We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazingly colonial experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Singapore Polo Club Food And Beverage

Singapore Polo Club Food And Beverage
Ranked #3,356 of 10,421 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An amazingly colonial experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Went here for after work beers and ended up staying for dinner. After the hustle and bustle of Singapore downtown, it was a great change to be out here, under the shade and cooling fan, sipping an after work beer and watching a lady practice her polo on a huige, perfectly green field.

The place has a Raffles-like feel to it, nice and colonial. I ordered a chicken curry which came with poppodums and was excellent.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    15
    7
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Most beautiful polo club in the world”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

A journey to a bye gone era. The best pizza in Singapore overlooking the polo field with gentle fans turning above. A must to see in Singapore.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JamesSterlingTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
2 reviews
“Will be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

We dined there with a group of 7 people and none of us were overly impressed with the taste of meals. The service was the best I have seen anywhere and the location is fantastic but meals were quite small and expensive. I had a sea-food salad, really small. Maybe we just caught them on a bad night - not sure.
We were in Singapore for 3 nights and ate there twice. There was a great atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mikhail b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous view, terrible food and service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2011

I love the Polo Club it offers a family friendly experience in a lovely setting, it is so nice to sit and watch the horses. The green open spaces and the lovely old colonial style setting is wonderful. Unfortunately the food and beverage service is absolutely dreadful. The management of the club decided to outsource the catering at the beginning of the year and it is just a shambles. They have a restaurant manager who is too busy walking around trying to look good rather than pitching in when the kitchen and wait staff are just floundering. The coffee is no way near hot enough or strong enough(that is when it is available - twice since the new company has started I have been told coffee is not available because the machine is not working). Order fish and chips and the fish is straight from a packet (what happened to bringing in fish and battering your own). The curry is simply reheated in the microwave and often looks like it is a few days old with dried bits on the top, a real shame because previously it was fantastic and would always sell out. The beer is often hot, they run out of wines that are on their wine list, the margarita machine has not been working on a few occasions that I have asked for one. Running out of muesli - I could go on and on. Don't get me started on the service - there simply isn't any. Waiting 40 minutes before being asked what we would like to drink and it was not even busy, I counted 12 other people. Go and sit around the pool and the service is non existent. The club has good intentions but it is just not working. I would be too embarrassed to take people there for dinner. They really need to get their act together. We used to eat there a minimum of three times a week (twice for dinner and once for breakfast), I now absolutely refuse to even have a drink there. Until they get things organised, don't waste your money.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HorseloverSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Seats facing the greeneries which is good for eyesight. Free parking, limited seats. Old English Style outdoors...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2009

Seats facing the greeneries which is good for eyesight. Free parking, limited seats. Old English Style outdoors setting. Food ok.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Singapore Polo Club Food And Beverage also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Singapore Polo Club Food And Beverage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing