We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Thai cuisine in a luxurious setting”

Jim Thompson on Dempsey Hill
Ranked #42 of 10,933 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Tanglin
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai cuisine in a luxurious setting”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Having eaten here more than a dozen times, I can safely say that Jim Thompson restaurant is by far the best Thai food in Singapore. It has an extensive menu and they are willing to adjust dishes to accommodate guests desire - or lack thereof - for spicy heat. While the usual Thai standards are available, the specials are where you can sample exotic dishes. The restaurant - in a converted British military building - is spectacular and posh. Outside seating is available, but only recommended for late evening. Service ranges from good to very good. On most evenings the restaurant features Thai dancers and appropriate music. The restaurant is located near the Botanic Gardens and the US Embassy - set back from the main roads in a lush, quiet setting. I have taken numerous business colleagues there and never been disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    182
    59
    21
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“good but a little tired”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

just went to Jim Thompson to celebrate a milestone birthday for a visitor to singapore and was a little disappointed in the restaurant. The cocktails are still good and the curries amazing, the pomela salad incredible. However I went there 2 years ago and the place has really aged and the atmosphere has dulled. The staff were not as polished as before and they also completely forgot about the cake we brought. In saying that a group of them came and sang happy birthday and that was a nice touch. It was a good night but not a great night. Its definitely great thai food (probably the best so far in singapore i have had) but good for date night and not for this type of occasion.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank m5carter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Splendidly decorated that left my guests in awe”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Went with my friends for some nice Thai food, and was stunned by the charming decoration - a good mix of folklore Thai and modern design. The menu had many exquisite items that were mouth watering. While I loved the food, my Thai friends said that it was good, but not as good what they would normally considered authentic Thai. Service was great, but very over priced. I would bring business guests here, but may have second thoughts if we were to come among ourselves.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Divine”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The setting, the interior, the food and the entertainment were first class heritage elegance, a must for any Singapore visitor

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AnkiGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Needs improvement.”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Myself and my companion went to Jim Thompson restaurant looking forward to something special.

However , upon arriving found the Maitre 'd fairly blase' about our reservation , not heeding our reservation requests. We had reserved a smoking table , and were directed to the crappiest table where you would have had to fire a signal flare to get any service.

When we arrived the restaurant was essentially empty , bar about 3 tables of diners.

We again pointed out that in our reservation that we had requested a smoking table and were then seated at a table , only to be asked to move to another table minutes later. Third times a charm?

We ordered drinks and around 5 dishes and within the time it took for us to smoke about half a cigarette 4 dishes arrived ( approx 3 minutes. ) .

It seemed pretty obvious that most of the dishes couldn't have been freshly cooked. Unless the Chef can cook 4 dishes in 1 and a half minutes, taking into consideration the the time it took the staff to take the order to the kitchen and then bring the dishes to our table.

One particular prawn dish was very cold. When asked if they could make a fresh dish it came back 4 minutes later , obviously microwaved. The prawns resembled hockey pucks.

It started to rain and at no point did staff ask us if we wanted to move to a table under cover.

Some dishes were good , the Tom Yam being an example , but on the whole for the price there are much better options in Singapore.

I would give the food a 2 , service a 2 out of 5.

Pretty lame on the whole.

Disappointed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joshy666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jim Thompson on Dempsey Hill also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Jim Thompson on Dempsey Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing