We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hello Fine City”
Review of Tai Hoe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tai Hoe
Ranked #100 of 314 Hotels in Singapore
Davao City, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hello Fine City”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I was initially discouraged when we rode in the taxi after arriving past midnight in Singapore.Our cab driver told us that it's a no good hotel Bec it's not new,only newly painted.But when we went to our room ( rm 302 triple sharing ) I was very happy.Though you could see that the split type air con is yellow with age nevertheless it was functioning well,very cold temperature at 16 degrees and no noise.The bathroom had been renovated and fitted with glass door.It has a tv though I think it has no cable channels.I am not so sure of this as we did not watch tv.Every morning our towels are changed though the beddings remained unchanged thru the 4 days we were there.But nevertheless our beds are made up every morning.Coffee and cocoa sachets are given every morning.I like best that the hotel is a 5 min walk to City Square Mall which leads to the MRT ( Farrer Station) and the 24 hr shopping mall Mustafa.There are many hawkers market so eating is not a problem.Special mention goes to Mr.Tun at the reception-very helpful and accommodating.i love the hotel for its location and service.An added footnote though: don't go on Sundays.The streets are jam packed with people that taxis don't dare to go.

Room Tip: If you have any special requests just inform them
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllaR0787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff G, Guest Relations Manager at Tai Hoe, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Ella,

Thank you for a review of our hotel and for highlighting some of our strengths such as our prime location and one of our most enthusiastic staff in Mr. Tun. We would be delighted to host you again on your next visit to Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    234
    114
    30
    19
See reviews for
250
71
21
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The Positives of the Hotel :
1) Excellent Location - Especially close to Little India and Farrer Park MRT
2) Access to eating joints & shopping
3) Most hotels in Singapore are expensive among budget hotels this one is clean and comfortable. I checked a few others in the vicinity and the cleanliness standards of this hotel seemed better. The rooms in Singapore are small so even the neighboring Park Royal on the Kitchener road has small rooms at double the price.
4) Hot water is available outside the room and the staff is generous with providing enough drinking water bottles. The room also has hair dryer, tea/coffee making options and a mini fridge, a decent a/c and a TV
5) OK place to stay if you are on a tourist visit and will be out of hotel most of the day to return to the hotel only to sleep at night

The Negatives :
1) The staff is curt and not very helpful, most of the time they looked bogged down with work overload
2) There is an early check in charge, they quote different amount to different guests, my friend at Sg wrote to them to confirm my booking as a separate email and they mentioned S$50 to him and when I wrote to them from India they mentioned S$70. I pointed this out to them but they were bent on charging me S$70 and I obviously had no choice. They also quote a late check out rate of S$50 which was thankfully consistent.
3) I booked for the room on their site and they use Paypal. I realized that the conversion rate that paypal applies on Sg dollar to INR is forbiddingly high, making the room rent higher than published
4) There is a free wifi if the room is booked thru their site but the hotel staff did not inform proactively, I realized this only after reading the Tripadvisor reviews
5) One of the review mentions that the hotel changes the room on request, this is totally untrue, they never change the rooms once checked in, we requested them atleast 3 times but were told they are overbooked. This despite the fact that I had specially requested a non smoking room with window on a higher floor on the higher level where it is quiet.
6) The hotel does not have any kitchen of sorts but the fact that all eating joints with enough options for veg/non veg Indian and Chinese/Continental fare at stone's throw helps.
7) The internet at the reception is slow and expensive and the reception area is small and very functional.

Singapore is an expensive city, especially compared to Thailand / Malaysia, the money paid in a budget hotel will fetch a nice 4 star hotel. I would still recommend this hotel if the expectations are not sky high.

Room Tip: Higher floors with a window room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank subramanian j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff G, Guest Relations Manager at Tai Hoe, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Subbu

Thank you for your review and I would have liked to welcome you personally due to the many misunderstanding arising from the email exchanges but I was away on a business trip. It is true that the staff were bogged down with work during your stay with us. Two staff had to go back home on urgent leave and the remaining staff had to try to hold the fort as well as they could till the situation returned to normal or till I returned, whichever came first.

Both the early check in and late check out charge are consistent and I have spoken with the staff in question who made the mistake to remind him of our hotel standard policies. Human errors happen all the time and I hope you rest assured that we are not in the business of making extra profits by charging random rates for early check in or late check out.

Where possible, we change hotel rooms to accommodate our guests - there is no reason to deny our guest of an empty room if it could potentially help them enjoy their stay more. I noticed that you have travelled with your family and if you had been after another family room, it might have been difficult as those rooms sell out very fast.

Thank you once again for a very balanced and objective take on our hotel and we will work on the areas which could do with some improvement to provide a better experience for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I booked this hotel by online and paid fully in advance. Reading the review it's a good hotel yet budgetted.
Arrived there, even the taxi could not stop in proper way to drop us as it doesnt have spacious parking lot. So we have to be hurry carry out the big luggage and two infants!
Staffs are so-so not too friendly. Lobby and aisle are very small, rooms are too cold, no carpet, very tiny toilet, no window.
Sheet is dirty.

Then, we moved to another hotel rather than stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erieka19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff G, Guest Relations Manager at Tai Hoe, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Erieka

Thank you for your faith in booking online with us. We are disappointed that we have not been able to meet your standards. Unfortunately, parking space allotment is a factor that is beyond our jurisdiction even if we would prefer a drop off point for our guests. You had arrived at a period when the staff are overloaded with work due to the urgent leave taken by two of our staff and for that, I have spoken to the staff to maintain high levels of professionalism at all times. The rooms are obviously not to your liking as well but they are the rooms that are presented on our hotel page and I think that many guests find our rooms cosy even if they are a little basic.

Nonetheless, thank you for writing and all the best.


Staffs are so-so not too friendly. Lobby and aisle are very small, rooms are too cold, no carpet, very tiny toilet, no window.
Sheet is dirty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Suva
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Our check in was not smooth we were there after 20hrs flight the old gentleman there was very slow and clueless of what he is doing. We booked a double room but he refused my son who is 11yrs and little tall to stay with us so we opted a family room. (this is after our confirmation in advance) Room is Ok it is a budget hotel and no frills. We were at 4th floor.
Comparing the technology of Singapore they had old small TV.
wifi was available (you have to ask for it) it is free.Please be adviced internet work only for 24hrs there after you have to ask from the counter to issue new password. This place is very convenient to all sort of transport. Shopping complexes (mustafa and city centre) are just next door.
No food available in this hotel but who cares when plenty of food centers are available in this area.
Vegetarians please try Saravanabhavan hotel tast is good and economical. Please check the opening time they don't open on sunday morning
The lady who was on the check out desk was efficient and helpfull.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aadhes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff G, Guest Relations Manager at Tai Hoe, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Suva

Thank you for your review, which highlights the positives of our hotel. On a separate note, we will be stepping up on our efforts to help our night shift staff adapt to some of the new procedures relating to internet customers. We will be delighted to host you again should you come back to Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Clean, friendly place to stay, within our budget and very near a metro and good eating places. Would recommend for travelers who prefer comfort over style.

Friendly staff, clean room, value for money, best budget hotel. Didn't find any major annoyances.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Viji R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
410 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

well, I stayed at this hotel for 4 nite. A little bit crowded because is the center of Bugis, and this hotel was perfectly location for budged hotel.
City Square mall just front of the hotel, and you can get MRT from the ground, the back side is 24 hour Mustafa Center. Lot of kind food, kopitiam Chinese or Indian food.

For the hotel, I payed SGD130 for triple room and SGD110 for double/twin room. I've got room at 6th floor and no windows. The room was great, clean, with clean towel every day. The hot shower need more minutes, and soap was ready at the bath room. 20inch LCD. Hot water tank in every floor. Nice. And I could not ask for more.

Notes: for payment, preferably with cash because I could pay using paypal or credit card and the exchange rate they impose unreasonable.

Room Tip: ask for room with window, for payment, preferably with cash because I could pay using paypal or cred...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sugiphang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Comparing with exorbitant tariff hotels in Singapore, this one you can call it as Budget hotel. But to be honest, from world standard they are expensive, the culprit is Singapore's high house rental. Anyway, this may be some of the cheapest locations close to "Mustafa Center" (the most important shopping destination in Singapore). Some good South India, North Indian and Gujarati restaurants are also close by. Since so many different types of people come here for shopping and work in the Kitchener road that you can find all Asian food here within 5 minutes walk. Less than 5 minutes walking you can reach to metro station entrance. Rooms are pretty small, but it is clean and tidy. Bathrooms are also okay and clean. Mini fridge is useful and Air-conditioners work okay. But all the characters of cheap hotel are present here, like poor room service,take-and-return TV remote, non professional and average level staff, lack of cleanliness outside room and rest of the places in hotel, etc. etc. In spite of all that , at this budget this hotel can be your only choice in all comparable hotels nearby at this great sopping and food destination area in country called Singapore. For buying Local SIM for mobile, go and buy it from any grocery shop or 7 Eleven nearby. Getting forex is also easy here in nearby. If you are just coming for few days and going back to your country don't forget to keep your shopping bills to get TAX return on airport. Keeping every things in mind, I would say okay to this hotel.

Room Tip: Lower floor rooms will be little noisy as most of the rooms have road facing window. But when window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kumar-Suman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
Champion Hotel
Champion Hotel
#101 of 314 in Singapore
380 reviews
Little India
Hotel 81 Dickson
Hotel 81 Dickson
#159 of 314 in Singapore
1,185 reviews
Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
#166 of 314 in Singapore
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel
Venue Hotel
#129 of 314 in Singapore
466 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
#122 of 314 in Singapore
815 reviews
Little India
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
#150 of 314 in Singapore
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tai Hoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tai Hoe

Property: Tai Hoe
Address: 163 Kitchener Road, Singapore 208538, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
#84 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tai Hoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tai Hoe is a modern budget hotel that offers clean and cosy rooms at a central location. The 24 hour Mustafa shopping centre selling everything is just behind the hotel while the international City Square Mall is just in front. The MRT, bus stop, and taxis are easily accessible. Try the unbelievable varieties of food around the hotel. Air con, flat screen, and attached shower available in room. Everything on a budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Tai Hoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tai Hoe Hotel Singapore
Tai Hoe Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing