We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely location with good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jim Thompson on Dempsey Hill

Jim Thompson on Dempsey Hill
Ranked #41 of 10,421 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Tanglin
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lovely location with good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Was there for a business lunch. Great location and not very busy during lunchtime. Lovely decor with a lot of Jim Thompson silk cushions. High ceiling made the place feel palatial and surprisingly authentic looking. Attentive service but unobtrusive. Staff are well versed in their knowledge of the menu. Food was good. Almost as good as in Thailand! During the meal, we also had a Thai dancer come through the room which was interesting. Power went off twice though and they had to turn the air conditioning off...which made it a bit hot and stuffy. Had standing fans which helped a little. Overall, an authentic Thai meal in a nice location.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PKKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    162
    55
    19
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“WOW – Great night, Great food and Great service..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We arrived when it was raining and were greeted by a young gentleman who gave as an umbrella to walk to the front door with. When we arrived at the front door there was another person there to take the umbrella from us, nice!

We stepped inside of this wonderful building to be greeted by the good old traditional Thai greeting..

The menu has a lot to choose from and a lot of dining options. We tried a couple of dishes that we haven’t tried before despite our numerous visits to Thailand and we were not disappointed. They also make a great Mojito cocktail. The service was top notch and we didn’t want for anything.

They have a lovely outdoor setting that would be lovely to sit in at night (if not raining). Will try get back again before we leave Singapore.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MojiNegro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food & atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Had another great evening at Jim Thompson - Thai food was great with efficient service - around $SG 500 for 4 adults & 2 children. Thai dancer drifting around the restaurant added to the entertainment. Looking forward to my next visit later this year

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CelticPathfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice Ambience ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

One of the best upmarket restaurants in Singapore for thai food. Great ambience and decor with food to match. Obviously on the expensive side. Worth a visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank raop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
152 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Thai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

I love this restaurant. The decor is nice especially if you dine outside when it is not too hot. They have very nice thay dishes and good platters to share. Great for couples or friends. I also organized some corporate events there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paoloc0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jim Thompson on Dempsey Hill also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Jim Thompson on Dempsey Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing