 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Value Hotel Thomson 2.5*
Number of rooms: 366
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Value Hotel Thomson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Value Hotel Thomson Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing