We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and affordable”
Review of Tai Hoe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tai Hoe
Ranked #99 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
jakarta
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location and affordable”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights. I booked triple room and it was very spacious for singapore hotels standard, especially for the price you pay. The room i stayed had just been renovated, so it was nice, clean and new, the only downside was the room had no window. So make sure you request a room with window if you want. The location also very great, you only have to cross the street to get to the mall and MRT. 7-11 on walking distance, food court just across the street. Very recommended hotel!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank summertime88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    229
    111
    28
    19
See reviews for
249
66
21
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Greater Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
191 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Singapore hotels are uysually very expensive to stay. But this Hotel with fair size room is clean and tidy. Very helpful staff. Rooms cleaned and linen/towels changed every day.

Ideally located in Little India with Mustafa shopping 24/7 and several 24/7 eateries in this neighbourhood. It is still in the red light area but no hassles at all.

The rooms facing Kitchener road can be noisy even at midnight with some goons riding noisy motobikes at high speed even after 2:00am as windows are not double glazed. Double rooms S$110 nett/Family rooms S$130 nett.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Verdun Rd are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank TravellerPorirua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Tai Hoe, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Dear Travellerporirua,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are always delighted when a guest take advantage of all the excellent food choices around our hotel rather than stick to the usual McDonald's. It was great to have been able to provide you with a wonderful stay. We take the hygiene and cleanliness of our rooms very seriously and our staff has been trained to assist with our guests' needs.

Regarding the noise level, our management is under the impression that noisy motorists in the middle of the night is more the exception rather than the norm. Your point has however been discussed in a staff meeting and double glazing the windows would be one of the items we will look at for the next scheduled renovation.

We hope to be able to host you in our hotel the next time you come to Singapore.

Regards,
Cliff Gay
Public Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

I stayed here twice for about 3 nights each time and once it was with my family. let me tell you it’s a good hotel in 2010 it was a bit messy because of ageing but now as it is recently renovated it is great, clean and big rooms bigger than many budget hotels in Singapore cost wise very effective only 110 SGD nett they provide package water and tea and coffee in room. Iron table and iron is available on request. What else a person needs in 110 SGD. I had a pretty pleasant stay and also enjoyed its location very near MRT and Mustafa shopping mall. There are plenty of Indian restaurants nearby. I would recommend everyone who would want to stay In a budgeted hotel please chose Tai hoe.
Great Price, location, experience..

Room Tip: higher floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chiragu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Tai Hoe, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Dear Chiragu

We are glad to have been able to have you with us after our renovation. Many guests have commented positively on the facelift and we are currently looking at more features we could introduce in our rooms to raise the comfort level of our guests. You may yet be surprised again on your next trip!

It is widely acknowledged that we have some of the best Indian cuisine in Singapore around our area. I am glad that the food and shopping added to your great experience of staying with us. We look forward to your next visit to Singapore.

Regards,
Cliff Gay
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

I was staying at Tai Hoe for 3 nights, unfortunately during their renovation time. They were renovating some floors above mine (I was on 2nd floor) on 9am-6pm.

The great thing about this hotel is the convenient location. It's within walking distance to Mustafa Centre, lots of food hawkers around, City Square Mall, and to Farrer Park MRT station.

They don't provide breakfast, but they provide instant coffee and teh tarik in every room. No toiletries, only towels and tissue every day. Room itself was not sparkling clean, but overall it was ok. No bed bugs or smelly odors.

You have to pay for wi-fi, and the connection sucks. My room was at the farthest corner and to get a connection I need to stand in front of my door. There are some computers you can use down in the lobby though.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lunathique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
191 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights as Singapore hotels are usually very expensive during any special events going on in the city and during weekends. Check in and check out were handled well. Reception staff are friendly and helpful although they seem busy all the time. My room was on 6th floor and the rooms have had a facelift. Windows are double glazed and hence, noise from road was minimal. Rooms have queen bed,mini bar, jug to make coffee/tea and linen were new and clean. Toilet/shower is small and water spills all over toilet seat, but manageable. Luggage can be stored in a secure room upto a week. There is no restaurant but is surrounded by clean hawkers' stalls and nice and spicy food served in A/C restaurants nearby. Very safe place to be as it is close to 24hrs Mustafa shopping centre. Great value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Kitchener Road are large and sunny. Noise from A/C very minimal
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravellerPorirua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
195 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

At the rate being offered and considering the location, I would rate this hotel the best deal for budget travellers.

Room sizes are pretty big overlooking city with a min fridge and a very small TV showing only 5-7 free to air channels. rooms do have a wardrobe

Bathrooms are pretty small.

No restaurant in house but there are plenty in the vicinity and a big mall just across the road. Mustafa Center is in the next block so the hotel will keep you busy 24 X 7

Well connected by bus and MRT

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rakesh37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2011

This hotel was just recommended to us by my friend since she lives nearby the hotel. Outside, it looks okay, being near the malls, train stations and other stores... but inside, it wasn't good at all!

The lobby was so small and lots of luggages (maybe from other hotel guests) were just lying near the elevator! There wasn't even any staff to greet you or open the door for you. Only the receptionist who is so preoccupied with a lot of things.

When we got to our room, beds were a bit hard. The room was not at all inviting! The bathroom was so dirty! Molds and fungi have been building up on the tiles! It was totally disgusting.

If you operate a hotel, at least maintain it so that people will come back . I understand that the price is cheaper than the normal hotels in Singapore, but at least, give the visitors something to appreciate!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank explore_galore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Tai Hoe, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Dear explore_galore

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

You might have noticed that we have a storage room just beside the reception where we keep our guests' luggage secure until they are ready to leave our hotel. The luggage which bothered you might have belonged to a fellow guest who was in the process of checking out from his room. I also find it hard to respond to or improve on a two star rating for our hotel's location given that it is already situated at the heart of a shopping district, surrounded by such lavish food choices and only a few walking minutes from the MRT.

For the budget, tourist class hotel that we profess to be, I hope that you can understand our lack of a concierge or bellhop to open the door for you. To my knowledge, no similarly priced hotel such as ours engage a bellhop though if you had walked across the street to Park Royal Hotel (rated 4 stars), you would have found the exact service which matched your standards. Instead of any pretension, what we hope to achieve is a warm and sincere experience provided by a family-run hotel with staff who greets many of our guests by their names.

We have not had people comment to us about molds and fungi in our bathrooms before and our chambermaids sanitise the bathrooms every week. In fact, our rooms have since been renovated and it has since been warmly received by many guests.

We are truly disappointed not to have been able to impress you more with our rooms and service on this occasion but we would be glad to strive to provide a much better experience should you decide to stay with us again. Thank you.

Regards,
Cliff Gay
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
Champion Hotel
Champion Hotel
#96 of 312 in Singapore
372 reviews
Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
#169 of 312 in Singapore
329 reviews
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel
Venue Hotel
#122 of 312 in Singapore
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little India
Hotel 81 Dickson
Hotel 81 Dickson
#156 of 312 in Singapore
1,170 reviews
Hotel YAN
#57 of 312 in Singapore
333 reviews
Little India
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
#154 of 312 in Singapore
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tai Hoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tai Hoe

Property: Tai Hoe
Address: 163 Kitchener Road, Singapore 208538, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
#84 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tai Hoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tai Hoe is a modern budget hotel that offers clean and cosy rooms at a central location. The 24 hour Mustafa shopping centre selling everything is just behind the hotel while the international City Square Mall is just in front. The MRT, bus stop, and taxis are easily accessible. Try the unbelievable varieties of food around the hotel. Air con, flat screen, and attached shower available in room. Everything on a budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Tai Hoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tai Hoe Hotel Singapore
Tai Hoe Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing